We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive & Nice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Grand Rapids

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inexpensive & Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Definitely would stay at this hotel again. Awesome value for room and accommodations! Clean and friendly service!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJN8, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Margaret W

Thank you for your kind words regarding our Super 8, we certainly are partial to it as well! I will share your review with the entire staff. We always strive for customer service and comfort and I am glad to hear it shows! Next time you stay with us let us know if we are holding up to your standards. Thanks again and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    99
    33
    14
    6
See reviews for
128
67
23
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baxter, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

My room was very noisy and I could hear everything happening around me. Doors slamming, people talking, and kids running around to name a few of the noises. To top it off the room above me had a bad creaking noise anytime someone moved in that room. The service was ok but I am glad I am not staying there any longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJN8, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Tony E.

Thank you for taking time to review our Super 8. I wish it was over a more positive experience and do apologize for the problems with your stay. Thank you for commented positively on our customer service even though your stay was not up to par, we do take great pride in guest interaction and professional detailed service. Often we can eliminate some of the noise issues if you notify the front desk of fellow guests that are causing the interruptions. If you do decide to give us another chance please let us know if the stay quality has improved. Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

had a good time ate breakfast it was good, slept well room was warm to my liken. showered was hot like I like it.,,,,,,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJN8, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Chris B

Thank you for reviewing our Super 8 in Grand Rapids, it was a pleasure hosting you and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

It was an overnight stay for my husband, my dog, and me. It was a typical Super 8 in looks, but VERY clean. The desk clerk was not only friendly to us, but very excited to meet our dog and even offered to keep an eye on her while we went across to dinner at the restaurant they have a discount deal with. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJN8, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear KathLK

Thank you very much for reviewing our Super 8 in Grand Rapids, MN. It was certainly a pleasure to host you and your fellow travelers. Our housekeeping staff will be glad to read your comments on the cleanliness of the property, they take great pride in what they do! I am also glad you found a pleasurable dining experience with the 17th Street Grill, we are lucky to have a deal with such a fine dining establishment just feet away from our building. See you next time! Thank you again and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel was comfortable and friendly. The cookies were made, the room was exactly what we requested and clean. They could use better toilet paper, though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJN8, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Marilyn S

Thank you for complimenting us on our amenities and another big thanks for the one on our friendly staff. Customer service is always at the forefront of our priorities and I am glad to hear we are doing well on that. Thank you as well for commenting on our toilet paper available to guests. We will definitely research options and see what we can find. Thanks again and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our problems with this hotel started at check in and didn't end until I left! My wife and I were on our way to Duluth but found ourselves in the middle of a massive snow storm, so we decided to make reservations with the Super 8. We received poor directions to the hotel from one of their representatives who seemed annoyed at us asking, and didn't end up arriving until 7 pm. When we got there, the girl told us she was going to upgrade our room because they were overbooked. We were then directed into a room that smelled like sour milk and wet cardboard. We asked to be moved but we were instead offered incense and a small candle. That night, we were awaken to what we later found out was a pizza delivery guy knocking on the wrong room at the wrong hotel! The only positive thing to happen was when the morning attendant apologized for our troubles and refunded us our money. He also told us that although we were told we received the senior citizens discount, we were actually overcharged. We will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor because the ceilings don't hold noise well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJN8, Manager at Super 8 Grand Rapids, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Chuck S

Thank you for taking time to bring your stay and experience to our attention. We are currently near the end of all of our updating of the property including transitioning the last two smoking rooms to non as of 1/1/14, we have many practices in place freshening things up. Thank you for letting us know we still have a couple strides to make as it will only help us continually improve. You have my word that several customer service issues will be addressed also. We apologize you had a less than desirable stay, and in the future would ask you to consider staying with us again and let us know how we are doing. Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#4 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#8 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
White Oak Inn & Suites
White Oak Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Deer River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Grand Rapids

Property: Super 8 Grand Rapids
Address: 1702 South Pokegama Avenue, Junction Highway 169 South & Airport Road, Grand Rapids, MN 55744 0335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Grand Rapids 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest up at Super 8 Grand Rapids hotel, located at the intersection of U.S. Highway 169 South and Airport Road. Our Grand Rapids, MN, hotel sits just minutes from family-friendly pastimes like Children’s Discovery Museum and Hill Annex Mine State Park. Enjoy close proximity to some of the finest ski resorts and hiking trails in the region.Our pet-friendly hotel in Grand Rapids, MN, offers convenient amenities to help you save time. Our rooms come with free Wi-Fi, microwave, refrigerator, large-vehicle parking with outside outlets and access to guest laundry facilities. Enjoy a sound sleep, then fuel up with free SuperStart continental breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Super Eight Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Super Eight
Grand Rapids Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing