We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Hit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Woods, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another Hit!”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

After scoring a home run with our very first stay (in Buffalo, MN) at a Country Inn & Suites, we were anxious to try another one. Well, you guessed it: this one was first rate also! Neat and clean as a pin - front desk staff so friendly and helpful - superior breakfast on REAL dinnerware - luxuriously-comforttable bed - LOTS of sparkling white towels ... I could go on and on but you get the idea. This is one place you don't have to worry about because they deliver! Stay here and enjoy it all - and the lovely surrounding Grand Rapids area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    94
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
141
74
13
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We received a very warm welcome upon arrival and were given a nice room on the upper floor. The room wasn't huge, but was fine for a comfortable night after being out fishing, biking, or boating all day. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the hotel in general. The bed was comfortable. I really dislike the wimpy feather pillows usually found in hotels, so I was very happy to see a firmer polyester pillow offered in the room, saving me a call to the front desk to request one. And I was also appreciative of how quiet the hotel and room was, especially for a busy weekend night. Breakfast is included and consists of typical mid-range hotel fare: cereals, breads, waffles, etc. A few hot items are also offered such as breakfast potatoes, sausage gravy, and scrambled eggs (however they ran out of eggs which disappointed several guests who had been waiting for eggs). Overall the Country Inn makes for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNLatitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

What a great surprise. The suite was large and very comfortable. Had eggs for breakfast. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpinba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
222 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

As a pilot I stay in a lot of hotels and I must say this is one for my top ten list. Most definitely the top in Grand Rapids MN. I stayed here on a personal motorcycle trip and I felt I must share my experience.Great staff from Autumn & John on the front desk, the Ladies taking care while setting out breakfast and housekeeping. The motel is well kept and the rooms are neat clean and everything works. Great beds and pillows. I can’t say enough good things about this Country Inns & Suites all for $73.00 I’ll be back. Oh and do not miss the Prime Rib at the Sawmill next door.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
210 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Usually stay here twice a year as I travel back home. Always a decent price and a clean room with good staff. Pool is decent. Awesome shower heads. Good selection of channels and HBO. Breakfast is good if you are into hotel freebies. Last time I stayed no fee for a cat. Our cat loves to look out the window on the backside. May want to book in advance during tourist season. Comfy beds.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arlopear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We travel through this town a few times a year and always stay here. It's nothing fancy, but it is always clean, every room has a fridge and microwave, the staff is very friendly, and they don't charge for pets. It's great!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed one Saturday night. The room was a little small and the decor a little dated. However, it was quiet, clean and comfortable and that's what counts. The beds we had were probably the most comfortable beds we've ever had at a hotel. The A/C unit in our room worked very well and was quiet (unlike the constantly on-again, off-again noisy units you get in most hotel rooms). Service was good and staff was friendly. Recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room at the far end of the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiramUlysses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#4 of 11 in Grand Rapids
211 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
20 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sugar Lake Lodge
Sugar Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cohasset
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
319 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#7 of 11 in Grand Rapids
47 reviews
15.5 mi away
White Oak Inn & Suites
White Oak Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Deer River
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids

Property: Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
Address: 2601 S Highway 169, Grand Rapids, MN 55744-9538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grand Rapids
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing