We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Good Food”

Forest Lake Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Consistent Good Food”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

While the menu rarely changes, there are usually great specials. The food here is consistently good, the staff great. Wine list not great. Lots of choices of food for every palate. You never feel rushed, love the downstairs steakhouse for a nice calm meal. Otherwise we eat in the upstairs bar area often for a casual meal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yeschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    51
    19
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Paul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dining!!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We eat at Forest Lake Steakhouse whenever we are near Grand Rapids!!!! Good food, good atmosphere!! We enjoy sitting my a window facing the lake, trees. This time we even watched a squirrel.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank malibu03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sea Ranch, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Eat downstairs for the steak house and a little more formal dining. We had mussels which were fantastic. For the main course we had petite filets...fantastic, melted in your mouth. Upstairs is more bar like and very noisy. Great meal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cmorgank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The best place in northern Minnesota”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Love this place. Been going to this place for 30 years since I was born. Has three restaurants in one. Great north woods feeling kind of place. Great food and service. Just a one of a kind place. It is worth your time and money to have a meal at this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DellsLOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Housed in a really nice log building with wood finish inside, the staff is very friendly, the prices are good and the food is very good - nothing to dislike. Very good value for the money.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BarryP_Winnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forest Lake Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Forest Lake Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing