We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I highly recommend the Forest Lake for dining in Grand Rapids.”

Forest Lake Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“I highly recommend the Forest Lake for dining in Grand Rapids.”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I eat at the Forest Lake Restaurant and Steak House regularly. They serve consistently good food and have a varied and nice menu selection. I always like their BBQ'd Ribs but on our last visit there they served me the tastiest and most tender Prime Rib I have ever eaten.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IceManBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    52
    19
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lunch with family..”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Every year the opening of deer hunting my aunt, sister, daughters and friends get together to do the craft sales in Grand Rapids we always eat at the Forest Lake Steak house. It is good food and great prices...the decor is alittle tired but view of the lake is great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lezleykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place to eat.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Good food. Upstairs dining is about 1/2 the price of eating downstairs. Good service. One of the better places to eat in GR.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank west_traveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer River, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Grand Rapids”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This place has it all. Fine dining in the downstairs dining room. The steaks are great. The upstairs cafe with windows overlooking Forest Lake. Always have a bowl of the wild rice soup. The lounge with its' fireplace is a great place for a toddy on a cold winters night. We have enjoyed dining here for many years.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflintown
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love This Place!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have stopped here many times when passing through Grand Rapids. We especially enjoy the walleye and wild rice soup. But I have never had any bad food at this restaurant. The upstairs is causal dining and a bar. Downstairs is the steakhouse. Restaurant is located near a lake. Reservations are recommended during the summer, but they strive to assist walk-ins like us too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mngal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forest Lake Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Forest Lake Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing