We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

17th Street Grill at Timberlake Lodge
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dining at the 17th Street Grill at the Timberlake Lodge™ is a true feast for the senses. Our Chefs prepare gourmet cuisine with style and skill unique in the Grand Rapids area. The 17th Street Grill offers the “best deal in town” for a quality lunch at a reasonable price. Stop in and enjoy a tasty and affordable lunch from our Lunch Menu. For a memorable dining experience try the 17th Street Grill’s extensive dinner menu. We offer steaks grilled to perfection, fantastic seafood selections, and much more. The 17th Street Grill offers an extensive drink menu that includes; a generous wine list, domestic and imported beers as well as all of your favorite spirits. Don’t forget to try our signature cocktail, the Timbertini.Open Monday through Saturday for lunch and dinner. Closed Sundays. Sit back, relax and allow our staff to not only meet, but exceed your expectations of quality dining in Grand Rapids.
Grand Rapids, MN
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We have eaten at this location several times ( and very satisfied), but Feb 14 was really a disappointment concerning the food for 3 out of 6 of us. Two orders were barely warm and the third wasn't even what had been ordered. Staff said the incorrect item would be taken off the bill but the waiter said sorry, not my problem. The waiter was the real problem! Arrogant, not courteous and unwilling to correct his mistakes, from entries to billing receipts with orders mixed up. All six of us walked out of their questioning whether 17th Street Grill could handle a busy night. Sorry Timberlake, all I can say is, "The wine was really good!"

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timberlake_Lodge_144, Public Relations Manager at 17th Street Grill at Timberlake Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Hello Sasha: I am very sorry for your disappointing experience on Valentine’s Day. We were very busy that night and while that is certainly no excuse, it is a clear indicator of the need for better preparation and training. It is very important for us to provide an enjoyable experience to everyone that comes in the restaurant, especially on the special event nights such as Valentine’s Day. Please know that we do ongoing customer service training and will most definitely be bringing your review to the attention of our servers. Thank you for your review, it is very important to receive constructive feedback from our guests. We hope you will give us another chance. Glad you liked the wine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    45
    14
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The food was excellent and we had a great waiter. The only reason I did not give it a five star was they did not have our reservation then were told it would be a few minutes. So we sat at the bar for 50 minutes finally my husband talked to the hostess. She had forgotten about us, she then found us a table, apologized and took the bottle of wine off our bill. Which was appreciated. Definitely will come back to this restaurant. The atmosphere would be better if they turned down the lights more. We did come on valentine day the restaurant was very busy.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Burkba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timberlake_Lodge_144, Public Relations Manager at 17th Street Grill at Timberlake Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Hello Burkba: Thank you for your honest review of your Valentine's dinner experience. We are happy you returned and gave us the opportunity to provide even better service. Also, thank you for the feedback about the lights. We will certainly look into this. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The service was excellent, the food was excellent (steak & chicken) and the setting was gorgeous

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bevjmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
277 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

While staying at the Timberlake Lodge, you must eat at the 17th Street Grill. Excellent food, and nightly specials.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bill925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Generous portions”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Loved the warm atmosphere and generous portions. The ribs could be eaten with a fork, as they fell off the bone, bones clean. Never seen anything like it. Wet naps not required without missing a crumb.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 17th Street Grill at Timberlake Lodge also viewed

 
Grand Rapids, MN
Grand Rapids, MN
 

Been to 17th Street Grill at Timberlake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing