We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTED, NO RESTAURANT OPEN SUNDAYS, RECEPTION STAFF ALOOF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Timberlake Lodge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Montrose
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED, NO RESTAURANT OPEN SUNDAYS, RECEPTION STAFF ALOOF”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Main reason we booked this hotel was good restaurant reviews. On checking in told it is closed on Sundays, you have to asky "Why?" when they take bookings for that day and nothing on their website tells you of this problem. Reception staff made no apology, as if we should have known and during the whole stay of June 5th, receptionist was totally aloof, not even smiling or saying good evening. We felt as if we were an inconvenience for her, much more training needed there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JstarkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timberlake_Lodge_144, Manager at Timberlake Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear JstarkScotland,

We are very sorry to hear that your experiece at Timberlake Lodge was not nearly as good as it should have been. We agree with you that the information regarding the 17th Street Grill being closed on Sundays was not very clearly indicated on our website. We have updated this now so the Restaurant webpage explicitly says we are "Closed on Sundays." We sincerely hope that you are able to return Monday through Saturday to join us at our restaurant. The food is really very good and unique for the area.

When it comes to our front desk staff, we pride ourselves on great customer service. We understand that they are your first impression of the hotel. Our Guest Services Manager spoke with the individual at the desk the evening of your stay, and she was very apologetic for not providing the level of customer service that you deserve. We will certainly continue to emphasize in our training the importance of the first impression and continued impression throughout a guest's stay.

Thank you for your feedback, it helps us to grow as an organization. We hope you choose to return and we guarantee your experience will be much better when you do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    38
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
73
46
4
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

The breakfast every morning was excellent. Many choices of foods...hot and cold. Many choices of beverages. Eggs, waffles, fruit, you name it...even hashbrowns and sausage, & biscuits and gravy. All very tasty.
Most rooms don't have bathtubs, but they have enormous, and I do mean enormous showers! I think if you request a bathtub they have them in a limited amount of rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Teejaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2011

This is Always Our First overnight stop when on route to Toronto from Regina,SK . .... And our last stop over when returning back home.
Why??
Because the great staff, clean comfortable rooms, nice lounge & great pool
make this one of the BEST hotel experiences we have had the pleasure of enjoying!!!
We travel all over Canada / United States and the Timberlake stands out in a very positive way!!
Always look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern MN
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Great place to stay and would be fun for kids with pool, waterslide, and spacious hot tub. Rooms were clean and new. Room includes a full buffet breakfast and drink coupons for the nice bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MedMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We visited Grand Rapids MN for a basketball tournament. The team stayed at Timberlake so it was booked. After bad weather came through, we decided to stay another night in town as a family. We all moved to Timberlake (with some other families) for one night in a king suite. The room was very clean, very large, huge bathroom with an amazing shower, 2 large screen tvs and a comfy bed. Not only that ~ we went to dinner craving a steak after so much junk food. We moved to the bar to be with some friends and they were happy to accommodate. The dinner was delicious and they put together dinner to go for our son in the room. Throughout our stay the staff was more than happy to help which was not expected with the rush for rooms during bad weather. We couldn't have been more happier with our stay at Timberlake Lodge!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basketballwidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

My sister recently was married in Grand Rapids and the place that we were supposed to have the ceremony and reception started causing troubles for them and we needed to change the place a month before the wedding. It was a nightmare.

Timberlake was more than willing to work with us and so amazing down to every last detail. The wedding turned out perfect, thanks to Timberlake, and every single person from the wedding party to all of the family members and friends were more than happy with their stay. One of the owners (Burl) made sure to introduce himself to all of us and encouraged us to speak up and let them know our needs. AMAZING!

When walking down the halls all of the staff, from the front desk to the housekeeping staff, would say hello and smile. I have never experienced that before and was delighfully surprised. I travel for work and have never been so pleased with a hotel.

The pool area was a hit with not only the kids but the parents and young adults as well.

The food from the 17th St Grill was amazing and not what you would expect from a small northern town in MN.

I recommend this hotel to all of the families, work travelers, and everyone inbetween.

You won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funfunfun18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duluth
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2010

From the moment we stepped into the lodge,we were made to feel welcome and right at home. The staff was awesome, rooms were beautiful and the food was delicious. Can't wait to come back! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogduluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.4 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#4 of 11 in Grand Rapids
215 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sugar Lake Lodge
Sugar Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cohasset
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#7 of 11 in Grand Rapids
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberlake Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberlake Lodge Hotel

Property: Timberlake Lodge Hotel
Address: 144 SE 17th St, Grand Rapids, MN 55744-4278
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Northern Minnesota, Timberlake Lodge™ is Grand Rapids’ premier full service hotel. A three-story craftsman style building with 84 unique and beautifully furnished guest rooms caters to the business traveler, couple on a getaway and vacationing family. Business amenities include wireless internet, a full service business center, fitness center, lending library, and boardroom for special meetings. Family amenities include a convenience store, family adjoining room suites, full kitchens and mini kitchens with refrigerator and microwaves, coffee pot, as well as large flat screen TVs. For the young and young at heart Timberlake Lodge™ is home to Grand Splash® water park that includes an over sized hot tub, lap pool, kiddie pool with frog slide and a 98ft tube slide! All Timberlake guests are treated to a full, hot breakfast buffet each morning. Handicap accessible rooms are available. All under one roof the lodge is host to the 17th Street Grill that features daily lunch specials, regular weeknight specials, and the best of fine dining in the Grand Rapids area. Weddings, birthday parties, social gatherings, Timberlake has the right space for you throughout the lodge and in our Grand Event Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Timberlake Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberlake Hotel Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing