We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splitsville shocker”

Mort's Delicatessen
Ranked #27 of 35 Restaurants in Golden Valley
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
mpls,mn
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Splitsville shocker”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Who would not want a big robust sandwich on a cold day? It was what I wanted and headed to Mort's. We were seated immediately on a busy Friday. A plate of reasonably good pickle halves arrived at the table. Our orders came very quickly and looked great.
The sandwich I ordered was as big and tasty as I would have thought. The soup was wonderful.
The sandwich was so big that I gave my dining partner a taste of it. Again, raves around the table. Lots of meat, firm bread, excellently assembled.
But once the bill arrived, a $3 charge for sharing was added to our total. Now when I, as a customer, specifically ask to split an order, I feel the kitchen has to go through extra work. But if my partner wants a taste of a large sandwich that I have to cut and deliver without asking for another plate, that is not an extra expense.
So go for the sandwiches, stay away from the billing bump that comes with sharing a taste of food with the people you dine with.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rickophoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    29
    17
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

They have a pretty big menu for lunch so they should have something for everyone...open faced turkey and gravy, deli sandwiches, soup, etc. I had egg salad which I always do if possible and it was great and huge. Most thigns are served with chips (homemade I think).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good "New York Style" Deli”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Was somewhat cautious coming here, but lunch turned out to be quite good. The Matzoh Ball soup (floater style) was very good, followed by a delicious Pastrami on rye, new pickles on the side. They even had the full range of Dr. Brown's beverages.
While not quite up to NY's best, I would return here in a heartbeat. Who knew the twin cities had two delis dueling for best of, Mort's and Cecil's.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Usedtobegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pricing is ridiculous”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband had an appointment near Mort's, so we thought we would try the food. I was blown away by the prices - and there is a no sharing policy, unless you want to pay almost $3 more!!! One half of a plain roast beef sandwich - with NOTHING but too hard potato chips and a pickle, was $8.99. No cheese, mayo, nothing. Now I had a half Rueben, and it was very good, and generous, but again the price was way too much. We did each have a cup of the cabbage borscht, ($4 for a cup, and $8 for a bowl), and it was very good. The waiter walked by many times, and not once asked how it was. There are a lot of places to choose from in this area, and for his next appointment I can guarantee we won't be at Mort's.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNMom95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
116 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service, Delicious Pickles!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Brought a client here yesterday, Sept 20th. This place felt great as soon as we walked in the door! I got a Pastrami Sandwich filled with super succulent meat! The pickle that came with the sandwich was the best garlic dill I've had in years. The server was friendly and attentive and was back often with refills and smiles. This is probably one of the better deli places I've been to. We were treated like family from the moment we walked in the door and the food was yummy. We must've come on the best day and next time I'm in Golden Valley I will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thevinoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mort's Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Mort's Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing