We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kinda' different, but good overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn Glenwood
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glenwood
Arbor Vitae
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kinda' different, but good overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

OK.

So if you have to stay at a hotel in Glenwood, MN, this is by *far* the better of the two currently available options. The hotel doesn't operate like your standard hotel as it caters mainly to railroad workers that come and go at all times of the day. The hotel and diner are a 24/7 operation. They even clean rooms 'round the clock. The place appears to be very new at the time of this review and everything in the room is clean, modern, and functional. The hotel is quiet and secure.

The check-in process is weird and they don't have the normal hotel reservation software, they have a lot of notes, and an excel spreadsheet. Their internet, while blazing fast (60 mbit down), would lock up at least once per day. The manager, apparently, was the only person who was allowed to reset the connection (or had the proper key to get to where the devices were). They don't have a lobby, or any common areas -- just the diner. There is a decently sized lounge in the hotel, but it is for railroad personnel only.

I travel with my dog most of the time. Their pet policy is also strange. Dogs are not normally welcomed for what they deem to be long-term stays (more than a few days). I called into the hotel to see if we could work something out on the policy and did not receive a call back. I had to call in a second time and demand to speak with the manager to get a decision. That being said, once I was able to speak with her things went fairly smoothly from there.

You get free breakfast, or an equivalent price break on other meals included in the cost of your room (at least at the time of writing this). The staff members at the diner were very nice. Service was quick and the food was pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RFDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
3
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week Sept 10-17th, 2013. It is a new hotel and very clean and comfortable. We had to check in at the Diner. The room was modern with black out drapes which I liked a lot.
There was little noise from the other suites on our floor, which made our stay good. The heating/air conditioner system worked just fine and we could control this.
We had breakfast every morning in Penny's Diner and it was good. A selection of eggs, bacon, pancakes etc. Good coffee and food was okay. I enjoyed my stay here, a very modern, and safe place to stay in, New TV, and it even had a small fridge and microwave. Bathroom was good. The sink is not in the bathroom and this took a little getting used to, but it was the only strange thing about this room. Overall a very good experience and stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bberl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We just stayed at the Oak Tree Inn last night (August 30, 2013). We were very impressed. Loved the curtains that clip together with magnets so it is completely dark. Super quiet. Loved the fact that they have a little ledge to keep the curtain from going over the air conditioner and blowing around. Temperature and air conditioning is awesome. We were in a room with 2 beds and handicapped. It might be a small thing but we were impressed that the luggage rack and hangers were at the end of the room instead of most places when it is right at the door and you run into it. The free breakfast was great. The service in every area of our stay was exceptional. Best place in the Glenwood and Starbuck Minnesota area to stay in by far. My husband is originally from the area and we travel up to the area often and have stayed in a variety of places. This is now our # 1 choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsupershopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel could be in any city large or small and it would still be excellent. Very modern, clean and safe. All the things you wish other hotels could figure out have been taken care of here. A little odd checking into a hotel room in a diner (attached) but from then on it was excellent. Very quiet, room darkening drapes, clean and spacious. All the staff were very friendly and kind. The cook on Sunday morning, Dean, was beyond excellent. All the staff showed the best team work I have seen anywhere. Excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JannKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabasha, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I first stayed in this place in April of 2013. Stayed many times since and can honestly say this is the only place in Glenwood worth staying at.

The rooms are nice, new , quiet and most important .....CLEAN!

The staff is friendly, accomodating and treats guests as just that. I feel welcome at the oak tree inn. The manager gal there has even cleaned rooms to ensure we were not turned away. The maintenance man (Tom) keeps the place running like a watch. Everyone who works there seems to care about the place's success and goes the extraile to make our stay enjoyable.

The associated diner next door is a bit pricey and the menu is limited for some of us who eat there several times a week, like myself. Overall it is still a great option for what it is. The place is very clean, open 24 hrs & the staff is again, very accomodating. The food isn't bad, definately a place I keep going back to.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mn_mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_OTI, General Manager at Oak Tree Inn Glenwood, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us while you are in the Glenwood area! We appreciate your business. Our goal is to provide a positive experience for every stay for every guest. We will continue to try hard to achieve this. We appreciate the time you took to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oak Tree Inn Glenwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn Glenwood

Property: Oak Tree Inn Glenwood
Address: 100 15th St SE, (intersection of Hwy 28 & Hwy 55), Glenwood, MN 56334-9156
Location: United States > Minnesota > Glenwood
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glenwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oak Tree Inn Glenwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After taking advantage of area activities and attractions like Lake Minnewaska or year round recreational activities, including biking, camping, hunting, fishing, XC skiing & ice fishing, enjoy a restful night at the Oak Tree Inn. Our hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Highway 55 and Highway 28. You will find the Oak Tree Inn just behind the Minnewaska Wellness & Fitness Center. The extra-dark, extra-quiet guest rooms feature comfortable beds and lounge chairs, 32-inch LCD TVs, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee, and free wireless internet. Stay with us; we will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oak Tree Inn Glenwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing