We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surf and Turf!”
Review of The Y Club

The Y Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Garrison
Cuisines: American
Description: This is a new restaurant with new owners but it has been around for years under the same name.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a new restaurant with new owners but it has been around for years under the same name.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surf and Turf!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great patio with awesome view of the lake! We have been there a number of times and have tried different things. Lobster bisque, steak and lobster. Everything is wonderful including the service. Ask for Vivian!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike19744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Surprise - fine dining in a roadside diner”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Wonderful food. Stopped by here on way to cabin and had fantastic dinner. Although it looked like your average roadside joint it was way more than bar food and beer. I had the best lobster bisque ever and they make garlic cheese toast smothered in gorgonzola cheese. It was the bomb. The steaks looked awesome too but I was full from the soup and toast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good food with a great view”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Fish tacos, taco salad, homemade chips, cheesy bread are all highly recommended! Nightly specials sound great (haven't tried any yet) and are way above typical bar food but some can run a little spendy.
Waitresses are efficient and friendly.
We've eaten here a number of times this summer and the only disappointment has been the hamburger.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JKfamilywanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great margaritas and food”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I went here with my boss and co-worker for an early dinner on a Saturday night, My boss had the walleye and said it was very good. My co-worker ate the Prime Rib and enjoyed it as well. I ordered the Blue Burger but felt the blue cheese was over powering. We all enjoyed a top shelf margarita and wished we had saved room for dessert. Even on the bar side where we were eating they came around with their dessert tray with about 5 options. I may need to return just for dessert!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A must stop”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stopped in to the Y on a Thursday for dinner. We were told by friends the food was fabulous so we decided to try it as well. The food is FABULOUS.... We had one of the specials---chicken with a mushroom/wine sauce---really really good---we also tried the bread with the cheese dip---it was melt in your mouth. To make it even better, the bartender Nancy is one of the best bartenders I have ever met. She is friendly and informative. The Chef stepped out to the bar and talked with the patrons and when we left the servers ( who were not ours) said goodbye and thanked us for coming in. A++ in food and A+++Staff...It is now one of our must stops

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jodyanduane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Y Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing