We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic diner”
Review of Charlie's Cafe

Charlie's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: charliescafe.com/ Best breakfast ever
Restaurant details
Description: charliescafe.com/ Best breakfast ever
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Classic diner”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stopped at Charlie's for breakfast for hubby and lunch for me. The pancakes (and bacon) were excellent per the hubster - plate size to boot. I had a great tasting hamburger. Fries were just so-so, but they were hot. Service was quick and friendly. Will definitely be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Affordable food and awesome service. The Tuesday Night Special can't be beat. Also, almost any lunchtime you can grab a Hot Beef Commercial... fast and good!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Breakfast nirvana... thy name is Charlie's”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The finest plate of biscuits 'n gravy I've ever had at a diner. Dense yet fluffy with an over abundance of chunky rich gravy.

The caramel roll was so wonderfully yummy as well. It was the best decision I made in the last month deciding to pull off I-94 and try this diner out. We live about 90 minutes from Freeport, Mn and will gladly and with great intention make the drive again... and again... and again.

Cannot wait to go out on a Friday night for the German specialties.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iceeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service was the best!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stopped here for lunch on the way to St Cloud for a fun weekend. We arrived in the middle of the afternoon, so we pretty much had the place to ourselves. The food was great, small town diner-style. The staff was fantastic and treated us very well, took care of everything we needed. I would choose this place over any chain family restaurant any time. It's simple and is a nice gem in a small town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markjfargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade.mn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The best small town cafe in North America. I'm not kidding. A wide and varied menu from Germany to China to Mexico. The service is with an honest smile . Quick and efficient. Small town prices a plus. 70 miles or so Northwest of Minneapolis on I94, it is possibly worth the trip alone to sample their idea of what a restuarant is all about. I have dined there on several occasions for lunch. One of these Weds I will try their German dinner specials.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike32406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charlie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing