We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE”
Review of Norman Quacks

Norman Quacks
Ranked #7 of 49 Restaurants in Forest Lake
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a group of four adults on Saturday evening, about 5:30pm ,who ordered a 'buffalo sandwich' and the 'garlic trout' (fish special). The sandwich was very good, the chicken moist, and the portion was large - not too spicey. The 'garlic trout' was also prepared properly - not overcooked. The portion size was somewhat small for a large eater. The garlic/smashed potatoes that came with the trout were just OK. Last. We all indulged in the "Tower Choc. Cake" that was also average - but enough for four spoons and plates. Service was excellent. Beer selections are above average - wine is not Quack's forte. The restaurant is somewhat noisy - I would rate it low as a romantic venue. I would not rate it as a gourmet experience either. However, as a restaurant similar to TGIF or Appleby's, it achieves its purpose - good comfort food. HAPPY HOUR 4-6. Sunday nite is $11 prime rib special.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BruSe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    37
    19
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest Lake
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Pork Chops”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I think the best item on their menu is the pork chops. They are huge and prepared with care. The beer selection is great featuring a fairly large variety of beers from smaller breweries.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DougHMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center City, Minnesota
1 review
“Great place to stop for a bite and a beer in FL”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I always enjoy getting sent to town to run errands because it gives me a chance to stop by Quack's and see what they've got on top and grab an appetizer or a sandwich.

They are constantly changing their beer selection and have great specials going on all of the time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 227davem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Burgers”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We visited here on a Saturday night and enjoyed dinner in the bar. We all had a beer or wine and enjoyed our burgers - prepared as we like them. I enjoyed the relaxed feel of the bar and comfortable atmosphere. About what I'd expect to pay for a 1/2 pound (BIG!) burger and Yes I did eat the whole thing!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The food is a little pricey, but it's great! Staff is always prompt and we have never had a problem! My wife and I have been there with our kids and by ourselves and it's always great!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank putterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norman Quacks also viewed

 

Been to Norman Quacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing