We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Forest Lake
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Forest Lake
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Front desk staff was friendly, and served a hot breakfast in the morning. This hotel is about 30 mins N of the twin cities. Closest hotel to Running Aces harness track and casino. Discounted rates are available for casino players, which makes this hotel the place to stay if you are visiting the casino!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 177 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

A chain operation but this one is way above average. Very clean and more face cloths than a 5 star. Had a one BR suite with 2 flat tv's. First time but will book again. Great breakfast too. A bit had to get to from the North

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blacklake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here after a late flight in to Minneapolis as we were heading North. The front desk staff were great, the beds comfy, and the breakfast good. Easy on/off access to highway.I definintely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

stayed here on our way to Lake Superior. Just an average room. One complaint we booked everything on line for $104 a night. When we were there a couple came in and asked what they could get a room for they were told $90, they replied not good enough she said $80 is the lowest she could go. Where did $104 come from

Room Tip: make sure you ask if that is the lowest price for the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan56chevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel goes out of their way to provide excellent service. My family always comes to this hotel for a triathlon and they ensure all the racers are well taken care of. Breakfast is served by 5:30 in the morning on a Sunday and we get a late checkout which lets me race and get back for a shower, which is really appreciated. I have to eat gluten free and the hotel actually went out and purchased items for me to have for breakfast. They even tried to contact us to see what I would like to have specifically as opposed to just buying what was labeled gluten free which shows you how hard they try to provide individual service. Every person we talked to showed an interest in ensuring our needs were met. The hotel manager asked about the race, talked to us about the gluten free trip and was genuinely interested in our experience. Our kids wanted to make sure we would stay there again next year and I ensured them we definitely would.

Room Tip: They have nice suites with a separate living room with pull out couch and two tv's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank husfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

If this is the best hotel in Forest Lake, yikes!

We checked in and it seemed very disorganized. The employee noted that her room guide depicting which rooms were occupied or unoccupied was not up to date, so rooms that were available appeared to be occupied. She did have another employee make sure the room was empty, and she was very kind about trying to get us checked in quickly since I was holding a sleeping child.
The room was fine, it was clean, although it smelled like air freshener, which I don't care for. Housekeeping was ok, they left us with plenty of clean towels, emptied trash, made the beds, and cleaned up some crumbs my child left on the floor. But they didn't take my dirty coffee mug left over from breakfast and didn't leave any more shampoo and lotion bottles, which were nearly empty after four people bathed.
The kids had fun in the pool, which had stairs for gradual entry, and the water was plenty warm.
We had to ask for the pool towels to be replenished, there were only two on the shelf.
Thank goodness Keys Cafe is next door, the breakfast was disappointing! Bizarre "eggs" and "pancakes" and salty ham bits in a warmer, DIY waffles that were rubbery, best stick to the yogurt, cereal and toast. The coffee was below average but passable.
The Otis Spunkmeyer cookies in the lobby were delicious :)
The location was great, right next to I-35 and Cub Foods.
The employees were generally nice enough, but did not anticipate guests' needs well (outdated room list, didn't leave toiletries, didn't restock pool towels).
In short, it was passable for a very brief stay if you don't need or expect much.

Room Tip: Our lower floor room looked at the oil change station next door - I could see right into the garage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkibo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a recent one night stopover. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly. Although some of the furnishings in the room were somewhat outdated, beds were comfy and everything was quite clean. Breakfast in the morning had a lot of variety...DIY waffles, eggs, muffins, cereal, etc. we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IowaMom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest Lake
9.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Chisago City
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lino Lakes
21.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Croix Valley
Holiday Inn Express St. Croix Va...
#1 of 2 in Saint Croix Falls
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#2 of 2 in Chisago City
17 reviews
13.0 mi away
Best Western Plus White Bear Country Inn
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Forest Lake
AmericInn Forest Lake
#3 of 4 in Forest Lake
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Forest Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Forest Lake

Address: 1954 W Broadway Ave, Forest Lake, MN 55025-1335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Forest Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Forest Lake
Price Range: $90 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Forest Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Forest Lake. You may already be familiar with us, but do you know that we offer amenities that will greatly benefit your visit including; complimentary hot "Be Our Guest" breakfast, complimentary USA today Newspaper, complimentary Wifi, complimentary cribs, Meeting room Rental (holds up to 30 people), indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, Short In House Menu, Wedding Packages and Birthday Packages, complimentary cookies and fruit coffee 24 hours/day, 100% non smoking and a Pet Friendly Hotel. We do not allow pets (only services dogs with the paper work and they are only allowed in Pet rooms) We offer traditional queen and king lodging rooms, King Suite lodging rooms and Jacuzzi Suites. You may enjoy many attractions when visiting us, Running Aces 24/7 gaming excitement, Champion's Grill open 24 hours, live horse racing, North Branch Outlets, Forest Lake Public Beach, Forest Lake Movie Theater, golfing, Taylors Falls and Wild Mountain, Trollhaugen Ski Area, National Sports Center and so much more. I wish you a warm Welcome at the Country Inn & Suites Forest Lake, we invite you to experience hospitality at its finest. We do offer Corporate lodging Rates, Direct Billing and welcome any Group for future blocks/reservations. I hope you enjoy your stay with us, Welcome to Country Inn & Suites Forest Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Forest Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Forest Lake
Forest Lake Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing