We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Forest Lake
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Forest Lake
Reviewed June 28, 2012

If this is the best hotel in Forest Lake, yikes!

We checked in and it seemed very disorganized. The employee noted that her room guide depicting which rooms were occupied or unoccupied was not up to date, so rooms that were available appeared to be occupied. She did have another employee make sure the room was empty, and she was very kind about trying to get us checked in quickly since I was holding a sleeping child.
The room was fine, it was clean, although it smelled like air freshener, which I don't care for. Housekeeping was ok, they left us with plenty of clean towels, emptied trash, made the beds, and cleaned up some crumbs my child left on the floor. But they didn't take my dirty coffee mug left over from breakfast and didn't leave any more shampoo and lotion bottles, which were nearly empty after four people bathed.
The kids had fun in the pool, which had stairs for gradual entry, and the water was plenty warm.
We had to ask for the pool towels to be replenished, there were only two on the shelf.
Thank goodness Keys Cafe is next door, the breakfast was disappointing! Bizarre "eggs" and "pancakes" and salty ham bits in a warmer, DIY waffles that were rubbery, best stick to the yogurt, cereal and toast. The coffee was below average but passable.
The Otis Spunkmeyer cookies in the lobby were delicious :)
The location was great, right next to I-35 and Cub Foods.
The employees were generally nice enough, but did not anticipate guests' needs well (outdated room list, didn't leave toiletries, didn't restock pool towels).
In short, it was passable for a very brief stay if you don't need or expect much.

Room Tip: Our lower floor room looked at the oil change station next door - I could see right into the garage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkibo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 173 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a recent one night stopover. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly. Although some of the furnishings in the room were somewhat outdated, beds were comfy and everything was quite clean. Breakfast in the morning had a lot of variety...DIY waffles, eggs, muffins, cereal, etc. we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IowaMom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

There are 4 hotels near the town of Forest Lake or within the town. This hotel is located right off of 35W so it is easy to get to. The hotel is quiet, very very clean, a nice pool and hot tub. There are 2 restaurants withing walking distance (one has exceptionally good food and desserts). The town of Forest Lake used to be a tourist town in the early 19th century. There are 3 lakes in one with 3 public boat landings. Many people come here to fish the lake because of the trophy Muske and Bass. There are tournaments on the lake as well. Ice fisherman create little towns out there and is popular for any outdoor enthusiast. A new round-a-bout was built in the center downtown along with a new walking bridge over the street by the old Houle Mill. There are 2 thriftstores, 1 co-consignment, petstore, theatre, humane society nearby, Maurices, Walmart, Target, local legions, and many drinking establishments. A favorite is The Old Log Cabin Restaurant on 97 east towards Stillwater. It is on the left... Great broasted chicken dinner, prob. best you ever eat in a cabin like setting. Come see this small town especially the week of the 4th of July!! Fireworks every year over the lake and a fair!

Room Tip: If you plan on using the pool, ask for a mainfloor room near pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed and it was a great place. Nice people and a great restaurant right next door Key's Cafe and Bakery!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nichol8273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

I was travelling with my 12 year old son from Minneapolis/St. Paul airport to Ely and needed a place to stay close to Minneapolis for the night. We found the hotel to be right off the highway, but didn't have any highway noise. The beds were comfortable, the hotel was cozy. There was internet access and a common computer to use as well as a lounge with books you could borrow and return to another Country Inn at a later time.

The only issue I had was we ended up in a smoking room. We figured it out when my son asked why there were matches in the room. I didn't think about asking to switch rooms, so I don't know if they would have but I expect they would. So if you want a non-smoking room, be sure to ask for one ahead of time.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

I spent two weeks at the inn. It was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Breakfast was better than most and complimentary! I will stay there again and I would recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tcarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2006

A real great value while passing down the road. Just what you'd expect in this price range. Easy on and off I-35. Was quite, clean, and cozy. Bed was a bit rough, but for the price, it was better than the competition. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Flxible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest Lake
9.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Chisago City
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lino Lakes
21.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Croix Valley
Holiday Inn Express St. Croix Va...
#1 of 2 in Saint Croix Falls
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#2 of 2 in Chisago City
17 reviews
13.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview
13.0 mi away
Best Western Plus White Bear Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Forest Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Forest Lake

Address: 1954 W Broadway Ave, Forest Lake, MN 55025-1335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Forest Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Forest Lake
Price Range: $90 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Forest Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Forest Lake. You may already be familiar with us, but do you know that we offer amenities that will greatly benefit your visit including; complimentary hot "Be Our Guest" breakfast, complimentary USA today Newspaper, complimentary Wifi, complimentary cribs, Meeting room Rental (holds up to 30 people), indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, Short In House Menu, Wedding Packages and Birthday Packages, complimentary cookies and fruit coffee 24 hours/day, 100% non smoking and a Pet Friendly Hotel. We do not allow pets (only services dogs with the paper work and they are only allowed in Pet rooms) We offer traditional queen and king lodging rooms, King Suite lodging rooms and Jacuzzi Suites. You may enjoy many attractions when visiting us, Running Aces 24/7 gaming excitement, Champion's Grill open 24 hours, live horse racing, North Branch Outlets, Forest Lake Public Beach, Forest Lake Movie Theater, golfing, Taylors Falls and Wild Mountain, Trollhaugen Ski Area, National Sports Center and so much more. I wish you a warm Welcome at the Country Inn & Suites Forest Lake, we invite you to experience hospitality at its finest. We do offer Corporate lodging Rates, Direct Billing and welcome any Group for future blocks/reservations. I hope you enjoy your stay with us, Welcome to Country Inn & Suites Forest Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Forest Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Forest Lake
Forest Lake Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing