We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bacon in Fergus Falls!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Viking

The Viking
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Fergus Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fergus Falls, MN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Bacon in Fergus Falls!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Viking Cafe is a Fergus Falls institution unchanged after years of business. Try the Grash... or if you are not a fan of hash browns which come with almost every breakfast order the French Toast with Bacon. Their smorgasbord at noon features a couple of nice entrees and if you want to try something different Lutefisk is offered on a seasonal basis. The help is friendly and most of the wait staff are life long employees which says something for the operation. Always offering more than you can eat the Viking is what dining is all about! After eating at the Viking head 1/2 block south and desend to the Riverwalk to burn off some calories and take in the sights along the Otter Tail River.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrozenMinnesotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    29
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redwood Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Their biscuit and gravy is amazing. It is so good it has ruined all other b&g i've had at other restaurants. They also have great omelets.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob102012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
227 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place has one of the best breakfast that you can get. The lunchs are also good we go here atleast one to two times a week and never have a complant. There prices are cheap also.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have only had breakfast at this long and narrow, old fashioned restaurant but they were always great with lots of food and great service. It seems to have changed very little since I used to go there in the 60's when it was know as Runningen's.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandcrabMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always a Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I'm a local. When we want comfort food, this is the place to go. It reminds me of places my parents would take us to eat when I was a kid. Their hot beef sandwiches are fantastic. Breakfasts are amazing. I don't know that I've ever finished a breakfast here. Their ham is "real" ham, a slice of their bacon is equivalent to three or four slices at other places, their pancakes completely fill a plate, their 3-egg omlettes are huge and the service is great. Your coffee cup is never empty. When relatives visit this is the place they want to visit. If you're a visitor, don't miss this place - it's a trip down memory lane. The prices are very fair, too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Viking also viewed

 

Been to The Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing