We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Historic Hutchinson House B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Faribault B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tustin, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed 1 night at the Historic Huchinson House this past weekend. Our hosts, Tammy and Doug couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. Tammy didn't realize we had two of our childern with us, but it wasn't a problem because our room had a fold out couch. As it turned out, Tammy had a cancellation and made up a hide-a-bed in another room. That was really nice as it gave the four of us more privacy and made us more comfortable. That was fantastic customer service! Thank you, Tammy. We also spent time in the evening talking with both Tammy and Doug, getting to know them better. The breakfast the next day was delicious. The highlight was the blue ribbon, award winning scones!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katycat1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
61
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Love the B & B. Enjoyed the stay. Will be going back soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronigrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Stayed four nights with my 13 year old daughter while my son attended the local hockey camp. Lovely rooms and a wonderful breakfast. The owner was so nice and did everything she could to make our stay special.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flickerings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham Lake, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2010

The Hutchinson House is a gorgeous B&B located just a few blocks from downtown Faribault -- easy to get to from the freeway, off-street parking, and walking distance to restaurants, etc.

As a single traveler, I chose to stay in the smallest room, "The Professor's," and it was just perfect -- beautifully decorated, clean, quiet and comfortable with its own private bath. Soaking in the original claw-foot tub was heavenly, as was the hour or so I spent reading in the solarium.

The service was great: Owners Doug & Tammy are very friendly and accomodating, and Tammy made an incredible 3-course breakfast -- couldn't ask for better hosts or a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marymary123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed at the Historic Hutchinson House B&B in early June for a weekend get away. We stayed in the "Coughlin's Room." It was clean, bright with a large comfortable queen size bed. Private bath was also clean spacious. The room even has a little sitting nook with small sofa, chair, table, lamp and reading material.

Tami was a gracious host - she was around whenever needed, but she provided us plenty of privacy and quiet. Breakfasts were delicious and rich. Since we were the only guests in the house that weekend, we ate in the kitchen as Tami cooked for us right there. Both of our breakfasts concluded with decadent and luscious scones - what a treat!

The location is especially nice because it is about a 35 minute drive from Mall of America and the twin cities (Minneapolis/St. Paul). This way, you can stay in the country and get to the attractions of the city easily. Faribault itself is quaint, and the little downtown is within walking distance. The neighborhood has sidewalks and lots of pretty houses with well-groomed yards to look at, if you want to go for a stroll.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rikrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We belong to a gourmet group that decided to have one of our gatherings as an overnight at the Historic Hutchinson House. We hired a chef (Michael Murray-John from Vinifera in Wabasha) to plan and prepare our dinner while conducting a mini-cooking class. Tami Schluter was a very gracious host as well as being really fun. She worked with Michael to make sure that he had everything that he needed. She went above and beyond helping throughout our dinner making sure our every want was attended to. This B&B is beautiful. We stayed in the Dr. Haesslys Suite which was very large with a balcony. The bed was wonderful, the breakfast delicious and the best touch was the heated floor in the bathroom. Our event was such a great success that Tami and Michael are talking about teaming to offer more of these gatherings. Thank you Tami, Michael and Debbie for a wonderful evening!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vero_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

This was the second time I stayed here. Very friendly proprietors, wonderful (!) breakfast, convenient location, clean comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boo4597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faribault
1.6 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Faribault
1.9 mi away
Boarders Inn & Suites Faribault, MN
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Faribault
Days Inn Faribault
#4 of 5 in Faribault
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield
12.8 mi away
Archer House River Inn
Archer House River Inn
#2 of 5 in Northfield
132 reviews
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Faribault
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hutchinson House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hutchinson House B&B

Property: Historic Hutchinson House B&B
Address: 305 2nd St NW, Faribault, MN 55021-5112
Location: United States > Minnesota > Faribault
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Faribault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a restful stay at Historic Hutchinson House B&B, located 40 minutes south of the Twin Cities (Minneapolis/St. Paul) and just blocks from picturesque, historic downtown Faribault. This Victorian home is on the National Register of Historical Places and is worth a stay for the beauty of the house itself. The architectural detail is a prime example of artistry and quality craftsmanship that is truly awe-inspiring. The house offers a peaceful haven with all of the modern conveniences you need to be pampered. The common areas make an excellent venue for a wide variety of special events. We specialize in intimate gatherings and will make sure no detail is overlooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Historic Hutchinson House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing