We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Historic Hutchinson House B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Faribault B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We spent one night at the Hutchinson House in June 2014. The hosts Tami & Doug are excellent--attentive, friendly, and filled with great suggestions about the local area. They are passionate about their B&B and the Faribault area, and it shows. Our stay was lovely and the breakfast delicious. Bulldog Butler was a perfect doggie--excited to be around guests but not overly so. We loved him.

Room Tip: My husband and I are very picky about pillows... Recommend bringing your own if you are the same. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kallie_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 130 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

My daughter and I enjoyed a weekend getaway at this beautiful place! Everything about the Hutchinson House is inviting, from the big, sunny windows and high ceilings to the clean, comfortable and quiet rooms. Tami is the hostess extraordinaire; she made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived Fri. night, and she's an excellent cook! Butler the bulldog became my daughter's favorite playmate - he's great. Faribault is a fun town to explore, even in cold winter weather. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. We had Coughlin's, and it was spacious and lovely. The electric firepla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 407carlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We got in with a last minute reservation and enjoyed a wonderful relaxing stay. The host Tami is super friendly, a great cook and the house was gorgeous. So well kept and clean. We were able to walk to dinner downtown and enjoyed a super comfortable bed and wonderful "bubbler" tub. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineN909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Gorgeous Victorian walking distance to downtown. I found out about this place in a pinch late on a week night from a great gal, Tammy working at The Depot in Faribault who put me in touch with the owner Tami, after I had to check out of a dump on the other side of town. Butler the house dog rocks and so does the property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just returned from a rejuvenating 3 day stay at the Hutchinson House in Faribault. My oldest daughter attended day-camp during the day which left me with my busy five-year old to discover the town of Faribault. We were surprised by the options of activities we were able to find to do. We spent many hours riding on the paved bike trails that are in the city. There were many playgrounds to stop and rest our legs at as we went through the trails. The trails were generally covered with a beautiful tree canopy that kept us cool and offered many chances to catch a glimpse of the wildlife. We enjoyed shopping in the boutiques that are located in the historic downtown area. We also enjoyed walking through the trails, reading books and seeing birds at the River Bend Nature Center. If we needed more ideas Tami, at the Hutchinson House, was an excellent resource for navigating and enjoying what the historic town has to offer.
Tami and Butler, the dog, were very warm and inviting to my family. Tami tried to extend her welcome to my children by checking on their food preferences and ensuring they would have a chance to eat breakfast before needing to start the day-camp. Butler kept his cool and patience as my five-year old followed him where ever he went. On our way out of town my daughter proclaimed she already missed Butler.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms were beautiful. The Coughlin Room was easily able to accommodate the three of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darcy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

In July 2013 my wife and I biked the Sakatah Singing Hills rail trail from Mankato, MN, to Faribault, MN. We started at Butler House B&B in Mankato, stayed one night at Hutchinson House, then biked back the next day. Both places offered friendly hospitality, comfortable lodging, and elegant breakfasts. Both houses are over a century old, but offer modern appointments, including wi-fi. The decor in Hutchinson House is somewhat fresher, more recently refurbished, with a correspondingly higher price. Butler House is very homey, features beautiful rooms, with the walls in the first floor public areas decorated with unique outdoor scenes painted "fresco" on the plaster. It is also a bargain to boot.

The "Butler" at Hutchinson House? Tami and Doug have a quiet, laid back and very well behaved bulldog named Butler.

For bikers, the door-to-door distance is about 44 miles of easy railroad grade, including about 5 miles of city streets total on both ends. Good dining is available within easy walks of either house. Dave at Butler House allowed us to leave our car parked in front of his place while we were gone, and kept the baggage we didn't carry with us on the ride. The trail is entirely paved, but the central portion in Le Sueur County is a bit rough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Tami and Doug are outstanding hosts; the bulldog, Butler, minds his own business but is curious and friendly. The breakfasts are delicious and generally not the standard B&B fare of egg casseroles with cheese and spinach! Rooms are all different, very comfortable beds, but don't expect a wide screen flat TV. In the summer, enjoy the porch; in the winter the public rooms are comfortable and full of interesting stuff to peruse. The Hutchinson House is reason alone to visit Faribault; sadly there are very limited dining options in the nearby historic downtown. People seeking an escape will find this a worthwhile stop. Bicyclists who don't enjoy tent camping can experience the great trails in the area and return to a fabulous shower and comfortable nights sleep and look forward to an excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Johnson's Pride has great layout and plenty of daylight; more than making up for a small but wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeedSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faribault
1.6 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Faribault
1.9 mi away
Boarders Inn & Suites Faribault, MN
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Faribault
Days Inn Faribault
#3 of 5 in Faribault
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Archer House River Inn
Archer House River Inn
#2 of 5 in Northfield
135 reviews
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Faribault
14.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hutchinson House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hutchinson House B&B

Address: 305 2nd St NW, Faribault, MN 55021-5112
Location: United States > Minnesota > Faribault
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Faribault
Price Range: $185 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a restful stay at Historic Hutchinson House B&B, located 40 minutes south of the Twin Cities (Minneapolis/St. Paul) and just blocks from picturesque, historic downtown Faribault. This Victorian home is on the National Register of Historical Places and is worth a stay for the beauty of the house itself. The architectural detail is a prime example of artistry and quality craftsmanship that is truly awe-inspiring. The house offers a peaceful haven with all of the modern conveniences you need to be pampered. The common areas make an excellent venue for a wide variety of special events. We specialize in intimate gatherings and will make sure no detail is overlooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Historic Hutchinson House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing