We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Too Short of a Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Hutchinson House B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Historic Hutchinson House B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Faribault B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Too Short of a Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

A return trip after a number of years; the B&B is more beautiful and Tami and Doug exhibit a great talent in maintaining and running a wonderful place to stay. The addition of "Butler", a dog with a warm personality, adds to the greeting.

Room Tip: Each room is different; the rooms at the front are accessed by a larger stair case; the rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeedSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
49
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I had occasion to visit St Paul MN on a business trip last week ( June 2012).
One of the people I met with suggested that instead of staying in St Paul, I might want to check out Hutchinson House in Faribault, and I could commute with him each day while I was visiting.
This turned out to be a brilliant idea.
I would much rather stay at the H. House and the lovely town of Faribault.
The place is gorgeous! A historic home , with modern amenities, such as central aircon.
Breakfasts are wonderfully prepared by the hostess/owner, and are delicious.
The rooms are spacious, and the antique furniture is amazing,
The bed is large, the mattress very comfortable.

Bathroom is fully modern, lots of hot water in the huge standup shower.

The neighbourhood is deeply restful and very quiet.
Picture a residential street with century old elms and oaks, in a quiet backwater neighbourhood, in a town which looks like it has changed little since the 1940s.

It is well worth the trouble to drive there and only about a half hour south of Minneapolis.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My wife and I went to stay at the Hutchinson House on March 30th and 31st and we had a great stay. Tami is a wonderful host and full of life. Food in the morning was nothing short of amaizing. We will be back again next time we are going through Minnesota.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faribault, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My husband and I spent the night at Historic Hutchinson House the night of our wedding, it was fabulous! My husband and I are both lifetime residents of Faribault and our moms set up our stay with Tami.

We stayed in Dr. Haessly's Suite; the room was beautifully decorated and we especially loved the heated tile floor in the bathroom and the private porch - we both agreed it was like a vacation right in our home town!

We awoke early and enjoyed visiting with Tami and hearing all the details about the house while enjoying coffee. Tami is a fabulous cook; the breakfast she served was amazing and having the full china on the table was a treat!

We also fell in love with Butler, their one year old English Bulldog! We will definitely go back and would refer anyone to the Historic Hutchinson House!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I am a lawyer who had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful bed and breakfast during a 7 day trial I had in Fairbault, Minnesota. The Hutchinson House was perfect for me. It was 1 block away from the courthouse, and was just 2 blocks from the main drag in Fairbault. It was particularly nice waking up to a modified to my taste breakfast every morning before trial. The house itself was beautiful, and the owners, Tami and Doug, were delightful to talk to in the evenings. I can honestly say this was the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed in Dr. Haessly's Suite. Loved the private screened-in porch where my wife and I sipped wine on a mild October evening. Faribault is a terrific town with several good restaurants (Gran Plaza Mexican Grill, Augustos Piadina, Depot Bar & Grill) and a viable downtown. Don't miss the Cheese Cave; they age their signature bleu cheese in nearby caves (it's killer)! They apparently have a good historical society museum, but it's closed on weekends (grrrrrrrrr). Drive up to Shattuck St. Mary's and get an eyeful of tradition and architecture. We hope to visit the newly opened Faribault Woolen Mill Retail Store, next trip, and catch a production at the sumptuously restored Paradise Center for the Arts. Lots to see and do! And Tami & Doug couldn't have been better guides and hosts!

Room Tip: We enjoyed Dr. Haessly's Suite, but on our next trip I think we'll book the Johnson's Pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UpperMidwestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This was our first B&B trip for our one year anniversary. We rode our motorcycles from Central MN to Faribault and this was a great place to stay! Tami and Doug were great hosts...the room (Dr. Haessly's suite) was a great place to spend two nights in. The decor was more period correct-the bed was comfortable...and that room has a great modern bathroom with heated floors, stand up shower AND a nice tub (with jets). Tami was a great cook for the breakfasts...and the service is great.

There is really someone to be said for staying here...the main areas have the more original design features (great craftsmenship) and antiques...while it is updated enough to allow a comfortable stay.

We will be coming back...

Room Tip: Dr. Haessly's Suite has a spacious/modern bathroom with heated floors...and a small screened por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COPOHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faribault
1.6 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Faribault
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Faribault
Days Inn Faribault
#3 of 5 in Faribault
3.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
1.9 mi away
Boarders Inn & Suites Faribault, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield
12.7 mi away
Archer House River Inn
Archer House River Inn
#2 of 5 in Northfield
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
12.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hutchinson House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hutchinson House B&B

Property: Historic Hutchinson House B&B
Address: 305 2nd St NW, Faribault, MN 55021
Location: United States > Minnesota > Faribault
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Faribault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a restful stay at Historic Hutchinson House B&B, located 40 minutes south of the Twin Cities (Minneapolis/St. Paul) and just blocks from picturesque, historic downtown Faribault. This Victorian home is on the National Register of Historical Places and is worth a stay for the beauty of the house itself. The architectural detail is a prime example of artistry and quality craftsmanship that is truly awe-inspiring. The house offers a peaceful haven with all of the modern conveniences you need to be pampered. The common areas make an excellent venue for a wide variety of special events. We specialize in intimate gatherings and will make sure no detail is overlooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Historic Hutchinson House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing