We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Historic Hutchinson House B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Faribault B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I am a lawyer who had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful bed and breakfast during a 7 day trial I had in Fairbault, Minnesota. The Hutchinson House was perfect for me. It was 1 block away from the courthouse, and was just 2 blocks from the main drag in Fairbault. It was particularly nice waking up to a modified to my taste breakfast every morning before trial. The house itself was beautiful, and the owners, Tami and Doug, were delightful to talk to in the evenings. I can honestly say this was the best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 133 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed in Dr. Haessly's Suite. Loved the private screened-in porch where my wife and I sipped wine on a mild October evening. Faribault is a terrific town with several good restaurants (Gran Plaza Mexican Grill, Augustos Piadina, Depot Bar & Grill) and a viable downtown. Don't miss the Cheese Cave; they age their signature bleu cheese in nearby caves (it's killer)! They apparently have a good historical society museum, but it's closed on weekends (grrrrrrrrr). Drive up to Shattuck St. Mary's and get an eyeful of tradition and architecture. We hope to visit the newly opened Faribault Woolen Mill Retail Store, next trip, and catch a production at the sumptuously restored Paradise Center for the Arts. Lots to see and do! And Tami & Doug couldn't have been better guides and hosts!

Room Tip: We enjoyed Dr. Haessly's Suite, but on our next trip I think we'll book the Johnson's Pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpperMidwestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This was our first B&B trip for our one year anniversary. We rode our motorcycles from Central MN to Faribault and this was a great place to stay! Tami and Doug were great hosts...the room (Dr. Haessly's suite) was a great place to spend two nights in. The decor was more period correct-the bed was comfortable...and that room has a great modern bathroom with heated floors, stand up shower AND a nice tub (with jets). Tami was a great cook for the breakfasts...and the service is great.

There is really someone to be said for staying here...the main areas have the more original design features (great craftsmenship) and antiques...while it is updated enough to allow a comfortable stay.

We will be coming back...

Room Tip: Dr. Haessly's Suite has a spacious/modern bathroom with heated floors...and a small screened por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COPOHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Hutchinson house. With B&B's you want a comfortable bed, a great breakfast, and hosts that make you feel welcome. Tami and Doug provided all of that and more. The house has been lovingly and tastefully restored. Every room has it's own uniqueness so it is hard to make up your mind which room to stay in. We have stayed in many B&B's and this is one of our favorites. We will return and highly recommend this B&B!
Mike & Judy

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

If Faribault is your location, Hutchinson House should be your destination. The house is historically significant and elegantly appointed for that period feeling one desires in such a location yet cleanly and clearly updated to still be modernly comfortable. Hosts Doug and Tami have done a great job in polishing this architectural beauty.

The location is in walking distance to equally quaint yet modern restaurants and shops. My huband particularly enjoyed his straight edge razor shave and hot towel wrap at the Barber Shop in town. And the intown River Bend Nature Center is close enough to enjoy an early morning wildlife walk and still be home in time for one of Tami's fabulous Nine AM breakfasts.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank plmpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We had a great stay at the Historic Hutchinson House in mid-August, and we're looking forward to returning as a part of our trips to MN to visit relatives and friends. Tami and Doug have gone to great lengths to return the house to its original design and furnishings, inside and out. Beautiful antiques everywhere, comfy bedding, luxurious bathrooms. And even a private screened porch with the largest room in the house - perfect for having a glass of wine while reading a book and keeping an eye on the quiet neighborhood. And, yes, the breakfast was great and personalized -- Tami made a point to ask about our food likes and dislikes when we arrived.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JZSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at the Historic Hutchinson House B&B for a weekend get-away and LOVED it. The house is huge and has a ton of character. The main level is spacious with very large front room and sitting rooms on the main level. Every where you turned, there was a new room to discover. The front porch was massive as well, with plenty of room to relax and enjoy the serenity of small-town American.

The inn keepers were incredibly friendly as well. They definitely operate with "serve their customer" mentality and they went to great lengths to make us feel welcome and at home. They even brought in a special breakfast item in honor of our heritage (definitely NOT on their planned menu) and went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. We were very impressed!

The rooms were spotless, the breakfast was very enjoyable and the owners could go on all day about the history of the mansion. A definite must stay !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyliss H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faribault
1.6 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Faribault
1.9 mi away
Boarders Inn & Suites Faribault, MN
12.8 mi away
Archer House River Inn
Archer House River Inn
#2 of 5 in Northfield
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Shattuck-St. Mary's
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Faribault
Days Inn Faribault
#3 of 5 in Faribault
298 reviews
2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Faribault
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hutchinson House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hutchinson House B&B

Address: 305 2nd St NW, Faribault, MN 55021-5112
Location: United States > Minnesota > Faribault
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Faribault
Price Range: $185 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a restful stay at Historic Hutchinson House B&B, located 40 minutes south of the Twin Cities (Minneapolis/St. Paul) and just blocks from picturesque, historic downtown Faribault. This Victorian home is on the National Register of Historical Places and is worth a stay for the beauty of the house itself. The architectural detail is a prime example of artistry and quality craftsmanship that is truly awe-inspiring. The house offers a peaceful haven with all of the modern conveniences you need to be pampered. The common areas make an excellent venue for a wide variety of special events. We specialize in intimate gatherings and will make sure no detail is overlooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Historic Hutchinson House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing