We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Historic Hutchinson House B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Owatonna)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
132
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was deliciousfrench bulldoggreat hostsheated floor in the bathroomfood preferenceswalking distance to downtownother guestscheese caveprivate bathbed and breakfastgreat conversationfabulous stayan easy drivemain levelspent two nightspainted ladyryder cup
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 136 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We had a great stay at the Historic Hutchinson House in mid-August, and we're looking forward to returning as a part of our trips to MN to visit relatives and friends. Tami and Doug have gone to great lengths to return the house to its original design and furnishings, inside and out. Beautiful antiques everywhere, comfy bedding, luxurious bathrooms. And even a private screened porch with the largest room in the house - perfect for having a glass of wine while reading a book and keeping an eye on the quiet neighborhood. And, yes, the breakfast was great and personalized -- Tami made a point to ask about our food likes and dislikes when we arrived.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JZSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at the Historic Hutchinson House B&B for a weekend get-away and LOVED it. The house is huge and has a ton of character. The main level is spacious with very large front room and sitting rooms on the main level. Every where you turned, there was a new room to discover. The front porch was massive as well, with plenty of room to relax and enjoy the serenity of small-town American.

The inn keepers were incredibly friendly as well. They definitely operate with "serve their customer" mentality and they went to great lengths to make us feel welcome and at home. They even brought in a special breakfast item in honor of our heritage (definitely NOT on their planned menu) and went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. We were very impressed!

The rooms were spotless, the breakfast was very enjoyable and the owners could go on all day about the history of the mansion. A definite must stay !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyliss H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The Hutchenson House is a truly beautiful house, lovingly maintained, and very well equipped as a bed and breakfast. Our hosts, Tami and Doug, really made us feel at home, as did their little dog, Butler. From the tasty 3-course breakfasts to the comfy quality bedding and lovely antiques in all the rooms, every detail was thoughtfully provided. One great feature was that though many items looked to be antiques, we never felt that we could not use the things in our room. They were usable, sturdy, and lovely at the same time. We loved just hanging out on the big proud porch, visiting with our hosts and other guests. We'd recommend this place to anyone looking for an excellent Bed and Breakfast experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaWeezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Tami & Doug are gracious hosts. They are welcoming and friendly and really make you feel at home. We loved the house which is tastefully furnished. We were fortuneate to stay on a beautiful summer night and were able to sleep with all the windows open. And best for last, Tami is a great cook. I would go back just for her breakfast!

Deena and Bill Mahowald
Farmington, MN

Room Tip: Johnson' Pride - Love the windows!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willminnesota_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This lovely Victorian-style home in the quiet little town of Faribault, Minnesota, offers the weary traveler a welcome place to rest one's head. Hosts Tania and Doug have created a congenial atmosphere in this well-appointed and architecturally significant Midwest home. The breakfasts are a special delight, pleasing to the eye and stomach both. We stayed in the Professor's Room, small but adequate for our needs. The bed stood tall but was one of the most comfortable sleep experiences ever.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews