We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby motel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Fairmont

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fairmont
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont
TheHague
Level Contributor
159 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Grubby motel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

To be honest I expected better from Holiday Inn than a 1970's motel from a B-movie, looking a bit sorry for itself. The prices certainly aren't motel ones though !

By the time we arrived the pizza restaurant and bar had shut, I think 11pm is a little early for a hotel bar to shut, but maybe thats how things are in the Midwest. There's a McDonalds across the street, although that didn't solve the beer problem !

The corridors seemed to be a sea of discarded pizza boxes and room service trays, obviously cleaning wasn't high on the agenda.

Breakfast was served by lovely chatty old ladies, the food wasn't brilliant though.

It was just a late-night stopover, I'm glad I didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casualist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn in Fairmont. We appreciate all of our guest’s feedback and I feel bad that you didn’t have the experience that you were looking for. We take great pride in providing our guest’s with a clean hotel and great service and we have a long history of doing just that. We been working hard on renovating our property and our exterior along with our Restaurant, Bar and Banquet Rooms have all been completed. We are currently putting an elevator in and our guestroom bathroom renovation will start Spring of 2011.

I am disappointed that our staff didn’t get the room service trays cleared timely and that you were not able to serve you for dinner in our GreenMill Restaurant. Our hours are Monday through Saturday 6:30am to 10pm in the Dining room and the GreenMill Bar is open until at least Midnight. Sundays we are open from 7am to 10pm in the Dining room and the Bar. I’m glad that you had good service for breakfast and I hope that when your travels bring you back to our area you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Jason Subbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    32
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
35
10
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
213 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

Don't be fooled by the remodeled exterior and lobby, the rooms have probably not been updated since 1970's. Probably have not been cleaned since the 1970 either.
There is no elevator in this hotel. So we had to lug all our bags up the stairs to our room. The rooms are dated colors, popcorn ceilings, old TV's.
Dated bathrooms, bathtub floor dirty, needed a good scub. No room on bathroom counter- was wet and everything slipped on dirty floor.
Housekeeping was horrid- there was at least 6 inches of dust and filth behind the bed. (No, I did not pull it out it was the type that curved back from the wall).

Toletries: Bath & Body Works Shampoo (no cond.)
Coconut Lime & Verbena Lotion
Citrus Mint Hand Soap
Citrus Mint Bath Soap

Pet Friendly

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyFan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fairmont hotels

savage
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

With sudden tornado conditions, we turned in to this hotel. Every guest of the hotel and restaurant was already in the hallway. Staff welcomed us in, sent us down the hallway with no pause and kept us informed of weather without worrying the kids. I felt lucky to have found this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodlover53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines, iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed here for a weekend and were very happy with everything. The staff was very accomodating. The pool area was very clean. There was always clean towels and we really enjoyed having the separate pool for small children only. The rooms were updated and clean. My only complaint was no continental breakfast. They had a restaurant with a breakfast buffet though.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mable0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

I expected more services from this Holiday Inn. I am used to staying at the Holiday Inn Expresses and found the regular Holiday Inn not as comfortable. Housekeeping was less than adequate and there was no complimentary breakfast. Holiday Inn should get rid of these motels and stay with the Express line.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Illinoisstressedout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplegrovemom, Management representative at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, September 15, 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We always strive to make our guests' experience the best it can be. Please accept our sincere apologies that we didn't meet and exceed your expectations during your stay. We will share your comments with our staff, particularly in our housekeeping department, so we can learn from your feedback. We appreciate your business and hope that the next time you are traveling through the Fairmont area, you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, Il
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

Stayed two nights here with a group bus tour. The pool was fine. The rooms need some updating - the sink was in with the toilet and tub (mildew on the shower curtain the second room) and toiletries were all different kinds?? It was clean and there was a nice restaurant on the property and a Perkins next door. It's very close to the highway. I would stay again if I had to but would choose another hotel if possible.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplegrovemom, Management representative at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this review, September 15, 2009
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We appreciate the nice comments about our restaurants in the area, the Green Mill and Perkins.

We want to apologize for the cleanliness issues you experienced in your guest room. Please understand that we have high expectations for clean rooms and friendly service from our staff. We didn't meet our standards or live up to your expectations during your stay and we are very sorry.

Thank you for letting us know about it. We will take your comments to our team and use them to learn and improve for all of our guests.

We sincerely hope that the next time you are in the area, you will consider giving us a chance to redeem ourselves in your eyes.

Thank you for your business and for taking the time to provide us with feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

My family and I stayed here for a week for a family wedding. The staff were extremely nice, friendly and very helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent. We ate in various places while on holiday but the food in the Green Mill Restaurant in the hotel was definitely the best-their pizzas are delicious!!! The decor in the rooms was a bit basic but the beds were very comfortable-would love to take it home with me. I would definitely recommend it as the best hotel in Fairmont

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandKaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairmont
Hampton Inn Fairmont
#1 of 4 in Fairmont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Fairmont
Quality Inn Fairmont
#2 of 4 in Fairmont
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Fairmont
Super 8 Fairmont
#3 of 4 in Fairmont
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Blue Earth
17.5 mi away
Super 8 Blue Earth
Super 8 Blue Earth
#2 of 2 in Blue Earth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fairmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fairmont

Property: Holiday Inn Fairmont
Address: 1201 Torgerson Dr, Fairmont, MN 56031-3642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Fairmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fairmont 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn-Fairmont is nestled within a pleasant, charming community. A day's drive from either the Black Hills or Chicago makes it a convenient stop for travelers across the Midwest. Our hotel offers very nice guestrooms with upgraded Duve bedding, a nice work space in every room and all rooms have 32” flat screen TVs. Our Executive Kings and Suites offer refrigerators and microwaves. We have a large indoor pool area to ensure that everyone will have room to relax poolside and enjoy the heated pool, whirlpool and our one foot deep kiddie pool. Take in some family fun in our arcade or enjoy some free activities like foosball or ping pong. We have a state of the art fitness center and our guests enjoy our business center. We have WIFI throughout the hotel so you can stay connected anywhere on the property. No matter what meal of the day, you will find out Green Mill Restaurant and bar a great place to gather with friends, family or co-workers for a great dining experience. Our guests can take advantage of our Kids Eat Free program and is you’re interested in just staying in room service is always an option. There's always plenty of seasonal activity around Fairmont. Summer fun includes boating, sailing, water-skiing, wind-surfing, swimming and fishing on the chain of five lakes. In the winter you can take in renting an ice fishing house or do some snowmobiling, country skiing or just hitting the sledding hills. The Holiday Inn is located at the intersection of I-90 and Highway 15 so we are very easy to find. We hope that you travel safe and we look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Fairmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fairmont Hotel Fairmont
Fairmont Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing