We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard hotel experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fairmont
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

It is what it is. There was nothing great about the hotel, but nothing terrible either. The hotel was hard to spot off the freeway as there was not adequate signage. The hotel staff was friendly. The pool area was probably really nice at one time, but is fairly run down now and the staff doesn't keep it clean. The room was comfortable and was what we expected.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falpalnkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Without it, we cannot continue to improve. It is disappointing to hear that our property was difficult for you to locate and please know for future reference, our front desk associates would be more than happy to assist you in finding our property. Simply give them a phone call when you are traveling and they will provide directions! I will share your review with our entire management team so they can follow-up with the issues you mentioned concerning our pool area. Thanks again for posting a review and we are pleased that our team of associated were friendly and helpful to you while staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 106 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

There aren't many places to stay in Fairmont... The Holiday Inn is a good option. It's the only hotel with a built-in restaurant/bar (The Green Mill). That does mean no complimentary buffet. This is a small town and the restaurant/bar will close early if they don't have any customers, so don't bank on a late night meal.
The rooms are clean and modern. Staff are very nice and friendly- and the restaurant will deliver room service to the room if you want. There is a washer/dryer on the property though the dryer is a little weak... a bigger load will have to be dried twice.

I was reading the other reviews... The pool is accessible without a key but there are posted signs saying wristbands are required for all guests using the pool. I've never used it and don't know how enforced that is. Two other thoughts- they don't have black-out curtains (no-one in town does I believe) and there's no pay-movie service on the TVs. Wireless internet is complimentary with a key from the front desk.

I stay here every time I come to town and that's a lot. Clean, relatively quiet. Worth the money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clint M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our team of associates to be friendly and helpful to you. It is great to hear you were able to take advantage to some of our amenities and services such as the room service. Your comments will be shared with our management team and they will follow up on the issues you mentioned where there could be improvement. Without feedback from our valued guests like you, we could not improve our operations so we greatly appreciate hearing from you. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This place in undergoing construction and renovation. Im very pleased with the results. The pool is nice, the surface around the pool is painful, WARNING: THERE IS NO KEY ACCESS TO THE POOL. Anyone can walk into the pool. The arcade is poor. The air hockey ate my one dollar bill and did not give me a puck. So I went to the front desk, the response I got was "okay". On top of that she was TERRIBLY SLOW upon check-in. In conclusion does it get the job done, yes, but service needs improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your open and honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn of Fairmont, MN. It is disappointing to hear that our staff was anything less than friendly, helpful, and efficient as all of our valued guests should receive warm and friendly service from our team members and we apologize you did not this time. It is our goal to meet or exceed all guests’ expectations and we will use your feedback to ensure we do a better job next time. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We really did not have a choice in the arrangements in Fairmont - all three chains off I-90 keep the rate at about $110-120 because they know they have the market cornered.

When you get your room check it out for location - some face into the indoor pool area that starts getting use at 6:50 a.m. even on Sunday - so if that is not what you are there for move. Then the rooms near the meeting rooms will be loud because they hold great band and DJ events there - dont go lower floor north side near the outdoor patio either.

Our clock did not work and they did not have a replacement.

No breakfast option other than resturant and Perkins on the apron.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSH80634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests – including ways to improve. Please know that our front desk associates would be more than happy to assign you a room that you have a preference for. We strive to be as accommodating as possible to each of our valued guests. Please accept our deepest apologies regarding the clock now working in your guest room. This is unacceptable and we will follow up with your review and ensure this gets taken care of immediately. We truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us and know that we take our guests’ comments very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel was decent but nothing that qualified it for the cost. The only reason the rate is so high is because it's along on the interstate, and they can extract that from travelers. The restaurant was OK. Breakfast in the morning was a bit distressing because several tables who arrived after we did were served their food before us. Next time we'd go across the parking lot to Perkins. Average staff. Loud plumbing. Small vanity area in the bathroom. The tub is rounded at the bottom of the walls, making it very dangerous getting in and out of the shower. The grab bar is covered with towels, so it's almost impossible to see that there's a grab bar there. Whoever bought the tubs for the hotel had no clue that this is a lawsuit waiting to happen. Look elsewhere to be safe.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakemissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPImanager, Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your open and honest feedback in regards to your stay with us at the Holiday Inn of Fairmont. In regards to your comments about the bathroom, please know that the safety of our guests is very important to us and we definitely have rooms and amenities available for anyone with safety concerns. Our handicap rooms have walk in showers and extra grab bars for safe use. I am disappointed to hear about the service you received at our restaurant as this is most definitely not our standard of service. We strive to provide Outrageous Guest Service and apologize that we did not this time. We do appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope that you would give us another chance if you are in the Fairmont area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stopped at the Holiday Inn Fairmont after driving most of the day at about 11:00 at night. They were actually our second stop, we tried the Comfort Inn across the street but the night clerk there was very rude and we chose to go elsewhere.
I obviously did not have a reservation as we weren't sure how far we would make it that day. The front desk clerk was very friendly and accommodating. We were towing a long trailer with a car on it and she was very helpful with parking options.
The room was comfortable and very quiet!
The Lounge/Bar looked like they had quite a party going on but we did not join in because we were exhausted.
The restaurant was very good! wait staff a bit distracted on a Sunday morning, but the menu was great and the food delicious.
Tip: if you don't already have it, sign up for the Holiday Inn rewards card. It's free and gets you a free drink in the bar and 10% off breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gl_avfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjerstin K, Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for the great review! The positive experience you described while staying with us is what we strive to provide to all our guests and appreciate getting feedback when we succeed in doing so. You are among many of our valued guests who do not have a reservation upon check-in and we take pride in accommodating to your needs in a helpful and efficient manner. We are pleased to hear our guest rooms were comfortable and quiet for you to enjoy after a long day of driving. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is the second time we stayed here on our way to Wisconsin. The staff is awesome, the resteraunt is very good. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable. I was so impressed walking through the Hotel and noticing how clean it was everywhere. And the beds were so comfortable, I usually do not sleep good on the road but had no problem here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieandCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fairmont, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for staying with us again and for the nice four star review. We are very proud of our staff and it’s great to hear that your room was clean, comfortable and service was awesome. We strive to accomplish this for every guest every day so we are glad to hear your comments. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Jason Subbert – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairmont hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairmont
Hampton Inn Fairmont
#1 of 4 in Fairmont
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Fairmont
Quality Inn Fairmont
#3 of 4 in Fairmont
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Fairmont
Super 8 Fairmont
#2 of 4 in Fairmont
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Highland Court Motel
Highland Court Motel
#1 of 2 in Fairmont
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fairmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fairmont

Address: 1201 Torgerson Dr, Fairmont, MN 56031-3642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Fairmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range: $145 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fairmont 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn-Fairmont is nestled within a pleasant, charming community. A day's drive from either the Black Hills or Chicago makes it a convenient stop for travelers across the Midwest. Our hotel offers very nice guestrooms with upgraded Duve bedding, a nice work space in every room and all rooms have 32” flat screen TVs. Our Executive Kings and Suites offer refrigerators and microwaves. We have a large indoor pool area to ensure that everyone will have room to relax poolside and enjoy the heated pool, whirlpool and our one foot deep kiddie pool. Take in some family fun in our arcade or enjoy some free activities like foosball or ping pong. We have a state of the art fitness center and our guests enjoy our business center. We have WIFI throughout the hotel so you can stay connected anywhere on the property. No matter what meal of the day, you will find out Green Mill Restaurant and bar a great place to gather with friends, family or co-workers for a great dining experience. Our guests can take advantage of our Kids Eat Free program and is you’re interested in just staying in room service is always an option. There's always plenty of seasonal activity around Fairmont. Summer fun includes boating, sailing, water-skiing, wind-surfing, swimming and fishing on the chain of five lakes. In the winter you can take in renting an ice fishing house or do some snowmobiling, country skiing or just hitting the sledding hills. The Holiday Inn is located at the intersection of I-90 and Highway 15 so we are very easy to find. We hope that you travel safe and we look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Fairmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fairmont Hotel Fairmont
Fairmont Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing