We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gregs stay”
Review of Super 8 Fairmont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Fairmont
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was not advised of the continental breakfast by either the check in staff or the check out staff. Insure that the staff explains the amenities to the customers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank GREGORY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Super 8 Fairmont, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for the four star review and for staying with us. I will share you feedback with our Front Desk staff on how important it is to tell everyone about the free breakfast and the hours. Again, thank you for staying with us.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 210 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

The room was clean, attractive, and appeared to have been fairly recently updated. Appearance-wise, one of the nicer Super 8's I've stayed in. We did not notice any smoke smell as some of the other reviewers did.

On the other hand, the carpet in the hall was badly stained, and the bed linens were not particularly comfortable - I found the sheets to be rather scratchy.

A bit on the expensive side for a Super 8. There are a handful of hotels clustered together here, and I suspect they may all have the same owner.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Zorbina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Super 8 Fairmont, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for stay with us and for writing a review. Great to hear that your room was clean and you enjoyed your stay. We do have plans to replace all of our hallway and staircase carpet in the next 30 days. We appreciate your comments and look forward to serving you again when your back in the Fairmont area.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My family stayed at the Super 8 for two nights over labor day weekend for a wedding/family reunion. At first entering the lobby, I smelled cigarette smoke, but was guaranteed our room was not a smoking room, which it was not. We had one of the deluxe rooms with a compact fridge and microwave and needed an extra rollaway bed, which was waiting in the room for us. Beds were fairly comfortable, but the pillows left a lot to be desired. Pretty basic amenities in the bathroom. We did have to request extra towels and we received those promptly. Did not hear much noise from other guests even though our room was right above the breakfast area. We did not eat the breakfast, but it looked like basic continental fare. Check in and check out were very easy, and the hotel is located close to I-90 exit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Super 8 Fairmont, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for choosing Super 8 and for taking the time to write a nice review. As I read your review it makes me proud that our team did a nice job making sure that your rollaway was waiting for you and you got extra towels promptly. Our staff takes great pride making sure that all of our guests have clean comfortable rooms and great service. Thank you again for staying with us.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have stayed at this Hotel 3 times in the past month, and have stayed there in the past.
It is a clean facility with friendly staff and a good AM breakfast selection. They are located
right across the Street from a Green Mill, Perkins, and across the Hwy. from McDonalds.
The Front Desk person gave me a free drink coupon with Appetizer purchase at Green Mill,
which was nice as I had a good time there.

Just down the road towards Fairmont is The Ranch Restaurant and Pizza Ranch which offer
nice Buffets for the Traveler and people with Families.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Super 8 Fairmont, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for the five star review. It's always nice to see our repeat guests write reviews. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next trip to Fairmont.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Rooms are permanently saturated with the smell of cigarette smoke! We came to the conclusion that at one point all the staff smoked because it is indescribable. We tried everything to get the smell to at least not consume the room but we failed on every attempt. We found hair in the bath tub as well, which did not help the overall feeling of the room. The air conditioner will keep you up all night with the constant kicking on and off. It would be one thing to have a noisy air conditioner if it would keep the room at a pleasant temperature, however it failed. The room was humid the entire stay as well. Please reconsider staying here... I beg you. This is the first time I have written a review and I am doing it for the sole purpose of helping you and protecting you from paying for an unpleasant stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel. If you have to stay there pick a room at the end of the hallway... less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnumz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Super 8 Fairmont, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We feel badly you did not experience the level of cleanliness you should expect when traveling and for the smell of smoke. Please know that our staff is not allowed to smoke in the hotel and only 10% of our rooms are smoking rooms. Please accept our sincere apologies for your poor experience and we hope that you will give Super 8 another opportunity when you are traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Keep driving to Jackson going West.

After driving 15 hours I thought I heard the girl wrong for sure when she said a room for the night would be $90. I have stayed in hundreds of Super 8's and researched a lot more and have never seen one that expensive. I asked her why they are so expensive and she shrugged and said if you want a cheaper room go to the Budget inn down the Road. I drove the extra 30 miles and got a room for 39.99 at the Econo Lodge. There is a Super 8 in Jackson as well which I asked them how much for the heck of it and it was only $52.99

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike4912000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience with Super 8 Fairmont. We are sorry to hear you didn't stay with us. Although our rates do change based on availability and special events in the area, we always strive to provide an excellent value for our guests, a clean room where everything works and friendly service. We review all our guests' comments and take them to heart. We hope you give us another opportunity on your next trip to Fairmont.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This motel was pretty basic. It's only "extra" was a breakfast. That was very basic, but fresh. The motel itself was nice enough for a low end place. It was clean and looked updated. It is a great place to stay if you are just passing through and need a place to rest your head. There were a few restaurants very close too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaVacationmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont08, General Manager at Super 8 Fairmont, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I understand your concerns about rates and we understand that you have a lot of choices. We strive to ensure that our guests get a clean room, great service for a fair price. I hope that you will consider checking with us again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Fairmont
Quality Inn Fairmont
#3 of 4 in Fairmont
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairmont
Hampton Inn Fairmont
#1 of 4 in Fairmont
222 reviews
17.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Blue Earth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Fairmont
Holiday Inn Fairmont
#4 of 4 in Fairmont
106 reviews
2.4 mi away
Highland Court Motel
Highland Court Motel
#1 of 2 in Fairmont
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Fairmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Fairmont

Address: 1200 Torgerson Dr, Fairmont, MN 56031-3600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Fairmont
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont
Price Range: $78 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Fairmont 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a location with easy on/off access? No need to look any further. The Super 8 in Fairmont MN, The City of Lakes, is located off exit 102 on Interstate 90. Everything you need is off of this exit, from hotel rooms to restaurants to added attractions. This Super 8 has exactly what you're looking for. Whether traveling on business or pleasure, we offer the amenities needed for all travelers. Our guest rooms are well appointed and include free wireless high speed internet, hair dryers and complimentary continental breakfast. We offer a large parking lot that can accommodate large trucks and trailers. Enjoy the surrounding amenities such as golf, fishing or boating. Need to relieve some of the work day stress? Ask about our local fitness center. There you'll find all of the exercise equipment needed to get in that workout. No need to get in the car and head out to dinner, we have 3 restaurants within walking distance of our front door. Our staff looks forward to serving you. We'll see you along the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Fairmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Fairmont
Fairmont Super Eight
Fairmont Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing