We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grumpy Barista's”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dunn Brothers Coffee
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Excelsior
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
374 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Grumpy Barista's”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stopped here on a quiet Monday morning, the location is excellent and the coffee shop is nice, I just wasn't impressed by the employees. A good barista is very much a part of the coffee experience and the two women working there had zero personality! The coffee was good and we didn't order any food items. We did enjoy sitting out on their patio and watching life in Excelsior on a Monday morning but we probably won't be back anytime soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7ContinentsExplored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
219 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The place to hang out and have meetings”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

They have the traditional Dunn Bros food & drinks. I've been here for many meetings, and also for a knitting group. They sometimes have some great music too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Northwomn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Neighborhood Coffee Shop”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great cold press coffee and they also started offering several gluten free bakery items which is much appreciated!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice locale & decor, but they did not know how to serve Italian sodas”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stopped by on a warm sunny day at Excelsior. Nice location and nicely laid out coffee place. It was busy both inside and out. We ordered 3 different Italian sodas and they were not mixed right. WAY too sweet. The coffee was average.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great evening hotspot!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very nice to have a place to hangout, listen to music, have a refreshment etc late at night that isn't a bar. Music that evening was 2 guys on acoustic guitar and vocals who's setlist included "While My Guitar Gently Weeps". They serve traditional coffee house type refreshments as well as an assortment of wines by glass (bottle too?).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariekoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunn Brothers Coffee also viewed

 
Excelsior, MN
 

Been to Dunn Brothers Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing