We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend SUCCESS!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Excelsior
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bird House Inn and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 Excelsior B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Excelsior, Minnesota
1 review
“Wedding Weekend SUCCESS!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We booked the Bird House Inn for our out of town guests who were attending our family wedding.
They RAVED about the facility, the location in darling downtown Excelsior and wonderful homey atmosphere. They enjoyed early morning coffee on the front porch, Late afternoon they wondered over to Excelsior Brewery for a pint and then on to dinner (several wonderful restaurants in town).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Owner at Bird House Inn and Gardens, responded to this review, December 1, 2014
We loved having your group here. So glad they enjoyed it! Hope to see you back on your anniversary next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
36
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Excelsior is where I grew up, so I chose the Bird House Inn for it's convenient location to all the amenities this location has to offer such as lake activities, bike/walking trails, restaurants and shopping all within walking distance. I returned to Excelsior for a family reunion and it was important to me to be in the village so that I was close to other family members. I reserved 4 rooms for my family to stay in. One of the family members was my mother who had lived in this house twice while growing up. She was in a trance the moment she stepped inside. The memories just flowed from her. We had many great moments reminiscing and sharing her memories with Dave, our most gracious and charming host who usually joined us for those yummy breakfasts. Dave thrived in meeting our needs and made our stay with him most enjoyable. It's as if we were staying as a guest in his home. We spent 5 lovely days at the Bird House. We had three children in our party aged 7, 10 & 13. The accommodations were very warm and kid friendly. The kids enjoyed getting into the complementary candy and beverages. I will definitely return to the Bird House for future visits to my home town.

Room Tip: With children, the Cardinal and Pheasant rooms with the kitchenette served our purposes well with ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJBrown0049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Owner at Bird House Inn and Gardens, responded to this review, December 1, 2014
So nice to have you here! We've had a few people with personal connections to the house stop back over the 13 years we've owned it, and it is always a special treat. Looking forward to your return some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have stayed at the Bird House Inn and Gardens on two separate occasions, years apart. In 2009 I was pleased to learn that our High School Class Reunion was scheduled to be celebrated at a Inn on the water in Excelsior. I immediately began researching B and B's in order to thoroughly enjoy my visit. The Bird House surpassed my expectations then and again 5 years later, when I returned last week for yet another reunion.
I selected a different room for each visit and was pleased with both. Despite being located on the Main Street in Excelsior, which is a plus to me, as I enjoy walking as much as possible, the Inn is quiet and serene. I love the long porch, perched above the street, separated by lovely gardens, fountains and trellises.
Dave, the Innkeeper, is very accommodating and charming, easy-going and capable.
Breakfast is elegant and filling, with many choices for all palates.
I hope to return before the next reunion!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Owner at Bird House Inn and Gardens, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
It's great to have old friends come back and see us again! It was lovely chatting with you and the other guests over a glass of wine in the evening and at breakfast. It was a pleasure, as often happens, to see the warm connections that are made in just an hour or two in a comfortable old house over a nice hot breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a weekend stay at the Bird House Inn. The location is fantastic - in the heart of downtown Excelsior which is a thriving small town next to Lake Minnetonka that has a great selection or restaurants and shops. We enjoyed the walking trail/bike path that is located just a few steps from the Bird House's front door.
The Inn is a Historic Home that has been preserved beautifully. The front porch by the garden area is the perfect setting for a morning cup of coffee or an evening glass of wine.
The food! The breakfast menu for both weekend mornings were fantastic!
Thank-you Dave & Gretchen for a wonderful stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASmith331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Owner at Bird House Inn and Gardens, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Warm, friendly guests like the Smiths are a big part of what makes the whole inn feel that way. Glad you were able to make use of some of the best features of the inn and the town. We love having the bike path so close so that we and our guests don't have to fight with any traffic while touring the area. The bikes we have for guests use are a great way to see the sites and get a little exercise while you are here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My far flung, extended family--from Maryland, Massachusetts and Florida--descended on the Bird House Inn for our nephew's high school graduation this past weekend. We had a fantastic time! Dave is a gracious host and innkeeper, and his presence makes the stay very personal. My girls and I loved the spaciousness of the Pheasant and Cardinal Room. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chase P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Owner at Bird House Inn and Gardens, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you, Chase. Your far-flung family was a delight to host. I'm always glad when our inn can help bring families together for a comfortable, intimate stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were on a 'girlfriend overnight' and thoroughly enjoyed the time spent at the Birdhouse Inn. We loved being able to sit out on the porch - of course, the weather helped considerably. All the rooms were comfortable and the breakfast pastries and fresh fruit were appreciated. We certainly didn't need a huge breakfast after all the stops to eat while wandering the downtown streets. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The offer of wine and snacks was something we hadn't experienced in any of the B&B's we had stayed in on other trips. Nice!

Room Tip: The rooms ranging in price was handled by just splitting the total down the middle for the three roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Owner at Bird House Inn and Gardens, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks Jan! Great to have you and your fun group of friends stay with us. We keep trying to think of fun little "extras" to throw in to make our inn feel like a home away from home. Glad you were able to take advantage of a few of those. We look forward to having your group back again some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I and my entire family have been at the Birdhouse inn for my brother's wedding at the beginning of May. Our stay has been perfect, the rooms are very confortable, breakfast is great and the owners are very nice and friendly. When in the area, we will surely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luigi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Owner at Bird House Inn and Gardens, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
It was great to get to know your family while you were here. Such wonderful people! Future guests will be sure to enjoy the authentic Italian espresso maker you left for me. Thanks so much for that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excelsior
Chanhassen Inn
#3 of 4 in Chanhassen
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
AmericInn Chanhassen
#2 of 4 in Chanhassen
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird House Inn and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird House Inn and Gardens

Property: Bird House Inn and Gardens
Address: 371 Water St, (In the Historic James H. Clark House), Excelsior, MN 55331-3039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Excelsior
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Excelsior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1858 Victorian Italianate bed and breakfast hotel is the only lodging available at Excelsior Bay on Lake Minnetonka. We have five affordable and comfortable hotel rooms with modern decor, private baths, free Wi-Fi, and much more. While staying with us we provide you with inn amenities such as a breakfast bar, complimentary snacks and soft drinks, free parking, and so much more! We are pleased to provide our historical bed and breakfast for all of your event venue needs. Whether you are looking for an outdoor wedding venue or just somewhere to host a special event, our inn is the place for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing