We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need to breathe again...THIS is where you go !”
Review of Burntside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burntside Lodge
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Ely
New Prague, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you need to breathe again...THIS is where you go !”
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Burntside Lodge is just a destination; it is the most incredible experience that you will EVER, BAR-NONE have the privilege to take part in. You may not know Lonnie & Lou (the owners) yet; but, BELIEVE me...once you have had the opportunity to spend some time with them ~ you will leave as family !!!!

This location will supercede ALL of your expectations and the website is beautiful and very helpful ~ however, it does NOT do it justice. Your attitude will adjust the MINUTE you drive onto BURNTSIDE LODGE ROAD ! I PROMISE ! Each cabin is unique; but is still "old world" style and makes you feel like you are visiting the resort from "Dirty Dancing" ~ but only better !!!!!!

Our Meal was simply OUT of this WORLD ! We had Gourmet Honey from TAZMANIA, for crying out loud ! And the Potato Leek Soup was fantastic ! The Duck Confit and the Crab Balls were AMAZING !!! WOW ! And if leave that Bar/Restaurant without having AT LEAST one of their Signature ~ Blueberry Mojitos....you are crazy !

Get up THERE ! Do not wait for a special occasion ~ because EVERY you spend up there will be MORE than SPECIAL !!!!!

I miss it so much already and I have only been gone for 9 days :-( Can't WAIT to get back up there ! It is worth EVERY, SINGLE mile that you drive to get up there; because you are pretty far "up north" !!! THANK YOU LONNIE & LOU !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKD84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I went to Burntside Lodge for a 4 night stay to catch up with college girlfriends, one of whom I hadn't seen for 9 years. It was an amazing time and had something to offer for all tastes. One friend absolutely loved the wood burning sauna, one friend's favorite was sitting on the dock, another friend enjoyed the absolutely amazing restaurant, and my favorite was sitting in the lounge overlooking the lake with a nice glass of wine. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking to get away and enjoying all the north woods has to offer, but yet have all the amenities available if you wish. I can't get back soon enough!! Thanks for a trip that I will never forget!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakegirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Burntside Lodge is absolute Heaven on Earth. The lodge and its surrounding 22 log cabins are on Burntside Lake in Ely, MN. We found this place in 1990 and can't wait each year for our annual visit. This is a fabulous place to get away from the stresses of life and "unclench". Burntside is family owned. Lou and Lonnie are wonderful hosts. The dining experience is wonderful - in a large open dining room overlooking the lake. Daughter Nicole is the head chef and has built a very creative gourmet menu and extensive wine list. Son Jacques runs the bar which is cozy and overlooks the lake as well. A bar menu is also available if you don't want to have a larger meal. A full breakfast menu is available on week-ends and during the week you can sit on bar stools and have your cappacino along with homemade scones or muffins.

The cabins are all unique. We stay in Cabin #8 which is a one bedroom (queen bed), with a full kitchen and a sitting area looking out on the lake. The bathroom is newly remodeled and a large deck with two adirondack chairs is the perfect place to relax a read a good book. What the cabins don't have - thankfully - are phones, televisions or internet hook-ups. This is truly a place to visit to get away from all of that. However, if you are too addicted, the main lodge does have a wireless internet.

There are also larger cabins with multiple bedrooms for families.

You can rent a canoe, kayak, or boats to enjoy time on Burntside Lake. The place mats in the dining room are maps of the lake. Finally, the lodge has a wonderful gift shop with unique art, cloting and collectibles.

  • Liked — Cabins, lake, food, wine
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GMRPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We went up to Ely to enjoy the north woods experience. We only had one nite which was sad. I spend the whole summer in Minnesota but in Alexandria on Lake Miltona which is beautiful but Burnside Lake is like a different country and Burnside Lodge is the only place to go to experience the best northwoods experience. The lodge is a perfect example of a time gone by. Fire in large stone fireplace, drinks in lounge, looking out on the lake and the islands. An amazing dinner-4 star. Our cabin was right on the water. We sat on the dock and drank wine,listened to the loons call and watched the northern lights. It was an amazing nite. We retired to our sweet little cabin that had a super mattress. We slept well and hated to leave. I am sure we will return. Thanks to Lonnie for being so gracious and making us feel so welcome. All the staff was great!!!.

  • Liked — scenery- history-
  • Disliked — no tv
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OmahaDeb2054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 6, 2004

My wife and I have spent many happy bug ridden months camping in the BWCA over the past 28 years. She prevailed on me to spend a week at Burntside Lodge last year and we had a wonderful time. The cabins are wonderful, esp the studio cabin we stayed in on the point above the marina. A flock of wild turkeys wanders the grounds, wolves howl at night, and the loons wail echos across the lake. The restaurant would be well known in San Francisco, the food is that good. Wine selection is wonderful. The only phone is a booth in the lobby and I don't think cell phones work. The staff is warm, attentive and welcoming and will outfit for a day on the lake fishing or a month in the Quetico. Go in September for fewest bugs.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
10.0 mi away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 35 in Ely
193 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
377 reviews
10.1 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
White Iron Beach Resort
9.9 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
4.9 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burntside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burntside Lodge

Property: Burntside Lodge
Address: 2755 Burntside Lodge Rd, Ely, MN 55731-8402
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Burntside Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing