We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an Afternoon Visit”

North American Bear Center
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The North American Bear Center is the only educational facility of its kind - it helps people learn from the bears themselves about bear behavior, ecology, and their relations with humans. There is a huge need for accurate information about bears worldwide and the mission of the non-profit North American Bear Center is to advance the long-term survival of bears worldwide by replacing misconceptions with scientific facts about bears
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good for an Afternoon Visit”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

The bear center is very well done. The center's focus is educating their visitors about bears through museum displays and informative staff. Beautiful photographs are displayed of bears and other wildlife. You can see the resident bears both indoors and outdoors. Try to be there during a feeding time to see them interact.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    75
    19
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tower, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“TIME WELL SPENT”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

As nearby summer residents, we have visited the NABC at least once every year since it opened. I can easily spend two hours watching the bears eat and play and view the videos and exhibits. A terrific addition this summer is the enthusiastic narration by the intern who described what we were viewing from the deck and through the window and provided a wealth of information about the four resident bears and about black bears in general. Another good addition is a video that I believe is about 60 minutes long. It is thoroughly engrossing and informational and is shown in a comfortable theater. I always leave the bear center feeling my time was well spent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue92103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is a terrific experience for everyone”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

My husband and I have visited the NABC five times. Every trip we learn something new and see a new side of their rescued bears. The bear center has extensive displays, photography and videos as well as a "cubby" hands-on area for small children. The gift shop is a gold mine of great stuff! The NABC also tells the story of Ely's famous clan of research bears - multiple generations of bears and cubs that have been studied "close-up and personal" like no other bears in the world. You will learn about the lives of these bears as has been shown in multiple television documentaries seen in the US and around the world.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DiverDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing opportunity!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

If you're anywhere near Ely, be sure to plan a visit to the North American Bear Center. You'll meet resident bears Ted, Lucky, Honey, and Holly and learn how they came to be at the center. There are many informative exhibits, articles, and videos to help you separate fact from fiction regarding wild black bears.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank M5755ELMaryP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A unique and wonderful destination!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The NABC is a unique facility that holds a huge amount of information on black bears. It's by no means all education though, there are many fun things to learn about and lots of videos showing the intimate life of black bear families. The resident bears can be very lively and when I went, Lucky and Holly were playing together in front of the crowd. I really recommend the NABC as a place to spend a few hours absorbing the exhibits and maybe changing your view on black bears for ever!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ljacks67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North American Bear Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing