We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garden Lake Resort a great laid back resort near town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden Lake Resort

Garden Lake Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Lake Resort
Ranked #10 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Garden Lake Resort a great laid back resort near town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Have been staying @ Garden Lake resort for well over 10 years. Nice wide docks and close to town. Owners maintain this property superbly. Fishing can be great or spotty, always weather dependent and you have to know the chain as there is plenty of water to fish.One of our, wife and I , favorite vacation spots in Ely area. Laid back and what you expect for northern Mn.

Room Tip: only 4 cabins all with views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack4225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest IL
Level Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here to fish and it was not very good. The cabins were just ok, very sparse and the kitchen was not very well stocked, no tv or radio. The service staff didn't really act like they cared about the customers. Would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenP783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, MN
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Garden Lake Resort is easy to find. When we arrived, a deer greeted us on the driveway. We stayed there March 14-17, 2013. The Ely area is beautiful in the winter. We brought our snowmobiles and were able to get to the trail via a short ride on the frozen lake. I checked rates at several other resorts and found Garden Lake Resort to be the most reasonable for this time of year. We stayed in a lovely, fully furnished 2 bedroom cabin for $100 per night! The cabins are very nice. I was impressed with how well everything is taken care of. The parking area, walkways, and deck of the cabin was cleared of snow. The cabin was very clean (I am fussy about that). Although, there is no cable or satellite TV, they have an extensive collection of movies that you can borrow. There is a nice radio and sound system for your ipod. And, of course, there is always WELY on the radio! The only not nice thing was the fireplace. It is electric and we just couldn't figure out how to make it work. Also, the owners were very accommodating when we asked to change our reservations, twice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Pros:The gentlemen was a very nice guy and very helpful over the phone. He was willing to provide insight on several fishing areas. They are one of the few locations that prorate daily rates by 7 and not by 5 days, should you chose to not stay for a week.

Cons: Though their website says that they provide 100% full refund 90 days prior to the reservation date, I had my refund returned less $25 for deposit fees. The $25 is not that big of a deal, but it is certainly misleading to claim 100% full refund when you don't really refund 100%. The owner mentioned that there's a $25 policy on website, but it was nowhere to be found.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

Garden Lake Resort is a quiet and secluded location just outside of Ely. You're in the beautiful north woods surrounded by tall birch and pine trees, yet within 10 minutes of wonderful restaurants, shops, and other services. Cabins are clean, well kept, and sport wonderful views of Garden Lake. The owners are close by and were always helpful to make our stay one to remember. Each night a fire is built to provide an opportunity for guests to gather from other cabins and meet one another. It's also a chance to bring your cup of coffee, hot chocolate, hot dogs, or marshmallows to enjoy around the fire. We brought our pontoon for fishing and was pleased to have three large lakes, Garden, Farm, and White Iron to access. The owners have their own boat launch and were glad to help us get into the water and provide dock space right by our cabin. A fish house was on site with everything necessary for the cleaning and disposal of our fish. We also enjoyed short sightseeing trips near the resort that allowed us views of moose and deer in the wild during our stay and the local bear and wolf centers became another way to learn of wildlife in the area. Lastly, the fishing was awesome!! We caught large mouth bass, crappie, small mouth bass, walleye, and northern pike just moments from the resort by boat, a boat they can provide if you need one. If you're looking for a way to leave the city and fast lanes of life for awhile, Garden Lake Resort is the place to be. The only regret we had for the entire trip....was coming home!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherish_the_moments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

We have stayed at Gardent Lake resort for the past fifteen years with our family. We enjoy the location, small quiet atmosphere, clean cabins, and the personal touch of the owners. Owners are very accomodating to every need. They are constantly updating the cabins. Resort is located on a four lake chain with an excellent variety of fishing .

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurers120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
2.2 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
4.7 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
12.9 mi away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 34 in Ely
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Silver Rapids Lodge
Silver Rapids Lodge
#33 of 34 in Ely
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
5.1 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#2 of 3 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.2 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Lake Resort

Property: Garden Lake Resort
Address: Garden Lake Road, P.O. Box 25, Ely, MN 55731
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Lake Resort is quiet secluded an Ely, Minnesota Resort with direct water access to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area (BWCA). Our modern housekeeping cabins offer year round comfort for family vacations and outdoor recreation. Come experience the difference in comfort, quality and great service! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing