We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fund”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel Ely Budget Host
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I was in Ely on business and wanted to stay to enjoy the area. The owners made sure that I knew what was available in the area and were very gracious.

The accommodations were excellent. Each day the room was cleaned and restocked. I have never stayed in a motel that had such high clean standards, it was very nice.

I had so much fun that I will be back and will stay here again.

Room Tip: I can only talk about the one room I had and it was excellent and I didn't see why the others wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MotelEly, Owner at Motel Ely Budget Host, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thank you all for your responses. We really do appreciate your comments and having you stay as guests at our motel. Rog and Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 160 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

After a 9 day canoe trip to the Boundary Waters, we landed at this clean, friendly, cheery hub in Ely. The bathtub was retro perfect and hot hot water. Nice nature wallpaper makes rooms feel big. Staff friendly, helpful, down-to-earth. Seemed super safe and family friendly. Great location, we could walk to downtown or park or wherever. We'll be back!

Room Tip: all rooms great, ours was #2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Older motel. Stayed Saturday night, no noise issues. Our room was clean, and the 3 queen beds were comfortable. Flat screen Tv if you care about that. Has wifi

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Clean, affordable accommodations; five star treatment from owners. This is a great get away destination for a few days away from it all. Beautiful scenery along Highway 1. Great, friendly clean town. Owners were very pleasant, and helpful. I'd highly recommend Motel Ely for a great travel experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klondike_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Enjoyed the trip from Thunder Bay down Hwy 61 to Hwy 1 up to Ely.
Beautiful road lots to see. Was greeted by both Roger & Debbie Murwski at the Motel Ely. Being both Harley owners, they treated us great. Very clean rooms at a fair price.
They even prommised great weather. Which they delivered. Will be going back this fall for the fall color tour.
David Siczkar
Thunder Bay

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Really enjoyed this hotel. Very clean. Roger and Debbie were very friendly and informative. Directed to local resurants, shopping and even where to buy blueberry plants! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Clean rooms, comfortable bed, good TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyHolthaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

On a recent motorcycle trip we found ourselves in Ely early evening. Not wanting to travel the Northwoods roads at night, we decided to stay. We expected to find plenty of rooms available. We were told by locals that the Motel Ely was a good place to stay. Well, Roger and Debbie had one room left with a Queen bed (there were four of us), and that wouldn't work.. They immediately started calling area hotels on our behalf and found no one with any rooms available. Roger and Debbie then offered to put an additional bed in the room for the night, if we helped him pull a bed out from storage. We took them up on the offer. Later that evening they hosted a little outdoor party for guests. We even had a 17 year old from Chicago pull out his guitar and entertain us. It was a most enjoyable stay and one we will certainly remember. We would highly recommend! Patty, John, Jean,, Chuck- Twin Cities/Bakersfield CA

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paddles12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 8 in Ely
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
396 reviews
5.3 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#2 of 2 in Ely
52 reviews
9.5 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
4.3 mi away
Silver Rapids Lodge
Silver Rapids Lodge
#30 of 34 in Ely
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Ely Budget Host? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Ely Budget Host

Address: 1047 E Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Price Range: $76 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Ely Budget Host 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA rated. Free WIFI accessible from all rooms. Impeccably clean comfortable rooms. Fridge, micro, in room coffee, and phones in all rooms. Walking distance to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Motel Ely Budget Host reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing