We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food fine, service sorely lacking”

Evergreen Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 30 Restaurants in Ely
Cuisines: American, International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Food fine, service sorely lacking”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have been coming here to eat weekly for the months we spend at our lake home outside of Ely. Generally , we enjoy ourselves and enjoy the food. Nothing gourmet, but tasty and basic if you stick to frequently ordered entrees. Tonight was different- unexpectedly. We sat in the fireplace lobby area. Big mistake. Our server tried but we still felt banished. Tried to move to a free outside table, but were chastised by a female server. The message should have been delivered far more professionally and respectfully. We slunk back to our lobby table and waited a full hour before our meals arrived! Inquiries to the servers did not yield any apologies. Where was the manager? Why weren't we told about the delay? If the lobby tables cannot be accommodated, why offer them to bar patrons? So disappointing when poor organization and management spoils a meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronnjonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gyor, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Reliably good food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The walleye sandwich is a star. The Thai chicken salad was very nice except for indelible pea pods. The chef really must check his ingredients before he or she uses them. Perhaps a bit of a parboil would have rendered than chewable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hapsburgqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rustic setting great location”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This place is absolutely a cabin feeling place with views on Shagwa Lake there broasted chicken is moist and tender drinks were good and service excellent by Billie Jo A must if ever in Ely

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nanainfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande City, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“#1 Ely Eatery”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This huge, wooden lodge has exquisite food as well as fine hotel accommodations. You can sit outside the restaurant on the outside deck facing beautiful Lake Shagawa, or enjoy tranquil ambiance inside with spectacular views of the lake as well. Be sure to check out their wild rice soup anytime, and the walleye sandwich at lunch time. Service is mostly good, but sometimes unpredictable. People are quietly friendly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ely mn
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stay away from the chicken florentine!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were so excited to have dinner there for our 26th Wedding Anniversary. What a mistake!
I ordered the Chicken Florentine and it was the absolutely worst thing I ever had at any Ely eating establishment. The chicken was sooo overcooked a steak knife would not do the job. The noodles wood have been ok if they were not drowning in Campbells Cream of Chicken Soup.
And there was a large black broiled cheese slice on the heaping top of this awfull plate. And when the waiter asked if everthing thing was ok, I said I thought the entree was inedible, he responded with the most imperfect response ..." ok, we will only charge you for 1/2 of you entree.
How nice...My husbands salmon was ok but nothing to write home about. We decided to
just pay off the bill and go somewhere else for dinner that night. If you are planning a nice meal at Evergreen or Antlers, make sure you have a back up plan (especially if it is a special Night).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ely240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evergreen Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Evergreen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing