We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 Ely Eatery”

Evergreen Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 30 Restaurants in Ely
Cuisines: American, International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rio Grande City, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“#1 Ely Eatery”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This huge, wooden lodge has exquisite food as well as fine hotel accommodations. You can sit outside the restaurant on the outside deck facing beautiful Lake Shagawa, or enjoy tranquil ambiance inside with spectacular views of the lake as well. Be sure to check out their wild rice soup anytime, and the walleye sandwich at lunch time. Service is mostly good, but sometimes unpredictable. People are quietly friendly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ely mn
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stay away from the chicken florentine!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were so excited to have dinner there for our 26th Wedding Anniversary. What a mistake!
I ordered the Chicken Florentine and it was the absolutely worst thing I ever had at any Ely eating establishment. The chicken was sooo overcooked a steak knife would not do the job. The noodles wood have been ok if they were not drowning in Campbells Cream of Chicken Soup.
And there was a large black broiled cheese slice on the heaping top of this awfull plate. And when the waiter asked if everthing thing was ok, I said I thought the entree was inedible, he responded with the most imperfect response ..." ok, we will only charge you for 1/2 of you entree.
How nice...My husbands salmon was ok but nothing to write home about. We decided to
just pay off the bill and go somewhere else for dinner that night. If you are planning a nice meal at Evergreen or Antlers, make sure you have a back up plan (especially if it is a special Night).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ely240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good All Around”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Ate here for a dinner, lunch and a breakfast as I was staying in the lodge. Good steak dinner. Food is well prepared and hearty portions - what you would expect for a lodge.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KateLehmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“VERY good!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

See our Grand Ely Lodge review for details. Great menu amazing food with something for everyone! Liked the breakfast best!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia,minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great election, great food”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

we had lunch in the bar here. great menu selections, free popcorn and a great wine list. I had french dip on a crisp french roll. it was stacked high with tender fresh sliced beef. the Au jous was so flavorful and not overly salty. my husband had the buffalo chicken sandwich. big piece of chicken with a tasty sauce. the french fries were crisp and the onion paddles are not to be missed. oh, and great bloody mary's! fantastic service and a beautiful view of the lake. great for snowmobilers. it is right on the trail.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gypsysister2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Evergreen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing