We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Food for Special Occasions”
Review of Burntside Lodge

Burntside Lodge
Ranked #13 of 30 Restaurants in Ely
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
228 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Solid Food for Special Occasions”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Location, location, location. With a view. One of those special places you can remember for years to come. Great 5 star atmosphere, best restrooms ever (poking fun at those reviewers who say places are the "best ever"), but definitely worth seeing.
The staff is friendly, and the menu has good choices no matter what your taste. So I would give this a 5 star northwoods review, but overall compared to other restaurants in other cities, the food only rates 4 stars. Have the walleye, or course, because this is walleye country.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mntraveler35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    9
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The top of the class in Ely restaurants.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

You'll remember your dining experience here. The scenic setting, casual elegance, wonderful food, top notch service, & north woods decor are well worth the price. We try to enjoy a evening here each year we visit the area & are excited each time we go as if it's the first. Do not miss this historic landmark!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingDiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“a must if you are near Ely, mn”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had an excellent meal at Burntside lodge during a recent vacation in Ely Mn. Husband had walleye to die for and I had buffalo cooked to perfection. The setting overlooking the lake and the service was unbelievable! Wonderful selection of desserts. Try the calypso pie. The best meal of our vacation, pricey but worth every bite.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwipeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
133 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“5 star dining in a historic log Lodge”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The food and service here are unbelievable. We stayed at the Burntside Cabins, so a meal on Saturday was a must. I had a fantastic Buffalo steak, wife had a chicken dish all made with local Minnesota raised and grown products. the grilled romaine salad was fantastic, have to find that blueberry wild rice bread recipe. I love Burntside, long may it thrive !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cndrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A View Only Money Can Buy”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The food was very good, the service even better, but the view was priceless. A bit out of town, but worth the effort. Be sure to ask for a lakeside table and make reservations.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank StillwaterMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burntside Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Burntside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing