We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch & Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chocolate Moose

The Chocolate Moose
Ranked #3 of 4 Dessert in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lunch & Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

This place has outstanding pies. The ouches are very good. The dinners are an excellent place fro eat. Most of the time is good but sometimes it is terrible. I will continue to eat their but do not be surprise if you have poor service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 19342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    71
    46
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
326 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

In Ely for a week, so much to do and so little time. So on our last day managed to visit here for lunch, kept passing and was adamant we would visit. Beautiful sunny day aNd was able to sit on the deck. Four of us ordered different lunches, from quiche of the day,to sandwich of the day, and two off the menu. All said fantastic food and can see why so many people told us about it. Waitress very friendly and service was prompt. This should be a must when in Ely.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mavis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Had breakfast here twice so far, can't wait to try dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great breakfast! Everything in Ely is a little pricey so no difference here. No big deal about the bathrooms. The buildings are connected so it's not like you have to walk down the street! Can't wait to try dinner on our last night tomorrow.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol4ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Sernin Du Plain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“More Chocolate than Moose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

A local hang out pur sang where people meet have their coffees, buns, and food. Great it is not too large, call it homey. Fine people serve fine food and fine drinks.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Burgundian71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
444 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Mmm - Dessert!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

The restaurant is on the main street in Ely, very easy to get to. Every time we went past it, it was packed. We ate outside, which was just as crowded as inside. Not the place for a quiet leisurely lunch. We all ordered burgers, which took a long time to come – close to 30 minutes. They were good, but not exceptional. Desserts were better. We had the chocolate layer cake and the BIG homemade chocolate chip cookie.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beentheredonethat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chocolate Moose also viewed

 

Been to The Chocolate Moose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing