We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Spent four night at the Adventure Inn last week was very pleased with the motel.Its a family owned operation.I found the rooms to be spacious and clean and the staff to be helpful.the location is excellent right across the street from the new custard stand,get the hot fudge sundae.There is some confusion about the Adventure Inn,they offer two types of accomadations.There is an older quite frankly run down section that they rent to scout groups and others that dont need or want fancier digs and the new section that is first rate.I'd pay the difference and stay in the new rooms.Just an aside if you are looking for a guide contact Rob Nelson,he's excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darealbigcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Adventure Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 187 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2009

We were first attracted to the Adventure Inn by the wildlife themes of their rooms, pictured on their website. With our first stay there, we found comfortable beds (very important to us), a clean room, good coffee and pastries in the morning (also important to us), and a very friendly management. As a bonus, we found the folks at Adventure Inn are concerned about the environment and have taken whatever steps they can to go "green." We returned this year and plan to return again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bwcanoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed at the Adventure Inn after our trip into the BWCA. After being soaked and cold, the comforts at the Inn were perfect. The comfy beds with down blankets and pillows were just what we needed. And the rooms were spotless. Great coffee, very accommodating staff and the owners made sure we were comfortable. When we return to the BWCA we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yamgozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

NOT PET FRIENDLY!!! The walls of the hotel were paper thin and our dogs could hear everything going on next door. When they heard something, they'd bark (like most normal dogs would). We left the dogs at the hotel while we went to a rehearsal dinner and the dogs apparently barked while we were gone. The people at the hotel CAME INTO OUR ROOM AND TOOK OUR DOGS!!! We heard after we returned that they almost lost one of our dogs (NEXT TO A BUSY STREET!!!). Staff was very unpleasant. We were scheduled for two nights and didn't want to stay the second night because of their treatment of our dogs and they wouldn't give us a refund. We left but still had to pay for the second night. Awful, awful place. If you care about your dogs, I would suggest you stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UnhappyCamper20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueedgington, owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2009

We are a pet friendly place and have dogs stay with us in selected rooms. Our policy states that no dogs are to be left unattended in our rooms. These 2 dogs were left both nights unattended in one dog crate. They barked incessantly and our guests were very unhappy. The first night we called them and they did not respond so we brought the dogs into our office to care for them. The second day, they left the dogs unattended again and we called them again about the barking. We offered to watch them again while they were at the wedding and they did bring the dogs into our office to watch them. They wanted to leave our place that evening and get a refund as well. Because of the lateness in cancelling and because of the distruption to our guests for 2 days we did not refund their money. they left at 9 pm that night .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

In my opinion this is not the place to stay...stay in a tent or you car if need be. The room was dirty - the carpet was very stained and the bathtub moldy and had hairs from previous guests. Another friend stayed at the Canoe On Inn and said was a much better bang for your buck and another stayed at the Grand Ely Lodge and said if you have the money it was a great place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dufrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueedgington, owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2009

The room that they stayed in is in our older economy building. It is only used in the summer months and has new beds, bedding, but the room is smaller, and the bathroom is dated. However, it is priced very economical and these rooms are quite popular with our guests on a budget. We do clean them thoroughly. This room is also a pet friendly room and the problem is with the dogs that were left unattended in the room for 2 nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

We stayed her the night before and the night after our canoeing trip into the BWCA. We had a group of 5 and our room had three queen sized beds with plenty of room. The rooms were nice with TV,microwave,refrigerator and 2 sinks. Staff was great, we were up at 6 both stays and coffee and breakfast was waiting for us both times. I will stay here again for my next trip!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pickardit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2006

Very neat and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. We appreciated the pet-friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank javagal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.1 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
0.9 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
388 reviews
5.2 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#3 of 3 in Ely
51 reviews
9.7 mi away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 35 in Ely
218 reviews
9.5 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: 1145 E Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731-1746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Price Range: $95 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adventure Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure Inn is an earth-friendly, sustainable motel that is dedicated to reducing their energy foot print while providing comfort to their guests. A family run motel. We now have a brand new energy efficient solar thermal building with earthy comfort in mind. Quiet, comfortable with platform beds, hand made furniture,down blankets and pillows. We also have 2 brand new jacuzzi suites. The old economy building no longer exists and we are in the process of rennovating the 10 yr old back building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing