We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant Adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adventure Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Marais, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We know a good room when we see it, and the room at Adventure Inn was superb. We were in the newer addition and the room was large, airy, and clean, clean, clean. The bathroom was surprisingly large and the tile work was excellent. The owners are friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. since you both own a small Inn that is highly rated, I take great comfort in your review. Compliments are the reward for our efforts. We also value any critique as we are constantly looking for ways to improve. we are busy renovating a few more back building rooms, now have commercial WiFi, and the list continues. We pride ourselves on customer service and appreciate our guests comments. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    45
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
62
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Craig, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

The room was very clean and nice. The only problem I had was with the wi-fi. It was very weak when it did work and most of the time it did not. Other than that I would stay here again and recommend the hotel to anyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and concerns over WiFi. That is a huge challenge in Ely as our providers are limited and we do experience momentary black outs. That being said, we realize that we need to improve our service and are in the process of working with some professionals to improve our WiFi. Connecting to the internet has become vitally important to our guests and so we are in the process of addressing this issue. I do hope a return visit will be much improved with our connection. Thank you again. Sue Edgington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hibbing, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We came to Ely to attend a wedding. The front desk staff was pleasant and hospitable. Our room was comfortable with unique decor. The room was reasonably priced and we truly enjoyed our stay. We would highly recommend staying at the Adventure Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

It started out great-nice flowers and landscaping, outdoor seating, good rates, nice linens.Then we tried to sleep. We could hear conversations 2-3 or more doors away, water running, toilets flushing, all night long. Finally quieted down at about 4am, then started up again at about 5 when the fishing and hunting types started getting up to go fish or hunt. Seriously. It quieted down at about 6:30 - the place had cleared out by then. When we checked out, they didn't ask how every thing was or any of that normal stuff customer service stuff. Weird.

Room Tip: Dont stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I was sad to hear that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. We have someone at the desk 24 hrs and if there is a disturbance of any sort we do try hard to quiet the noise. We have had a series of weddings on weekends and the returning guests will be back in the rooms later at night. However, to have noise until 4 is rare. We do have some guests that check out early but we have never had the entire Inn checked out by 6:30. I am sorry however that you were not asked how your stay was. Most guests are asked how their stay was. We do take each review seriously and have been trying to figure why you experienced so much noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul, mn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent four nights in Ely, staying at Adventure Inn. What a great place! Beautiful flowers,
super clean rooms, nicely decorated, comfortable beds and not a bad price. The staff were
so nice, gave great directions and always asked if we needed anything. We stayed in room 22, upstairs room, we could hear people talking on the ground level rooms, but it was all part of
the experience. Nice to be on second floor, we felt comfortable with open windows. Not far from
the shops and sights in Ely. We would stay there again next trip.
Thank you, Adventure Inn, we appreciate it!!!

Room Tip: Make a list of wants and dont wants, ask when booking. room 22 had three beds, was on 2nd floor. no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here just one night for our visit to Ely. We stayed on the 2nd floor 201. The room was clean and looked like it has been remodeled. Big TV and lots of room to lay out my travel yoga mat for my morning dvd workout which was nice. We didn't hear any road noise considering how close to the road it is. Great Coffee too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Came off the trail early due to poor weather and no campsites. Choose the inn based on curb appeal. Quiet even though the inn is on the main drag in town. Had a nice cup of local roast coffee while watching the world go by from a small patio garden tucked in between the lot and the building.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed our gardens and coffee. Yes! we have guests who stay with us in part because we offer some of the finest coffee out there. And, the coffee originates here in Ely. Happy you were able to enjoy the rest of your trip in spite (or because) of the weather.

Sue and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ely
0.1 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
9.5 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
14.1 mi away
Junction Inn Suites & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 34 in Ely
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.9 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#2 of 3 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Property: Adventure Inn
Address: 1145 E Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731-1746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adventure Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure Inn is an earth-friendly, sustainable motel that is dedicated to reducing their energy foot print while providing comfort to their guests. A family run motel. We now have a brand new energy efficient solar thermal building with earthy comfort in mind. Quiet, comfortable with platform beds, hand made furniture,down blankets and pillows. We also have 2 brand new jacuzzi suites. The old economy building no longer exists and we are in the process of rennovating the 10 yr old back building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing