We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value and comfortable”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Very comfortable and good value for money. Good beds in good size rooms with interior corridor. Owners were incredibly helpful, kind and knowledegable about the area. Coffee and some breakfast items were available every day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    45
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
62
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for three nights while seeing the area. Adventure Inn is a good value. The coffee and scones in the morning were delicious, and the owners are friendly. The king-sized bed was comfortable. The flowers hanging in baskets and planted in front of the porch provide a pleasant place to sit outdoors in the evening. Here are my only complaints: The TV in our room was small, maybe a 20-inch screen, and there was no place to sit other than the bed or two unupholstered pine chairs. Also, there was no lamp for reading other than one small bedside lamp. The lighting over the sink was not really sufficient for applying makeup in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaWins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and helpful suggestions. Our goal this coming winter is to renovate more rooms in the back building, which is where you stayed. We have just replaced some mattresses with new ones and our plans are to upgrade the flatscreen TV's to larger ones. 6yrs ago, when we replaced the bulky older TV's with flat screens the cost of a 20" back then is what a 36-42" costs now. We also want to replace the furnishings and improve what space we do have to make room for more comfortable chairs. We are constantly improving and value any suggestion to improve the quality of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipestone, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while exploring the Ely area in Aug. It is very conveniently located on the main drag in Ely, with a grocery and Red Cabin custard right across the street. The hotel staff was very friendly and the room was great. The beds are super comfy, the room decor was very nice, and had a large bathroom. They also had very good internet service, which was hard to find on our entire vacation. I also liked the fact that they are promoting "green" practices. I don't give out 5 stars often, but our experience here deserved all 5. It is a very good value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TetonLover35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at the Adventure Inn August 5 thru 10 and found the accomodations to be very good. Sue, Mark, Sasha, and Andre do a great job of making everyone feel comfortable, as well as providing answers to the multitude of questions asked by patrons. The coffee and tea in the morning along with scones and pastries are better than most. There were two of us and our room was very accomodating as was the service to the room. Thank you so much for our great stay at the Adventure Inn and Ely, MN. I love that you are a green establishment. I especially enjoyed your kindness during our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 205 and found it very accomodating for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you Barbara for your kind words. You and Shirley were so much fun to have as you shared your explorations with us. And many, many thanks for the donation of that wonderful road atlas of Minnesota. It has been used extensively. How thoughtful. I think we attract some of the nicest people who visit Ely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We chose this hotel by how others rated it, and it didn't disappoint. From our first call to Louise at the front desk, to check out, the hotel operators couldn't have been nlicer. We stayed in the new building, which was built to be environmentally efficient. The rooms were quiet, and although somewhat spartan, had everything we needed. Coffee and pastry is served in the lobby each morning, and there are chairs outside to sit and relax. At abouit $95 per room, we thought it was a good value.

Room Tip: Guests have a choice betwen the older building and the new one. We chose the new one, so can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidNancyJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Ely is a great place for a relaxing, fun, educational and exciting place to go - water, hiking, forest, wild animals. The North American Bear Center was a highlight for me. Ted, Honey & Lucky are amazing to watch. But for a place to stay, the Adventure Inn is the best. It's centrally located, reasonable, clean, VERY friendly. Sue and the rest of the people who work there are just like family. The beds are some of the most comfortable I've slept on - as good as my mattress at home, if not better!!! Love this place, love the town!! Oh, do not forget the Custard Shop across the street! you will never want plain ice cream again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here one night. Rooms were simple but very nice. Coffee and fresh baked scones in the morning were a really nice touch. Host was pleasant and very helpful. Convenient location in Ely. Pretty much everything is in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevelertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
0.9 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#2 of 3 in Ely
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
5.2 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
9.7 mi away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 34 in Ely
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Property: Adventure Inn
Address: 1145 E Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731-1746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adventure Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure Inn is an earth-friendly, sustainable motel that is dedicated to reducing their energy foot print while providing comfort to their guests. A family run motel. We now have a brand new energy efficient solar thermal building with earthy comfort in mind. Quiet, comfortable with platform beds, hand made furniture,down blankets and pillows. We also have 2 brand new jacuzzi suites. The old economy building no longer exists and we are in the process of rennovating the 10 yr old back building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing