We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean, friendly and value for money.”
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adventure Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Adventure Inn is family owned hotel a short walk from the centre of Ely. Parking was easy and the reception staff helpful. My room was large with a comfortable bed, big TV and nice bathroom. Everything was clean. The owner Sue was really helpful with advice about town and was a very genuine person. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fulbright12Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 191 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2012

We were looking for an inexpensive but comfortable place to stay within walking distance of restaurants and shops. We found all of that in the new section of the Adventure Inn. The room had a microwave and small fridge which were nice touches. The bed was comfortable enough and the room clean enough. Fresh morning coffee and pastries served in the lobby were good. The downside to our stay was the thin walls. We could hear every sneeze, cough, and other "lifestyle" sound from the room next door. Definitely could have done without that!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueedgington, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

I am sorry that you had a noisy weekend. Unfortunately, we had a Hockey Tournament in Ely that weekend and they were very noisy, loud guests. I had tried to put them in rooms in the back building and keep the group together, but a few did spill into the new building. Upon check in, they were all given notice about quiet time and that we are a family run Inn.
I am sorry they disturbed your peace. The new building's walls have been designed to keep noise at a minimum. this is the first time I have heard of a problem with sound traveling in our new building, so I must
take responsibility for allowing the team to stay near your room. We try hard to make sure each guest has a comfortable stay, and we do pride ourselves on our customer service and our sustainable practices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Having stayed in many of the hotels in Ely Minnesota, Adventure Inn is one of the best. With ample parking, very clean rooms, fresh coffee and scones ( best I have had) or apple turnovers this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wizard113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Very clean, good location, owners are very involved and accommodating - and we appreciate their commitment to be "green" as well. We hope to stay there each year on our annual visits to Ely!

Room Tip: New building if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmcilvenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying for 3 nights at The Adventure Inn recently on either side of our BWCA trip. We found the inn to be very clean and well-taken care of. It's true charm emerges when you've been there a few hours, and discover that it produces its own hot water (solar), was built using sustainable materials, low VOC paints, recycled wooden furniture, and is stocked with organic cotton sheets and down comforters. Most importantly, it is run by people who truly care about the environment and the health of their guests. I've never met friendlier people anywhere. Mark and Sue and their employees went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to help us in any way they could. It was a true delight to stay at an inn run by people who share our love of nature and its stewardship.

Room Tip: There are two parts to the inn: an older, refurbished part that has its charms, and a new, green bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mothduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

In the process of building our cabin we stayed he for the better part of 6 months and had a worker here for all of that time. Stayed in every room and all are clean, comfortable, some are a little loud but it also matters whos is next store. Nice place year round.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skidoo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed in the new part of the hotel. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They let us dry our clothes that got wet on a boat trip in their dryer. It is on the main drag of town so it can be a little noisy

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LibLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
0.9 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#2 of 2 in Ely
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
9.5 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
4.3 mi away
Silver Rapids Lodge
Silver Rapids Lodge
#31 of 34 in Ely
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: 1145 E Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731-1746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Price Range: $95 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adventure Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure Inn is an earth-friendly, sustainable motel that is dedicated to reducing their energy foot print while providing comfort to their guests. A family run motel. We now have a brand new energy efficient solar thermal building with earthy comfort in mind. Quiet, comfortable with platform beds, hand made furniture,down blankets and pillows. We also have 2 brand new jacuzzi suites. The old economy building no longer exists and we are in the process of rennovating the 10 yr old back building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing