We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we didn't know we needed!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Ely B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
“Everything we didn't know we needed!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was one of the most relaxing get-a-ways we have ever been on! We had never stayed at a b&b before so we were a little unsure of what we were getting into. We knew we needed a dog friendly place to bring our sled dogs and indoor dogs while we were in town for a race. Dawn and Mark were the most accommodating (not to mention friendly) hosts! It was like staying at a close friend's home (with a 5 star breakfast each morning).

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RattyRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
41
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, MN
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Blue Heron is about a 20-minute drive from town and worth every mile. Located in a quiet and beautiful area. At night when I stood on the porch outside my bedroom it was the deafening silence one reads about but rarely experiences. It was so dark every star was visible.

Dawn and Mark are welcoming, friendly, so gracious; wonderful hosts who clearly love people. My room was large and warm and the bed comfortable. The open areas are nicely appointed and the wood stove kept everything perfectly warm, important in -15 degree evenings. Coffee and tea always available. My trip to Ely was specifically for snowshoeing lessons and Dawn and Mark went the extra mile to connect me with an outfitter in town. I asked for an oatmeal breakfast on my snowshoe day and it was the best oatmeal ever. Second day breakfast was an excellent fancy French toast.

They have snowshoes available and there's a lot of land around the B&B for a winter adventure. All round terrific place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a wonderfully relaxing weekend at the Blue Heron B&B. Dawn and Mark foster a warm, casual and friendly vibe with their inn and its guests. We skied, hiked and shoe-shoed into the BWCAW from the inn and relaxed in their sauna at the end of the day. Dawn's breakfasts are delicious!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

It was dark and cold, and the snow crunched under our tires as we drove down the long lane towards Blue Heron. We had never stayed at a B&B before, and being the introverts we are, one has to wonder why we did. Then the porch lights came on, and Mark and Dawn welcomed us into the warmth of the wood fire and an adventure we never anticipated.
The next four days were idyllic. We awoke in the night to the Northern skies ablaze with constellations and utter silence. We awoke in the morning to hot coffee and gourmet wonderful ness. We had the additional blessing of another couple who were staying, and one would think we had planned it - kindred spirits indeed.
We spent our time reading, snowshoeing across the lake, dogsledding, exploring bookshops and art galleries, and building a 69' snow dragon. The steamy sauna revived our chilled selves, and there was always warm drinks and good company.
Thoughts of the north, and the fire and friends that await us, are like a compass point- we will return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medievalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed between Christmas and New Year's 2013 for three nights with a day of dogsledding. The atmosphere of this bed and breakfast was, simply put, comfortable and cozy. The new proprietors, Dawn and Mark, are more than accommodating and provided graciously for our every need. It was negative 35 on two consecutive nights and Mark worked tirelessly to help get our car started. Dawn is a great cook and the breakfasts were delicious and filling. Further, with the frigid temps, Dawn offered all the guests homemade chili and biscuits so we could avoid facing the cold driving to town for dinner (this was provided at no extra charge). We so enjoyed our stay in this beautiful atmosphere we look forward to returning again for another dogsled trip in the beautiful BWCA and to enjoy the sincere and warm hospitality of Dawn and Mark.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Jo and her staff are friendly, genuine folk who love the BWCAW and all it holds. If you want to experience the wilderness, yet return to a sauna, real bed, stoked woodburning stove, and awaken to amazing gourmet breakfasts, all with warm hospitality, then this is the place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oleswen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akeley, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast in Ely, MN. This is a great opportunity to visit the boundary waters! We were looking for an opportunity to relax. This far exceeded our expectations. We canoed on Farm Lake, took in some kyaking and enjoyed smores around the campfire. We took a sauna in the evening for total relaxation. We are so grateful for the wonderful guests that we met. I would recommend the Blue Heron to anyone seeking a restful, scenic, and adventurous vacation!

Green Features: Life does not get anymore environmentally friendly than the boundary waters!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
7.4 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
376 reviews
1.5 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
7.6 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#2 of 3 in Ely
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
6.7 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 8 in Ely
182 reviews
13.5 mi away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 35 in Ely
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Bed & Breakfast

Property: Blue Heron Bed & Breakfast
Address: 827 Kawishiwi Trl, Ely, MN 55731-8270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 room Bed and Breakfast, that sits on the edge of the BWCA Wilderness. We are located on Farm Lake with South Farm Lake {which is in the Boundary Waters} just around the corner. We have canoes and kayaks for our guest to use along with a wood burning sauna. We are 7 miles from Ely,Mn. We have a lot of species of birds, deer,ducks, geese, Loons, Fox and an occasional bear. We offer a full "Country Style" Breakfast and lunches upon request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing