We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Ely B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Elk River, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed between Christmas and New Year's 2013 for three nights with a day of dogsledding. The atmosphere of this bed and breakfast was, simply put, comfortable and cozy. The new proprietors, Dawn and Mark, are more than accommodating and provided graciously for our every need. It was negative 35 on two consecutive nights and Mark worked tirelessly to help get our car started. Dawn is a great cook and the breakfasts were delicious and filling. Further, with the frigid temps, Dawn offered all the guests homemade chili and biscuits so we could avoid facing the cold driving to town for dinner (this was provided at no extra charge). We so enjoyed our stay in this beautiful atmosphere we look forward to returning again for another dogsled trip in the beautiful BWCA and to enjoy the sincere and warm hospitality of Dawn and Mark.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
41
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manitou Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Jo and her staff are friendly, genuine folk who love the BWCAW and all it holds. If you want to experience the wilderness, yet return to a sauna, real bed, stoked woodburning stove, and awaken to amazing gourmet breakfasts, all with warm hospitality, then this is the place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oleswen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akeley, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast in Ely, MN. This is a great opportunity to visit the boundary waters! We were looking for an opportunity to relax. This far exceeded our expectations. We canoed on Farm Lake, took in some kyaking and enjoyed smores around the campfire. We took a sauna in the evening for total relaxation. We are so grateful for the wonderful guests that we met. I would recommend the Blue Heron to anyone seeking a restful, scenic, and adventurous vacation!

Green Features: Life does not get anymore environmentally friendly than the boundary waters!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I recenlty had a week or so in Minnesota wildlife watching and spent a couple of nights at the Blue Heron. My room was compact but comfortable and the bed was excellent. I liked very much the balcony and the views from the deck, it was really peaceful. Breakfasts were great, although I do resent slightly having to share tables and make small talk with fellow residents...it can be fun, or it can be a real trial. Food was terrific though!

The owners were very pleasant and helpful. There are quite a few notes around the place telling you to do this or that, or giving advice on some thing...not a problem but a bit eccentric!
Still I had a great stay and would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljacks67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

When we travel, we often stay at B&B's and there is no better B&B than The Blue Heron! Jo, Bill and their staff are wonderful! The Blue Heron is located at the edge of the Boundary Waters, providing magnificent views of the lake and lots of quiet solitude. However, it is close enough to easily visit the restaurants and museums of Ely. Jo and Bill have thought of and provided details that make the Blue Heron exceptional. For example, enjoying the lake is easy as canoes and all the accessories are available free of charge. And breakfast each day is fabulous - homemade almond cream scones, gingerbread pancakes, fritattas, fresh fruit, etc. We plan on returning and highly recommend this wonderful place!

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandia, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We just returned from a two night stay at Blue Heron. The experience was excellent in all regards: nice woodsy ambiance, gracious hosts, wonderful breakfasts, great bed. It is located on the quiet end of lovely lake where we enjoyed a morning of canoeing (canoe, paddles and life-vests provided free of charge by the Blue Heron). It is about a 10 minute drive into the town of Ely and its several excellent restaurants. We have stayed at many b & b's over the years and this is one of the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanRuth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Gained weight, slept like a log, relaxed in a fine sauna and visited the local wolf and bear wildlife museums. Could not have had a better time at any of the destinations...especially the breakfast table and comfortable bed. Jo and Bill are exceptional hosts. Probably the best B&B experience my wife and I have had in our many adventures. Thanks for your hospitality.

Room Tip: All good but the corner window views are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oo7Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
7.4 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
377 reviews
1.5 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
7.6 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#2 of 3 in Ely
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
6.7 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 8 in Ely
182 reviews
13.3 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Bed & Breakfast

Property: Blue Heron Bed & Breakfast
Address: 827 Kawishiwi Trl, Ely, MN 55731-8270
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 5 room Bed and Breakfast, that sits on the edge of the BWCA Wilderness. We are located on Farm Lake with South Farm Lake {which is in the Boundary Waters} just around the corner. We have canoes and kayaks for our guest to use along with a wood burning sauna. We are 7 miles from Ely,Mn. We have a lot of species of birds, deer,ducks, geese, Loons, Fox and an occasional bear. We offer a full "Country Style" Breakfast and lunches upon request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing