We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place with wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Rapids Lodge
Ranked #30 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Reviewed January 13, 2010

My wife and I have visited the Ely area many times, staying at a small resort. We've always enjoyed the beauty, serenity, great fishing, and friendly people.

This year we decided it might be fun to visit Ely in the dead of winter since neither of us had ever been there during the cold months.

Along with another couple, we decided to peruse the internet for a suitable resort in which to spend New Years eve and a couple extra days. (Our summertime resort is closed during the winter season.) Now those of you that do extensive traveling and book accomodations via the internet, are aware that the exercise can be rather daunting. You can't ever be sure if what you see, is necessarily what you'll get! We've had good, and not so good, experiences.

We decided on the Silver Rapids Lodge located just to the east of the City of Ely. We called the lodge to find out if there would be a New Years eve celebration, dinner, or dance. They indicated that yes, they were having dinner and a dance in the lodge that evening. That sounded great to us as there would be no driving involved that night. So, we booked cabin number six (Teepee) for Dec 31, Jan 1 and 2.

We arrived in Ely on the 31st much earlier than we had anticipated. We thought the roads might be bad and extra time would be needed. Such was not the case. So, we called the lodge and asked if it would be possible for us to have early check-in. They were extremely accomodating on the phone and said they would change their schedule so our cabin would be ready. We were impressed by that. We checked in and were greeted by a friendly and competent staff member who told us about all the activities that evening and other things we needed to know regarding our cabin.

Now I do need to mention that we picked a heck of a cold time period. The temperatures at night plummeted to the 30 below 0 range. But, being hardy Minnesotan's we knew it would be cold and had a van full of cold weather gear including snowshoes.

Our cabin was clean, warm, and perfect for the four of us. We kept the fireplace going and were never cold, even in those bitter temperatures. (There was regular, hot water heat as well.) The wood box on the deck was kept full for us. The cabin has a beautiful loft and a cozy bedroom. The kitchen has everything you would need. And....importantly the bathroom had copious amounts of hot water for showers! There's also a large sauna adjoining the lodge.

On New Years eve we had a great dinner in the lodge followed by dancing and a balloon and confetti drop complete with champagne at Midnight. It was great fun.

The next couple of days were spent tromping around on White Iron Lake and just generally enjoying the gorgeous surroundings. You will never see whiter snow or a more beautiful winter scene. It looked like a picture adorning the front of a postcard or travel brochure.

On Saturday night we enjoyed steak and lobster cooked on a lodge provided grill in front of our cabin. Awesome.

Needless to say, we were totally happy with our stay at the Silver Rapids Lodge and would highly recommend it. You won't find a more helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doinwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 108 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2009

My husband and I were married in Ely over Labor Day weekend 2009. We had our rehearsal dinner out at the Silver Rapids Lodge and it was wonderful! The dinner took place in the upstairs loft. It's the perfect spot for entertaining a large group (up to 40 people). It's open and airy and has a nice view of White Iron Lake. The staff was so nice and friendly and flexible -- very easy to work with. I really feel like they went out of their way to make the night perfect for us (they even had a big congratulations sign printed with our names on it - a cool touch). And most importantly, the food was FABULOUS! We served walleye for the meal and they totally accomodated our requests for deep-fried, pan-friend or baked. And the walleye filets were huge! Everyone was raving about the food. In fact, we even had a few people that went back to the Silver Rapids Lodge that weekend for because they wanted to have the walleye again! Some guests had the Fettuccine Alfredo and that was delicious too. I would totally recommend the Silver Rapids Lodge as a place to dine. We had gone there several times beforehand to eat, just to make sure the food was good and our food was always great! The bar is cute and rustic...totally "up north". Our wedding coordinator told us that the place has really come around recently. She said a few years ago, nobody would have had a grooms dinner out there and now it's changed and she has a lot of couples having their rehearsal dinners out there. We loved it and are planning to go back there the next time we are in Ely!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richfield_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We woke up on Sunday morning and our camper's leafspring was broken so I talked to the owner of the campground and he said he would find someone to fix it. When he could not find anyone to fix it he decide he would try fixing it himself. He did a great job and we were able to make it home. Besides the helpful employees this campground also offered us a beautiful view and a clean camp site. The seasonal campers that we talked to were friendly and said the fishing was good. Overall this was a great camping get away.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeSaintCloudMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

It was more like a parking lot then a campground! Where our picnic table was we could reach the camper on the other side of us! We had to move our fire pit to the road b/c there was no room to have a fire unless we wanted to burn our canopy, which we could not extend all the way because of a tree in the middle on our 10x10 campsite...We stayed here Labor Day weekend and on Monday when everyone was trying to leave we had to wait our turn to get out of our site until the campers in front of us got out of the way b/c there was no room for more then one vechile on the road at the same time!

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
Thank 2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We recently had a 260 person wedding at Silver Rapids Lodge and WOW!~ It was amazing! Our guests traveled from all over Minnesota and we even had guests travel from Idaho, Rhode Island, North Dakota, Nebraska and Wisconsin! They loved their accomodations. The accomodations came in various types, we had guests stay in RV's, Motels, and Cabins. How awesome is that? Silver Rapids Lodge is a beautiful resort in northern Minnesota. ~The resort is a country rustic with basic amenities. We stayed in the Loon's Nest a quaint cabin that was absolutley perfect. The cabin had a full kitchen which included all the dishes, pots, pans, silverware, serving bowls etc that a family would need for a week or weekend away. We were only there for 3 days, but we put on a BBQ the night before the wedding outside our cabin. We used all the kitchen stuff for our BBQ ~ It was great. Our guests reserved most of the Lodge and they all had the same kind of set up. The cabins could sleep few to many; so families stayed together, friends stayed together. Plus, the view from anywhere at the resort was spectacular. What a great time!!!!! We have friends and family that are already planning their trip back and would like to make it an annual thing. That is super exciting for all of us. How fun!

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikulich091209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed in the "motel" section. Probably new in the 1960s and patched over since then. Door lock really didn't work, mattresses were 20+ years old, saggy, with springs poking you. Mold in the bathroom. Last straw was the deer tick found on our son. We weren't in the woods yet! If it had been $80/night it would have been too much, but for the price we paid you could have stayed at a REAL resort.

I will not recommend this hotel and will tell everyone I know to stay away!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Dirty, Dirty, Dirty, old, rundown, not cheap, $ 250.00 per night, cabin # 6, Teepee. The whole place was filthy, floors, windows, kitchen, out-dated fire ext. not checked for years according to inspection tag. The bathroom was not clean, urine dried and brown on floor around toilet, dirty grill, dirty stove, fan, etc....bed not made well, clock with no hands over dirty fireplace. Old, dirty, worn, burned carpet in living room. Everything was bad, no ice, no ice trays, no towels, no working t.v. old 13 inch Montgomery Wards non working set. The firepit was CLOSE to the cabin, firewood was provided. No soap, shampoo, etc. The whole resort looked run-down, boats were even dirty and not kept up. The staff was not friendly, do not go here!! Stay in another place, not here!! Beware of their web-site, they make things sound nice, it is not true!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sketa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
1.3 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
5.2 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#2 of 2 in Ely
52 reviews
4.3 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
395 reviews
4.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 8 in Ely
190 reviews
12 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Rapids Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Rapids Lodge

Address: 459 Kawishiwi Trl, Ely, MN 55731-8194
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Price Range: $64 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver Rapids Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Silver Rapids Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Rapids Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing