We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Timber Wolf Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Adventure Inn(Ely)(Great Value!)
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Ely Lodge(Ely)(Great Value!)
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Ely Budget Host(Ely)(Great Value!)
$95
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Giant's Ridge(Biwabik)(Great Value!)
$139
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
202
18
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
202
18
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssleep numberbear island lakesunset cruisewater trampolineget awaypaddle boardsfamily reunionneeded anythingnext yearlook forwardcomfortable sleepnumber bedsbon firefree woodfishnorth woodsweather was great
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 226 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Timber Wolf Lodge is an amazing place to go for a vacation if you are looking to do anything from having relaxing days on the lake to hiking to local waterfalls! We caught walleye when I went out fishing with my brothers and cousins. Recommend the Chocolate Moose for breakfast or lunch. Solid food choice. Went to the Bear Center - definitely recommend that. And the photo gallery on Main Street was great (Brandenberg?).

Room Tip: The Sleep Number Beds were great!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timber Wolf L, Manager at Timber Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Logan Y -

It is always great to hear from our guests and we're so glad that you enjoyed your time with us! Those waterfall tours are really popular and it just makes Ely a little more accessible to folks that aren't familiar with the area. Thanks for the compliment on the Sleep Number Beds too. We're so glad to work in partnership with that company and to offer that unique sleep experience. We welcome you back soon. The fishing opener is MAY 10TH!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My first visit to Timber Wolf Lodge this summer was with my husband and daughter. We had a wonderful time. It was so much fun I asked a few of my friends to join me for a late summer getaway. Needless to say we had a blast! Nothing but peace and quiet, sharing memories, reading and basking in the sun. Our cabin was so beautiful, every amenity we needed was furnished including kayaks and nature walks with Andrea! The staff checked on us everyday just to say hello and to see if we needed anything. Several of us visited the Wolf Center which was amazing and great for the photographer in our group. I would highly recommend this resort for families, fishing, girl friends, couples, nature seekers, bird watchers and water lovers. We can't wait for next summer:)

Room Tip: There are many cabin choices so you wont be disappointed. We have stayed in the lakefront cabins and the lakeview cabins. We loved them both!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timber Wolf L, Owner at Timber Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Karen -

From all of us at TWL thank you for your kind review and for joining us once again. Whenever our guests return to Timber Wolf Lodge it helps us to know that we are doing something right. Ely, MN is a special place - one that should be on everyone's Bucket List. Come see us again in 2014 and keep your eye on our website for deals and specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I could see Timber Wolf Lodge being a great spot for really anyone. The cabins are rustic, spacious, and also incredibly functional. We also loved the fact that there was a nice deck and fire pit for the evenings. A great bonus is also the ability to rent boats and kayaks! Look forward to going back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timber Wolf L, Owner at Timber Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Kyle F - we're so glad that you were able to join us for your getaway! Thanks for noticing the upgrades to our cabins and furniture. And we're glad to know that you enjoyed our docks, fire pits as well as your time on the waters here at Bear Island Lake.

Come see us again in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I decided to forgo the usual coastal vacation or overseas cultural experience to take in a wholesome taste of the good old outdoors. Timber Wolf Lodge was an absolute slice of heaven and just what we needed to recharge and restore ourselves after a stressful year. For us, Timber Wolf had all the comfort of home with the awe inspiring beauty of nature right outside our front door. So much to do from hiking to boating to lounging, or just taking in the peace and serenity of the beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Our stay at Timber Wolf was one of the few vacations where we returned home feeling more rested and younger than before we left for vacation. Definitely the best VALUE vacation we have ever had as well. We plan on returning with friends next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timber Wolf L, Owner at Timber Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Mark B - thank you for your kind words. It's funny --- you are the second reviewer that has contrasted their vacation to exotic locations with a simpler one to the north woods. We're so glad that your experience here provided you with the type of peace that produces restoration. TWL is that kind of place. We are also glad to know that you took advantage of our many activities. We hope to see you and your family again at Timber Wolf Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My friend and I needed a get away from the city and went for just the weekend and had a wonderful experience.


We arrived to a beautiful cabin and the staff was always available and very friendly.

The location in Ely is stunning, right on the lake with access to a pontoon, kayaks and canoes. Also close access to trails that lead to beautiful waterfalls, easy hike to a great view.
Close enough to town to see art galleries, ice cream parlors, bars and fun shops.

Overall a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timber Wolf L, Owner at Timber Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Elizabeth B - Thank you for selecting us for your weekend getaway - and for sharing the great pictures here too. Thanks for your compliment on our cabins, property and staff! We're also so glad that you were able to visit our little town of Ely, MN and take in all of the great options there for restaurants, shopping and the like! We hope to see you again in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews