We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of paradise”
Review of Timber Wolf Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timber Wolf Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Timber Wolf Lodge is truly a paradise! We have spent 8 summers at TWL and every year that we return for our vacation, it is better than the previous one! The beach is private with a bouncer for the kids to enjoy. Almost every day, you watch an eagle family fly over as you lounged at the beach.The fishing on Bear Island Lake is always entertaining. Loons serenaded you at night while you slept. The TWL staff were very friendly and helpful and customer focussed. We can't wait to return next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timber Wolf L, Owner at Timber Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Kim G - well as you know it is truly a pleasure to host your family each summer as well! Thank you for being a part of what makes TWL great - a gathering spot that folks can call their northern home for a weekend or an entire summer. Thanks for mentioning our very active bald eagles and loons.... they are a special part of the TWL experience! And thank you for your shout out to the TWL staff. They work hard to make sure that our guests and grounds are well taken care of. We look forward to seeing you and your crew lakeside in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 223 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Choosing our favorite cabin for housing our adult kids and grandkids has made coming together hassle free. The clean, modern, well furnished cabins feel like home away from home, yet with the serene views of the lake and woods supplying the reprieve we all look forward to having from an up north getaway. The staff are always helpful and readily available. Timber Wolf Lodge is conveniently located , so we are able to pick up any supplies within a short distance from the resort, then return to the peaceful location one expects to find from a vacation in northern MN. Even rainy days never seem to dampen our plans for family enjoyment. Nearby Ely is well supplied with information, shopping, eating and centers for fun and education. The well groomed beach area is a favorite spot for all family members to either enjoy a swim in the clear water or head out on the various water crafts avaible. Always look forward to the family gathering each year now, since so many are from out of town. All the work is done for us; all that's left is to have fun.

Room Tip: cabins overlooking lake are pretty special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timber Wolf L, Owner at Timber Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Claudia B - we are so pleased that we were able to host your family reunion and that our staff and accommodations made your time here great! Yes it is great to have groceries and other needs nearby. We're blessed with those conveniences. And we're blessed to have Ely nearby too. The parks, shops, restaurants, galleries and just the uniqueness of the town is a real benefit both to TWL and to our guests! Many of our family reunion reviewers have mentioned our beach as a great gathering spot for all generations from the youngest in the family to the oldest. We're glad we were able to offer you the combination of comfort and nature! That's what we do here! We look forward to seeing you in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

After 4 years away from our annual summer vacation. We returned again this year to Timber Wolf Lodge. We found updated cabins with new beds and new furniture.

A big "thank you" to Chad, Angela and Kate who made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. They were terrific hosts and and a great part of the TWL team!!

Room Tip: Cabin 9 is probably the best two room cabin on the lake and a sunroom has been added since we were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim and Vickie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timber Wolf L, Owner at Timber Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

WELCOME BACK JIM & VICKIE - and thank you for taking the time to tell you story and for sharing your kind words about Chad, Angela and Kate! I'm really glad that you enjoyed the updates to the cabins and furnishings. Every year we will keep the improvements coming.

We hope to see you again in 2014! Again - thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was pleased to join family last July at Timber Wolf Lodge.
As the most senior of the group it was such a pleasure to relax and watch children, grandchildren, nephews and even great nephews participating in all the activities at the Lodge. I relaxed on very nice lawn chairs by the lake and watched the children fish, swim and jump off of the trampoline.
One grandchild took me around the island in a canoe and I even helped paddle. The wooded area around the lake was so peaceful and inviting for hiking, we saw beautiful birds while canoeing around the lake.
The cabins were very clean and well supplied. Meals were easily prepared with so many dishes and cooking utensils. The coffee provided at the cabin was just perfect for waking up and enjoying on the patio while taking in the peacefulness of the woods. We did go into the town of Ely to enjoy nice restaurants and shopping. Ely is a nice little vacation town and we were impressed with the friendly local people.
I live in Houston where July is extremely hot so I really enjoyed the cooler than Texas evenings. Timber Wolf Lodge will be a wonderful memory for me and I will encourage my Texas friends to visit and play, fish, and just relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timber Wolf L, Owner at Timber Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

How great Carol! And thanks for traveling all the way from Texas to join us this summer! It is reviews like this that bring an extra bounce to our step here - knowing that our hard work and reinvestments into the cabins, furnishings and décor at Timber Wolf Lodge are being noticed and appreciated by guest like you!

It sounds like your family of all ages really relished your time here. What great news! And thank you for continuing the tradition of your family get together. I'm sure from the youngest to the oldest will love the memories, photos and the like for years to come.

We also love to hear when that our guests made at least one trip into Ely. Our little town seems to add new restaurants, shops and destinations each year. I recently took some RV guests up to Taste of Ely and enjoyed a good meal and their outdoor patio concert. Just a great way to enjoy the summertime!

Come back and enjoy us sometime. Try to stay cool in Houston in the meantime! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Spent a long weekend here for a family vacation. The cabin we stayed in did not feel like most cabins it was much more. They were spacious, clean, comfortable, and had nice amenities. I slept like a baby on the sleep number beds and enjoyed sitting by the lake each morning sipping a hot cup of coffee from the Keurig. Location is close enough to Ely, but not too close. Great location for all sorts of outdoor activities. Kayaking was so peaceful up there, fishing was good. Will definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timber Wolf L, Owner at Timber Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

We are so glad that your cabin was more than expected and that you enjoyed our new Sleep Number Beds and your morning coffee with our Keurig coffee makers. That's one of my favorite things too - that first cup of coffee on the deck overlooking bear Island Lake! Its just great!

I'm glad that you enjoyed your kayak adventures and the peaceful surroundings. Please come see us again!

The owners, managers and staff at Timber Wolf Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had a fantastic weekend trip up to Timber Wolf Lodge in Ely and can guarantee that it will now be my go-to north woods vacation spot for many years to come. As a native Minnesotan I have come to be familiar with many of the beautiful locales in this great state, and Timber Wolf Lodge has now provided me with a new spot to have a fun and relaxing time in a place of absolute serenity. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, always happy to offer a hand or some interesting information about nature and the wildlife on the lake. The lake itself is amazing with plenty of room for any water activities such as canoeing, tubing, or kayaking and also has some great fishing hot spots. Bear Island on the lake houses at least 8 pairs of nesting bald eagles, and it is not uncommon to see the eagles over the lake. The cabins were extremely cozy and felt just like home. They were clean, well furnished and provided an authentic yet very comfortable cabin experience. Overall, my time at Timber Wold Lodge was amazing and I will be recommending it to all of my friends for their next vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timber Wolf L, Owner at Timber Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dave S - Yes it was great hosting you and your college buddies for your summer trip up north. We enjoyed our trek with you to Kawishiwi Falls and the cliff jumping here at Bear Island Lake! Thanks for noticing the attentiveness of our staff. Getting applause from our guests here on Trip Advisor really makes our staff feel proud of the work we do here.

Thanks also for your kind note on your cabin. Yes Cabin 2 is a great lakeside retreat and always gets high marks from our guests. And you're right - our families of Bald Eagles have been very active on the lake.... quite a sight!

We hope to see you again next year at Timber Wolf Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

As a "pre-kids" couple we used to canoe into the BWCA and loved it. Timber Wolf Lodge was a great way for us to continue giving ourselves PLUS our two little ones the experience of the Northwoods with lots of creature comforts. We still got the pristine lake, canoeing, fishing, campfires, hiking, sunsets -- all from a great home-base cabin, and with the bonus of helpful staff to lead us to the fishing spots. They had a great water trampoline that our 3 year old conquered, and he got in good canoe paddle practice for the future!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timber Wolf L, Owner at Timber Wolf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you Michelle F -

And thanks for the great picture of your son and his prize fish! That's great! Your perspective on Ely "pre-kids" versus after was really fascinating to us. The whole idea that for one generation to pass along this region to the next the families have to shift how they enjoy Ely and the BWCA. My kids are 3rd generation Ely and it is true that the way we enjoy it is different than 50 years ago. Yet it is interesting that from generation-to-generation we come away with old truths... a winding path, water, fishing, discovery, waterfalls... the way we take it all in... and what Ely does inside of us... is probably pretty similar to generations past. Let's keep sharing!

So thank you for your perspective and allowing us to give your young family the opportunity to experience Ely along with the family-friendly amenities that we offer. One of our joys is to be the little place in the woods where those experiences happen and where those memories are formed.

We hope to see you in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
10.1 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
398 reviews
12.3 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
9.7 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 8 in Ely
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
White Iron Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
9.7 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Wolf Lodge

Address: 9130 Escape Road, Ely, MN 55731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Price Range: $95 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1937 - this marks our 78th year of hosting family vacations on beautiful Bear Island Lake near Ely, MN. Our guests give us a Top 5 Ranking on Trip Advisor because they love 1) our Sleep Number Beds (we're the only area resort that has them); 2) our remodeled cabins; 3) our new furnishings including new mattresses, pillows and linens and 4) our quick-to-serve staff. Each week our staff will host a free guided tour of Kawishiwi Falls, one of the most majestic waterfalls in the region. Bring your camera and make lasting memories this summer. Your family will also enjoy our private sandy beach and new water trampoline. In addition to our fishing boats, our marina offers you a 19' Larson ski/tube boats and a Northwood's pontoon. Each of our cabins feature the new Keurig single-cup coffee brewers - enjoy a fresh brewed cup of coffee every morning compliments of us. There is just something about that first cup of Starbucks or Caribou coffee from your lakeside deck overlooking the tranquility of Bear Island Lake. Relax & de-stress. We offer 12 cabins that can sleep from 1 to 14 guests. Next door is our Good Sam Accredited RV Park with 23 sites. Our resort covers 75 acres of woods and rests along the shores of 2,362 acre Bear Island Lake. Timber Wolf Lodge is a very special place! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing