We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please DO NOT stay here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Ely Minnesota

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Super 8 Ely Minnesota
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ely
mn
1 review
“Please DO NOT stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

This was the most horrible hotel experience I have had any where in the world in my whole life. I argued with the owner for 20 minutes to get the rate I book, the hotel was a dump, the toilet seat was not even attached to the toilet. There are many other options in town and I'm sure they are all better than this!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lieslvontramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    46
    44
    17
    7
See reviews for
49
42
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
superior, wi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

This won't be a long review, as I would like to get right to the point. My girlfriend loves to swim and use the hot tub, so we chose the Super 8 because of the nice pictures and list of amenities. After checking in, and spending the night, she decided to visit the pool in the morning. She wandered around looking for it, and finally asked the desk clerk. He said "we had to many problems with it, so we just closed it to guests". So why advertise a pool and hot tub, if one isn't available? I believe it's false advertising, and the room price of $131 was WAY to expensive for absolutely nothing.

The advertised "Continental Breakfast" was a Nature Valley Granola Bar! No coffee, juice, danish, nothing!

There are plenty of hotels in Ely, MN. and far cheaper. The rooms are very clean, and taken care of, it's just if I would have known about the pool, hot tub and breakfast, I would have found a different hotel and saved a pile of money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shovelhed2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ely hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
N California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

I managed to find this place at the last minute on a peak season weekend in northern Minnesota. I appreciated the friendly staff and their small but carefully-tended garden with herbs, vegetables and flowers. Not many amenities, but very tidy and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arbornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2009

We have now stayed at this hotel around 2-3 times in the last year. The front desk staffs are very friendly and helpful. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area. The hotel is located a few minutes from the downtown, however they do not have a shuttle service but the young gentleman at the desk was kind enough to give us a ride after his shift. Check in was smooth and efficient. The lobby is spacious with a very nice little seating area. They have a continental breakfast nothing special just cereal, donuts, coffee etc. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable, bigger than any other Super 8 we’ve stayed at in the past. The beds and pillows are good, and the bathroom was definitely clean the way we all like, excellent over-sized showers too. The hotels free wireless internet WiFi is just the perfect choice for a leisure or business traveler.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hdbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

I stayed at the hotel for the weekend to get my daughter settled at the college in town. I brought along my other daughter for the trip, too. The price was reasonable. The place is clean and so was the room. The Wifi worked great. The breakfast included coffee, juice, cold cereal with milk, english muffins with jelly and an assortment of mini doughnuts, muffins, etc.. Some hot cereal choices and fresh fruit would have been nice.

The rooms are very big, at least ours was. Bigger than other Super 8's we've stayed at. We arrived on Friday for the weekend and I'm afraid the noise level was very high. I was awakened the first night at 4am by the neighbors on one side bumping the wall and moaning, while the neighbors on the other side sounded as though they were watching a football game yelling and laughing and jumping around. This is NOT a quiet place by any means. Also, our room was on the first floor which meant we heard every footstep above us. Don't come here for peace and quiet.

The staff seemed friendly and polite.

I don't know what it's like during the week, but the most complaints I had was the noise.

  • Liked — BIg room, location near the college
  • Disliked — Noise, noise, noise!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Eveelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed. The hotel is fairly clean and OK to sleep in at night. The price is right depending on when in the season you get there. The morning "breakfast" is coffee and a few other sparse offerings. The location is a little out of town but that's not a big deal if you drove there. Management was helpful with requests.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank outofcvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2007

Best deal in this area. Provides a clean, safe, comfortable, quiet place to sleep. Best hotel/motel in town. Interior corridors make it one of the quietest too - day or night. Not many vacation amenities, but that's for the town to provide and it does! - This is just a great palce to stay that will not eat up all of your vacation nestegg!

  • Liked — Price, internet, cleanliness and comfort of beds
  • Disliked — nothing...
  • Stayed January 2005, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bkay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ely
0.4 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
9.6 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
14.2 mi away
Junction Inn Suites & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 34 in Ely
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.2 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#2 of 3 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ely Minnesota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ely Minnesota

Property: Super 8 Ely Minnesota
Address: 1605 E Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731-1836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ely Minnesota 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Super 8 Ely
Super Eight Ely
Ely Super 8
Ely Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing