We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You would be missing out if you didn't stay at AStay Inn Ely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A Stay Inn Ely

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A Stay Inn Ely
Ranked #2 of 3 Ely B&B and Inns
Lindstrom, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You would be missing out if you didn't stay at AStay Inn Ely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend at A Stay Inn Ely in August 2010. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We rented out the Indigo Room and found it to be very unique. This room is at the top of the Inn in what some may consider the attic. The room had the angled ceiling of an attic. My husband and I admired the woodwork that lined the walls and ceiling and wondered how the owner, Don Bean, got the angles so perfect!

We found the room to be very clean and nicely furnished. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean as well. We enjoyed freshed baked goods from the Basketree just down the road. The scones are to die for.

The hotel would be a great place to have a family gathering. There is a spacious lounge and kitchen area for guests to gather in and the wrap around porch is a wonderful place to sit and relax and people watch. The owner's wife told me that several wedding parties had rented out the whole Inn for selected weekends in September so that the family coming in from out of town had a place to stay. What a great idea!

The Inn is very close to many shops and restruants. It is also a nice start to an excursion into the boundary waters. We took advantage of having Don Bean guide us into the BWCA for fishing. It was a wonderful experience and Don is a real class act. We also had fun fishing and enjoying a shore lunch when the day was done. There is no more beautiful place than the BWCA. I can't wait to come back again.

Room Tip: We were able to reserve our room online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah_Jean_0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    14
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

Shared LR, DR, deck and kitchen make A Stay Inn Ely much more than a functional room. Although lacking in some amenities such as a room mirror and hangers, it's a great place to stay with a group.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riveright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed at the Stay Inn prior to a BWCA trip. There are two lofts above the Basketree bakery that are associated with the Stay Inn. The loft is a two room suite and was very comfortable for a group of 5 people. There is a shared kitchen between the two lofts. The room was very nice and the bakery smells/treats in the morning were a nice bonus.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

The Stay Inn Ely is a guest house with five sleeping rooms and a common kitchen, eating and sitting room. It also has a wonderful wraparound porch with many chairs. It is a recently converted home in downtown Ely. Every room has it's own bath with shower.

Guests can use the kitchen and it appeared well stocked with dishes. There is a coffee maker with coffee and condiments supplied to make your own coffee. Breakfast is not provided, but you can walk less than a half a block to the bakery that the owners also operate for complementary scones. We didn't do that choosing a full service restaurant instead.

We stayed there after coming in from a Boundary Waters canoe trip. Four of us used two rooms, the Ivory and the Evergreen. One other couple was staying in the Indigo.The rooms are clean and have a TV and couch. They were very comfortable.

You can walk to all the downtown restaurants, bars and shops which is very convienent. We shopped a bit, went to dinner and then to a liquor store and brought our wine back to the Inn where we sat out on the porch for several hours. It was great.

The only down side is traffic noise during the day. The house is on the town's main street and across from a lumber business. It is quiet at night, but once the businesses open, the truck noise gets loud if you are sitting on the front porch.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.9 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 8 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
0.8 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Silver Rapids Lodge
Silver Rapids Lodge
#33 of 34 in Ely
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
9.1 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
9.3 mi away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 34 in Ely
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Stay Inn Ely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stay Inn Ely

Property: A Stay Inn Ely
Address: 112 W Sheridan St, Ely, MN 55731-1123
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Stay Inn Ely 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 'Old House' was remodeled by the owners themselves. Each room is paneled with locally harvested lumber, oiled and varnished to a beautiful luster allowing each room to achieve a rustic eloquence of its own. The spacious bathrooms have white cedar ceilings and large showers. Plush mattresses and deluxe pillows will provide guests with a luxurious night's sleep. There's a fully equipped kitchen, dining room, and a Gathering Room with a fireplace for all guests. All rooms can control heat and air-conditioned individually; and all rooms have cable TV and access to FREE wireless internet. Guests receive a complimentary fresh baked pastry with an assortment of coffees, teas, and hot chocolates at our Bakery & Coffeehouse. We accept VISA & Mastercard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your A Stay Inn Ely reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing