We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Get away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timber Trail Lodge and Outfitter
Ranked #5 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Ely
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Get away”
Reviewed January 12, 2009

We first visited TTL several years ago and try to make it back to the Ely area ever few years. This year we took a much needed family vacation during Thanksgiving. We have a large family and there were 7 us in one cabin. TTL had a newer winterized cabin that fit our needs perfectly. We had plenty of space for everyone. We had the time to be a family, cook, play board games, hang out and yet everyone had thier own space to get away for private time. we stayed just over a week and enjoyed every minute. The staff were very helpful with all our needs and requests. very pleasent and fun to see again. We will go back for sure.

jt from atl.

  • Liked — remote locaton provided for a very relaxing vacation
  • Disliked — can't think of anything negative.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 03k1200rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    8
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
28
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We were very happy with our experience at timber trail lodge. The staff were very nice and the cabin was very nice and clean. I would like to visit again sometime. Stay in the Aspen cabin!

  • Liked — cabin/lake
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank beedubyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Timber Trail Lodge and really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and great facility. The location is on a nice quiet lake with direct access to the BWCA through South Farm Lake or the Kiwishiwi River. The staff was friendly and helpful and the cabin was clean. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosiniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2008

Our family has been coming to Ely on vacations for more than 12 years. We stayed at three different resorts and a major hotel in Ely until eight years ago when a local resident suggested we try the Timber Trail Lodge. That was the best recommendation ever. Now we stay at the Timber Trail Lodge during every visit to Ely.

The setting on Farm Lake is beautiful. Many of the cabins are right next to lake where you can see wildlife and watch dog sledding and ice fishing in the winter months. I've spent hours in the Basswood cabin watching it snow on the lake during many Decembers.

The cabins are nice, clean, well kept, with fully equipped kitchens where you can fix all your favorite meals. You also can drive right up to the cabins and unload all gear needed for a week or two of vacation. This is a big asset. Some of the cabins like Basswood where we stay also are handicap accessible, and this is great for those who need ramps and walk-in showers. Also, the cabin has a large porch facing Farm Lake allowing those who can't move around easily to enjoy outdoor events and watch activities in the area.

Since Timber Trail Lodge is family owned and operated, the guests receive special care. As a business person who travels constantly, it is very nice to stay at a facility where you are treated as family. I have not found anything the Forsberg family won't do for its guests. For example, even when on vacation, I have to conduct business, and there are no issues when I need to participate in conference calls and access email daily using my laptop up at the lodge. What a nice option for those of us who want to get away and enjoy the outdoors, but also are required to "stay connected" while on vacation.

I would recommend Timber Trail Lodge to those who want a nice, fun-filled vacation where you can be as busy as you want with all the lake and outdoor activities or sit quietly in a cabin, listen to the local Ely radio station, read a book or just watch the beauty outside during the quiet winter months.

Linda in the Midwest

  • Liked — Nice, clean cabins right on lake with many outdoor activities. Open during winter months also.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Midwest_Traveler1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

Would never stay here again. Made you feel like you were an inconvenience from the moment you stepped onto the property. Very unhelpful and to be honest...rude.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — The owners
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Billlaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimberTrail, Owner at Timber Trail Lodge and Outfitter, responded to this review, April 17, 2008
As regards the review "Horrible Service" we as the owners question wheather this individual and their family were ever physically at our resort. We believe this review is in response to a phone conversation with a person we elected to hang up on, and with whom we chose not to continue the conversation due to comments that were being made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ely
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2007

As a family, we stayed 2 weeks at Timber Trail Lodge, and had a great time. Not only is the Ely area beautiful, it is blessed with so many nice people. The owners and staff at Timber Trail was great, making sure we were comfortable, had everything we needed and expected. They are very professional, but very down to earth, knowing what their customers want, and realizing how inportant this time is for their customers. I will stay with them again, and will of course highly reccomend them to all my friends. The kids had a great time swimming, fishing, cooking over a campfire, and yes, eating fresh caught fish! The cabins are very neat, clean, and well kept. Great place!!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank fatguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, La.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2007

About 1991 or so I mde my first trip to Ely and stayed at Timbertrail. I went back for the next ten years or so and had nothing but good times. every year. I was treated like family. I shared meals at times,I watched TV in the lounge with Bill Forsberg & his sons. At no time wasi I disappointed. The only reason I have not been back recently is because of my health. I will be 80 years old this May and have a problem with my legs and walking. We went howling with the wolves and walking in the forest.

I spent my three weeks vacation in December & January and lovedthe snow & absolutely gorgeous scenery. I made several friends there and still communicate with them Alot of people there didn't know me personally but knew of me. I even had the local newspaper (Ely Echo) snap my picture in a snow fall. Ely is the closest thing to heaven I can imagine. When my time comes If I can';t make it to heaven I'll ask St. Peter to let me go to Ely.
Harry Eddlestone
2120 Frankel Ave
Metairie, La. 7003 e-mail bnjlobo@hotmail.com

Stayed December 2003
Helpful?
5 Thank bnjlobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
7.4 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
384 reviews
15.1 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
7.8 mi away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#3 of 3 in Ely
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
3.1 mi away
Silver Rapids Lodge
Silver Rapids Lodge
#28 of 35 in Ely
106 reviews
6.9 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 8 in Ely
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Trail Lodge and Outfitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Trail Lodge and Outfitter

Property: Timber Trail Lodge and Outfitter
Address: HC 1, Box 3111, Ely, MN 55731
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing