We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Timber Trail Lodge and Outfitter
Nearby Hotels
Adventure Inn(Ely)(Great Value!)
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Ely Lodge(Ely)(Great Value!)
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Ely Budget Host(Ely)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Giant's Ridge(Biwabik)(Great Value!)
$139
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
49
9
4
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
9
4
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfarm lakeblue sprucedish soapfishing guidedry icelarge kitchensuper funboundary watersfire pitadirondack chairsdining tablelarger cabinsnorthern minnesotaget awaypaddle boatsbedroom cabinclose to town
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 65 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2012

For the past 8 years, we have chosen Timber Trail Lodge as the location for our week long Retreat for Women. Our experience at Timber Trail has been exceptional in every way. We stay in the Evergreen & Diamond Willow cabins and love their comfortable & cozy atmosphere, fireplaces in each cabin & fully equipped modern kitchens. Another plus for us is the very private & secluded feel of these cabins, yet being close to the main lodge and cheerful assistance from Timber Trail staff whenever we need it. Each cabin has a large deck, a private outdoor area with fire-pit and trail or stairs leading down to a private dock that goes with the cabin. It's so inviting for an early morning swim or padding from our dock right into the BWCA. Timber Trail is a place to relax, recharge & build memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kali999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This place "rocks"! ... in a quiet way. Right next to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. More water to paddle on in a lifetime, right from your cabin. The cabins are spotless, the kitchen in Evergreen is big enough to cook a dinner for twenty & I should know I was the cook du jour for the week. The staff is incredible and even the resort dogs are like family... especially Chance. The fishing is great on the "Chain"... that is the White Iron chain of lakes. I spoke to Bill today & he says that the lakes are starting to freeze up and dog sledding & skiing will be "happening" soon. He says that you can sled up to places in the BWCA in just a morning that it took days to paddle to in the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in the Evergreen cabin and it was great. Its was big, clean, and comfortable with one bedroom upstairs with one bed and two bedrooms downstairs, one with two sets of bunk beds and the other with a queen and a single. You have your own dock and campfire area, and a nice size deck. The large kitchen was awesome, plenty of room and stocked with pots and pans, dishes, cups, plates, and a dishwasher! I do wish they had a t.v. in the cabin to occupy the small kids before bedtime. The resort is about 12-15 minutes from town so its not bad to run and get supplies but far enough away to see the northern lights and hear the wolves howl. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dzimney18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Fishing trip in the boundry waters with 2 excellent guides. The cabin we stayed in was excellent. The kitchen was as well equipped as tour own at home and any convenienc you might want was available. Housekeeping was outstandimg. Going back acain next year...See you Rob ! As well as the accomidations being excellent. the guide and the tackle supplied was also top notch. They even baited your hooks if you wanted !! Now that's service !!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in one of their kitchenette rooms. That's what we like, a stove w/oven, microwave, small fridge, and good TV. The price was excellent. Farm Lake is beautiful, a very peaceful place on the edge of nowhere. Everyone was very friendly and the location was good for us. Far enough from the hustle and bustle of a Labor Day weekend in a wonderful resort town, but close enough to get supplies and a little treat or two. We would absolutely go again, but that little Ranger Cabin behind us looks awfully tempting.

Room Tip: If you're frugal and there's 2 of you, get the kitchenette, but they have some nice cabins.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milesb1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews