We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great destination, great family run resort, family oriented”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timber Trail Lodge and Outfitter
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We just got back from another great vacation to Timber Trail Lodge. This family run resort is super, and all the help couldn't be nicer. It's clean, all the amenities we could want, and the family/staff really goes out of their way to make your stay a memorable one! We've enjoyed it many times (6 or 7) and we will be going back again! Next time we won't wait 6 years to do so like we did last time!! Thanks again for a great get away!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 65 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

Located on Farm Lake, this family resort is where we stay when picking up the kids from summer camps in or near Ely (or spending time between sessions).

The cabins are nice & clean, though the bedrooms in some cabins can be a tad tight for two.

Service is both cheerful & helpful (once, when stranded by high wind up river in the BWCA, they dispatched a large canoe and a couple of strong teens to get my son and I out--and at no charge).

Boats and good fishing guides are always available & the swimming is fine.

Room Tip: The kitchenettes are comfortable and a great value for couples. The smaller cabin bedrooms can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EAWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We found Timber Trail Lodge to be a very clean, friendly place to stay. The owners and staff are friendly, and always available, to make sure our stay was enjoyable. It is one of the few true family run lodges , and that seems to always be a plus. Nice beach, nice clean cabins, with several new cabins, and a friendly lodge to sit and visit with others over a fresh cup of coffee. If you like a touch of wilderness, beauty of the lake and a great place to relax, Timber Trail Lodge will fulfill your needs.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here for three days in late May and found the website to be a bit deceptive as to what we found when we arrived. The cabin photo makes it appear to be secluded when really it has two cabins on each side of it within about 30 feet. According to the site, "the modernized kitchen has all new appliances..." This may have been true in the 1980s. The worn-down furniture left a lot to be desired -- including the two armchairs complete with numerous scorch marks. In addition, some of fine print changed between the time we booked and arrived -- like the pet fee and the check out time. Also, don't forget to bring your own towels, dish soap and pretty much everything other than some basic plates, silverware and bedding. It is not a place for peace and quiet as you are close enough to hear the neighbors walking on their porch next door when you have the windows closed. And, last but not least, the place requires that you keep your pets on a leash at all times (which I am fine with) but let's the "resort" pets roam free.

Room Tip: Not a place for peace and quiet....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aks1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here the week before the fishing opener and were very much impressed with the quietness. We stayed in the newest cabin, Wintergreen, and had plenty of room and lots of solitude. The main portion of the resort looked a bit cramped, but probably normal for most resorts in the area. We got a great pricing deal and were able to get a bit of boating in as well as some hiking and a visit to the Wolf Center and the Bear Center. Saw several loons and other waterfowl and will definitely consider Timber Trail for future vacations!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shouldercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We just returned from a Thanksgiving weekend stay at Timber Trail. We stayed in Basswood cabin (2 adults and our dog). It was clean and cozy. We appreciated the rustic setting with the nice view of the lake. We enjoyed cooking, playing games at the big kitchen table, and reading by the fireplace. It was our first time to Ely, so we also spent time in town, visited the Wolf Center, and enjoyed the recommended hike to Kawishiwi Falls. Advice to future visitors: bring your own towels, blankets, hand soap, dish soap, dish clothes, cooking oil, napkins, etc. The neighboring cabin was closer than I expected, but it wasn't a big deal. The staff was nice, a late checkout (noon) on Sunday was graciously granted. We would probably stay here again, especially since our dog is welcome for just $10/night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Had a pretty nice stay in the offseason. The location was prime on beautiful farm lake. Our cabin was very well maintained on the inside, every thing worked well, the water was hot, and you could tell that the owners take good care of the cabins. It's only fair to point out some of the things that detracted from an excellent experience. The sheets on one of the beds were well worn and it was a little creepy not having window coverings on some of the widows, especially at night. While we strictly observed the requirement that pets be leashed at all times, the owners allowed their dogs to run freely; this significantly agitated our pet when we went to walk him. A little salt at the end of the sloped ramp leading to our cabin door would have been a nice touch as it was quite slippery from the snow that had recently fallen. Overall, a decent experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sncd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
7.0 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
15.1 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
6.6 mi away
Super 8 Ely Minnesota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
395 reviews
3.1 mi away
Silver Rapids Lodge
Silver Rapids Lodge
#30 of 34 in Ely
108 reviews
6.9 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 8 in Ely
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Trail Lodge and Outfitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Trail Lodge and Outfitter

Address: HC 1, Box 3111, Ely, MN 55731
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing