We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”
Review of Northernair Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northernair Lodge
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed in cabin #3 this past weekend. Everything was great except the weather. Mike and Sarah were very helpful with any ? I had. Didn't get to experience all the ammenities they have, but everything looked good. It was very quiet and relaxing. Ely is a short drive so we went there for dinner both nights. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cusemets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 28 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent five days here over July 4th and loved it. We had Cabin 4 which was cozy and perfect for two. It was at the very end of the cottages so was very private and quiet at night The deck had a lovely view of the lake secluded. There is a nice little sandy beach and a boathouse well stocked with rafts, life vests, paddles, tots etc, also kayaks, canoes and a paddle boat theres a water trampoline for the kids. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The main lodge has FREE WIFI that WORKS! It was a great lake cabin getaway and we would definitely return. And don't forget lots of insect repellent! You will need it!

Room Tip: Try and get a cabin on either end if you are seeking privacy and one towards the center if you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Been coming here every year since I was born. Fantastic lake with very little development. Great old log cabins mixed with some newer additions. Love jumpin in da lake after a sauna and looking our for stars and occasionally the northern lights. Always a few loons, some pike to eat and lots of fun with friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ForrestAndGeorgette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My son and I spent three wonderful fall days at Northernaire and enjoyed every minute of it. Our cabin was very clean and well furnished to meet our needs. During the day we canoed on beautiful Mitchell Lake. (Just one warning: there are no places to safely land a canoe for a picnic or "rest stop" if one person is unable to climb up high ground or over rocks.) At night we built a bonfire outside and talked until the small hours. We drove to nearby Moose Lake for canoeing on one day and were able to rent a canoe from an outfitter there. Northernaire is very close to Ely but seems far away. It has a real wilderness feel to it.

Room Tip: Cabin 8 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwsact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stumbled on this place after calling a few places that were fully booked and were SOOO pleased we did! The cabin (#3) was gorgeous, the bed comfy with a lovely patchwork quilt and the kitchen and bathroom were pretty much exactly what you'd want. The screened porch, fire place, BBQ and chairs meant you could enjoy the sounds of the loons and the view of the sunset well into the evening.

Mike, Sarah and their family (the hosts) were warm and welcoming, making our four night stay an absolute pleasure. We canoed and swam and generally relaxed, watching the chipmunks frolicking and the ospreys fishing (we're from the UK so chipmunks are pretty amazing to us!). The water lilies were beautiful, the dragonflies massive and the fish rising all over the place.

I can't really recommend this place highly enough. But I think you understand that from most of the other reviews too...

Room Tip: I'm sure each cabin is great in its own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed in cabin 10 this summer. It is a quaint, vintage log cabin that has been kept up fairly well and modernized.
We loved the densely wooded property, the cheerful managers and having our own dock and fire pit. The lake was very peaceful.
The swimming area was nice for our 2-year old with lots of toys.
I'm afraid that the loons stole the show though! Their calls were mesmerizing and they seemed to spend much of their time feeding right around the docks.
The two things we would've changed were in our cabin. The king sized bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. Then the refrigerator is old and ran constantly. We'd rather hear the loon song and the wind in the trees!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NannerSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Don't go here - I want to keep it like it is - a wonderful secret. Private, great hosts, great fishing - and if too many people go there it will screw it up and there won;t be any reservations available for my family. They'll raise the rates too. No phones, no tv, no internet - so you won't like it. :).
To be serious - I've been all over the country - you won't find a more relaxing place. Hosts are some of the best people you'll ever meet. Cablins are immaculate. Fishing is some of the best anywhere - period! If you like peace, quiet and seclusion this is THE place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank klh3391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
5.6 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
4.1 mi away
Motel Ely Budget Host
4.3 mi away
Super 8 Ely Minnesota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 34 in Ely
223 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
401 reviews
4.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 8 in Ely
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northernair Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northernair Lodge

Address: 2123 Haapala Rd, Ely, MN 55731-8205
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Price Range: $150 - $660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northernair Lodge is a year round resort located in the heart of the Superior National Forest, and just 4 miles from downtown Ely, Minnesota. We are the only resort on the beautiful & private Mitchell Lake.The cabins at Northernair are generously scattered among the trees along the shoreline of Mitchell Lake. Each cabin is unique, and special in its own way. They vary in size from 1-5 bedrooms. All cabins have modern kitchens and private bathrooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing