We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!”
Review of River Point Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Point Resort
Ranked #4 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This place is a joke. Horrible customer service, INCREDIBLY overpriced for the facilities...5-star ego and prices with 2-star facilities and 1-star treatment of their guests. If I could give them a 0 overall, I would.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lsr1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for River Point Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 70 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

Location is excellent beyond doubt . Right on Birch Lake, very peaceful, serene, quiet. Rooms were nice. We rented Bayport a 3 bedroom luxury vacation home. Was disappointed about a few things: 1) reached late at night ahd a long drive from Illinois, were not told that the home did not ahve a driveway! we had to find our way to it in the dark! would have been nice to have been given some instructions on how to find our place! Parking lot was a walk from our place. 2) you are not porvided with anything that you normally expect ot get in a resort propert and for the price they charge- that was a definite disappointment, no towels, you ahve to rent them!, laundry is not in the home there is a seperate luandry area with 2 very small washer/dryers. We landed up giving our laundry to a full laundry service in Ely . No dish towels, no oven mitts! (mind you they do list things you need to bring with you on their website) in whihc case would be nice if there would be a driveway to your rental place so you dont have to lug all the supplies you will need for the week! 3) We went fishing the first day there and were heading back after 5 called to see if anyone could help us clean the fish, were told curtly the staff had left for the day- no other advice/recommendation given! we got a feeling that they were just not very friendly unless you were ready to spend some more money! 4) my nephew, aged 21 was inadvertently locked out one early morning 6.30 am,walked to the main office and knocked as he saw someone working in there to ask for a spare key, he ignored him and kept working , my poor nephew waited outside our residence until we woke up and let him in!!5) appliances in the kitchen are old and need to be replaced, the utensils are old , no non stick pans! you can tell they are tyring to make do with spending the least amount of money on the rooms! For the amount we were charged i expected higher standards for sure!!
You can have a great time there on your own as its a great location, but just dont expect much help from the staff! Our next visit we will definitely find another place!! Hope this revew helps!!

Room Tip: Bayport the name of the rental home,was a great location , 3 bedroom luxury vacation rental right on...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rafatp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I tried calling to make a reservation and tried negotiating the nightly rate in a nice manner. A simple no would have sufficed from the man but instead he made a rude comment about me calling the wrong place and that this resort was not like that. Its not like I was looking for an outstanding rate. The normal 150 a night for two nights and just adding a thursday night in at no charge bringing it down to 100 a night for a weekend in Sept. Again all he had to say was Im sorry I cant do that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quietriver, Owner at River Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

The title of this reviewer’s comment of “Rude Reservation” is a bit misleading. This reviewer did not have a reservation at River Point.

River Point Resort has a rate schedule in place that already offers discounted rates for different time-frames. Thus, the rate for a September reservation of a one bedroom Chalet is $150 for two persons, which does reflect a $65 savings over a mid-summer reservation, when the rate is $215, as published.

Steve, co-owner of River Point Resort, did give a simple “no” response to this reviewer’s query if a third rental night could be free, when renting two nights. Contrary to what this reviewer states, Steve was not rude, he simple answered her question. Furthermore, there was no compelling reason for Steve to indicate that he was sorry when quoting the September rate to the reviewer, or for saying that we do not offer a free night when a visitor stays two nights.

There was nothing wrong with Steve indicating to the reviewer, that perhaps, she may have gotten River Point’s rates confused with another resort property that may have made such an offer. Nor was there anything “rude” about his comments. There was no reason to offer an apology, as there simply was nothing to apologize for.

It is obvious from what occurs in the lodging industry today that some potential guests do like to name their own price, most likely due to websites promotions, such as that on Priceline.com. However, it is a bit disheartening that this reviewer, felt compelled to write a negative interpretation of a phone conversation, and attempted to demean a person’s phone skills basically because she “did not get it her way.”

It is evident that this reviewer wanted to stay at River Point, but her budget prevented her from doing so, and thus, co-owner, Steve, was a “rude” person, in her opinion, because he did not say he was sorry, when refusing her request.

It is important to note, that before one asks for a special deal, that one should be fully prepared to have their request denied. At that point, they should let it go, instead of attempting to discredit a business, its owners, or its staff.

Lastly, this reviewer did not stay at River Point Resort in August of 2012, as was indicated on the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great service in a beautiful location! Jane the owner is super organized , no problems with our reservation at all. our cabin was spotless as was the pontoon boat we rented . Our 6 year old had fun at ' kids time ' and enjoyed the swimming beach and free use of sit on top kayaks and paddle boats. We rented a canoe one day four 2 hours and had fun paddling to a nearby island . The insight hiking trail is great for bird watching and for nice views. The only draw back according to my husband was the fishing. He wished the fish were larger and easier to catch ( but dont they all). We all caught fish while we were there even grna and grandpa. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtravel023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quietriver, Owner at River Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

This reviewer writes: “Great service in a beautiful location.” Many thanks for that accolade.

Everyone on the staff at River Point Resort & Outfitting Co. is happy doing what they do… and that is to make sure that our guests’ needs and requests are taken care of in a friendly and positive manner. And that begins with a super clean accommodation and ends with a cheerful smile. So, thank you for noticing the efforts!

River Point’s private hiking trail called the “Trail of Reflections” has abundant opportunities for birding as does the nearby Birch Lake dam. You may also catch a fleeting glimpse of a white tailed deer, and maybe even a little red fox while on the trail. The handy trail guide is educational…offering bits of information related to the geology of the area and more.

Paddling out and having a cook-out on our nearby camping island is another fun thing to do. Simple pleasures in the beauty of River Point’s location cost little or next to nothing…and really brought priceless memories for this reviewer’s family. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our family traveled to Ely seeking fun and relaxation away from it all. River Point offered a wonderful escape coupled with excellent ammenities and quiet luxury.

River Point resort is located just outside Ely, Minnesota right on a beautiful river point. River Point offer an idyllic get away for families who treasure time tgoether and seek to enjoy the very best of Minnesota.

Their extremely friendly and helpful staff are willing to help with boats, fishing, bait and tackle, restaurant suggestions, and anything you may need. They outfitter owned bythe same company is on site. it makes a trip to canoe the boundary waters very easy to organize. They have fantastic guides.

The resort also offers kayaks, water trampoline, boats to rent, a floating swim platform and a hiking trail. The ammenities include a gift shop, an onsite guest laundry, bait shop and more. There are no giant TVs. instead you can borrow a book or a board game. We have never felt so calm, peaceful and connected on a family vacation. We cannot wait to return.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank MilesFamilyAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quietriver, Owner at River Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Happy you choose River Point…thank you! And, thank you for the valuable feedback. Our mile long wilderness peninsula, set off of state highway #1 by our meandering 1.3 mile gravel drive, does provide a certain sense of calmness and peacefulness for our guests as they begin to “slow down”, as they approach River Point .

Entering into the property, and gazing about, one finds lovely views of forest and water with abundant places to “sit a spell”. Thus, the feeling of quiet and finding that inner equilibrium begins to take effect almost immediately.

Active families find the many things to do (swimming, building sandcastles, jumping off the floating island water trampoline, playing at the neat playground, using the free kayaks and paddle boats, hiking, canoeing, shopping, and more) just about perfect, too, including connecting in the evening with each other over a more quiet board game.

This reviewer touched upon all the things that make River Point Resort a great vacation choice. Thanks again. And, of course, we are hopeful that you will return next year. Maybe you can make it an annual event for your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had business activities in the area, and were interested in an authentic north-woods lodging experience. I’ve gone canoeing and camping in the Boundary Waters many times and was looking forward to combining the best of two "worlds" -- the solitude, wildlife sightings, fresh air and beauty of the wilderness with a good bed in pleasant surroundings in nature.

The Reflections vacation home was immediately comfortable as home, with beautiful décor, spacious views of woods, rocks and water, full kitchen and bath, deck, and screen porch and heavenly beds. All the amenities we could have asked for, and then some.

The grounds and buildings are clean and cared for with attention to detail, and the design of the entire place is very thoughtfully planned and implemented to offer optimal comfort and access to the outdoors. It's a place dreams are made of.

When we arrived, we were greeted by our host, Steve, with a smile and some humor as well as a welcome brew and a story. And checking out, we found the staff preparing a craft activity for children, letting their parents have some time to themselves. Our hostess, Jane, was very gracious and efficient. They were always ready to accommodate our every request and offer suggestions.

I look forward to another opportunity to visit River Point and recommend the high-quality vacation experience and nature immersion. Next time, I’d like to take longer and utilize the on-site Ely Outfitters gear for some canoeing as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanoeBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quietriver, Owner at River Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for enjoying River Point Resort to the fullest...and, as you say, next time give River Point Outfitting Co. a try when you want to do a Boundary Waters canoeing adventure. You can be outfitted with a complete package, including the canoes, sleeping bags, tents, packsacks, etc., plus all the food, or, if you have some of your own equpment, let us just "fill in the holes" and outfit you for a partial canoe trip.

The three-bedroom, Reflections lakefront cabin, is very comfortable, with great beds and an excellent floor plan and amenities...and we are happy that you found the cabin and the beautiful surroundings equally relaxing, and more than you even expected. That is awesome! Glad you got to know your host, Steve, as he really is a great story-teller, especially so because he has been at River Point his entire life, and has so many stories to share.

Next time you vacation at River Point Resort, do plan to stay a few days longer to take advantage of the canoe outfitting services, too. You'll like it...that's for sure. Thanks again for being here, and for writing this great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and I rented a villa at the resort. My husbands mother passed away 2 days before we were supposed to check in. Riverpoint Resort was completely unwilling to accomodate us, refund, or change our date (5 days later there were unrented cabins). I understand that their policy said there were no refunds but it also stated that they would try and accomodate if possible. Obviously they were not willing to work with us and did not even send a thank you card for the $2500 they just took from us. They apparently don't care about repeat business or word of mouth.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quietriver, Owner at River Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

How does one prepare for the unexpected when going on vacation? In our busy and sometimes hectic lives, it is important that your vacation investment is not compromised due to an unexpected event that potentially can impact your vacation.

That is why traveler’s insurance is so beneficial, and at River Point Resort, we strongly suggest checking into it when making your travel plans. As stated on the “Reservation” page on River Point Resort’s website, and in the brochure information: “Travel insurance is available and may protect you against unexpected circumstances that may cause you to delay, interrupt or cancel your vacation due to circumstances beyond your control. (River Point does not sell travel insurance, but can recommend carriers.)”

Background Information: River Point Resort is a small 16 unit resort. Unlike large resort properties and hotels with hundreds of accommodations that are virtually identical with the same description and rate, a guest of River Point has the choice to rent a specific accommodation with a specific name, for a specific timeframe and specific amenities, a specific location on the property, and a specific rate. Once the accommodation is reserved, the Reservation is confirmed and the accommodation, date of choice, and rate is guaranteed.

Reservation charges, as is true at many, if not, most resorts and hotels, are prepaid in advance of arrival. (Many major hotels have a no refund policy for reservations cancelled two days prior to arrival.) In the rare instance that a cancellation occurs at River Point, and enough “lead time” exists, the cancelled reservation may re-rent to another guest, and money on account would be refunded, less a processing fee. It is important to note, that Ely, Minnesota and River Point Resort are destination areas, not drive-by areas, so a “last minute” cancellation of a reservation often does not re-rent.

In this particular case, the reviewer contacted RPR just two days prior to the confirmed arrival date of Saturday, July 14 with news of the need to cancel the reservation, which was guaranteed and held by River Point since February 17, 2012, when the reservation was made, and for which all had been prepaid in early May. The reviewer indicated that she totally understood the cancellation information, but asked if the reservation was transferable to other persons who might be able to take over the reservation.

Any reservation may be transferred to another party for the same dates of the original reservation. However, it is important to note, that the dates of the reservation cannot be changed, since River Point is a small property with limited accommodations, unlike larger properties with many accommodations.

The conversation ended with the reviewer stating that she was quite sure that the Villa she had rented would be occupied with others she knew, and that she would provide their names as soon as possible. There was never an “official” written cancellation of the reservation. No further communication was forthcoming from the reviewer prior to the reservation arrival date of Tuesday, July 10, with information that another party would take over the reservation, nor was there any written communication indicating a ”for sure” cancellation.

Unfortunately, the accommodation remained empty for the dates of July 10-14, and in essence, this was considered a “no show” reservation. Several days later a phone call was received from a gentleman, who wanted to know what availability existed for another cabin, called Riverview, into the next week or so. Steve, co-owner of River Point, spoke with the gentleman and told him that the cabin was uncommitted. The gentleman then identified that he was the reviewer’s husband, and that he wanted to take the Riverview cabin in lieu of the Villa that he had rented for the July 10-14 timeframe.

Steve endeavored to explain that, even though the Riverview Cabin (much higher rate) was available, it was not possible to simply move the reservation of July 10-14 into this new timeframe, as the timeframe for his original reservation had passed by. Before Steve was able to proceed further, with some possible positive suggestions to the situation, the reviewer’s husband abruptly hung up the phone, ending any further dialogue.

It is obvious that a refund would not be forthcoming, since River Point had upheld all parts of the guaranteed reservation for the confirmed dates and accommodation choice of this reviewer. It is most unfortunate that events in the life of the reviewer caused them to miss out on their vacation and to incur the financial obligation for the reservation. However, the option of transferring the reservation to another party for the travel dates reserved was encouraged, a willingness to engage in a congenial dialogue was made…but was rebuffed, and traveler’s insurance had been recommended as a method to ease the stress of unexpected events that could potentially impact the reviewer’s reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
8.0 mi away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 35 in Ely
218 reviews
7.0 mi away
White Iron Beach Resort
8.7 mi away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
7.6 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
7.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 8 in Ely
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Point Resort

Address: 12007 River Point Road, PO Box 397, Ely, MN 55731
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Number of rooms: 33

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing