We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good family fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Elk River
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good family fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We planned a Saturday night stay here for 22 people, 5 families. I would say it was a good experience but not excellent.

We arrived before check in, around 2 pm to use the waterpark and 1 of the 5 rooms was ready. We used this room to get the majority of us ready and hang out at the waterpark before the rest could check in at 4 pm. The line for check in was very long at times and some in our party waited until 4:30 to check in to avoid the rush. Our last family checked in at 4:30 and the front desk commented that not all the rooms in the hotel were even ready at that point. Seems a little odd since check in is 4 pm.

Our room was spacious (2 queens) and clean, although the carpet seemed worn in our room and in the hallways on the 4th floor. One of the beds in our room was extremely squeeking, thankfully we were only there 1 night.

The waterpark was PACKED. We overheard some lifeguards saying it was sold out. While the waterpark is nice, it could use a good cleaning and more seating/tables. Our seating area in the waterpark used to be the shower area. All the kids in our party seemed to enjoy themselves (ages from 2-12) and the large hot tub was great for adults too. Our children did have some "coughing" problems from the chlorine levels in the hot tub on Sunday as a previous reviewer states. We were ready to go home at that point, so we just packed up and left. The locker rooms really need a good cleaning as well. Nothing bad, but just a little more attention is needed. We ordered 3 pizza's for our group at 5:15 on Saturday night at the waterpark food stand and they said we got the last pizza's of the night. Food was what your would expect for a waterpark, but we did enjoy they serve pitchers of beer/pop. There were also plenty of towels for use too.

Breakfast buffet Sunday was good, kids ate free, buffet was $10 for adults. Everything was hot and tasted good. Scrambled eggs, waffles, french toast sticks, fresh fruit, bacon, sausage, pastries, etc... There were some confusions with our bills, but the staff was nice about getting things sorted out. It was also nice they put our large group back in a section together.

What keeps this from an excellent rating? While the staff seemed friendly, the building itself needs some cleaning and maintance upkeep, especially in the waterpark. Some paint chipping in the waterpark area, good scrubbing of the floors and some dingy and worn carpets/floors in the hallways. Also, this is MN in the middle of winter, people want to go to a waterpark to escape it and I think a waterpark/hotel would be a little more prepared to handle being "sold out" on a Saturday.

Room Tip: If traveling with a large group, don't expect to get rooms near each other even if you request t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Amy,
Thank you very much for your review of the hotel and water park. I am happy to hear everyone had a great time and enjoyed the facilities! Our team constantly strives to make all of our guest's visits as enjoyable as possible.

I have noted your comments in reference to the cleanliness and condition of the water park and I assure you these items are being addressed. Our Spring Deep Clean is schedule to begin next week.

Thank you again for your wonderful feedback and I hope we see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Greg Pike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    71
    43
    25
    18
See reviews for
151
11
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
twin cities minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I did not have a chance to visit the waterpark. We had a nice corner king room on the fourth floor (an upgarde because I am a platinum Holiday Inn Priority Club member). It was nice and quiet, but the hotel was overrun with families and children. The elevator was out of service when I checked in, and we had to use the laundry elevator. All staff I passed in the hall was very pleasant and greeted me with a warm hello. Elevator was repaired the same day. Checkout was fast and efficient.

Room Tip: Corner room on the fourth floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler2256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to share your thoughts regarding your stay with us, we truly appreciate your loyalty and your Platinum level status. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your upgrade and that our staff was welcoming. I do apologize for the elevator situation, but the team responded quickly to get it back in service.

Thank you again!

Greg Pike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staff was very friendly, greeted me by name and had my paperwork done...check in took all of 2 minutes. Spotless facility. Breakfast was very good. The server was very nice...treated me like family, and that is nice when you are on the road a lot. She provided me with a paper and coffee without being asked and seemed genuinely happy...a nice touch in just another morning on the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLK1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
TLK,

I appreciate you taking time out of your busy day to share your experience at the hotel. It is always great to hear that our team is meeting and exceeding our guest's expectations. We hope you will visit us again when you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Greg Pike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed For Easter weekend. The buffet was excellent even had a magician. The waterpark staff was excellent. The waterpark was packed. There were some bossy parents and kids around. The security guard at night was very kind. The elevator is the slowest elevator ever. The stairs are close.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollingteenmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Rolloingteenmom - Thank you for your great feedback regarding your stay with us over the holiday weekend. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all that we have to offer! I wish we could adjust the speed on the elevators, but we are not able to do that!

Thank you again, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Greg Pike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
162 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a newer facility that has missed the mark in several areas. With a waterpark it's a great family destination. With a waterpark it's a poor business destination. You couldn't escape the water. You'll find it even outside of the waterpark in the hallways, elevators, restrooms, etc. You'll also find bits and pieces of trash and food in the hallways, elevators, restrooms, etc. The rooms lack sound proofing. Between the Sumo wrestlers above me and herd of elephants in the hallways my stay was not restful. The very small restaurant and bar were drab and nondescript as was the food (& no free continental breakfast). The meeting facilities are amongst the hotel rooms and the elephant herds will disrupt your meeting. And pack lightly because it's a longer than usual hike from the parking lot to the lobby (no automatic opening lobby doors). Strange for a newer design hotel. From a business perspective bypass this HI. For a family fun fest, have at it. I think the great hotel staff is misplaced and belongs at a better hotel.

Room Tip: Try the top floor so you don't have to put up with noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisconsinRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
WisconsinRanger,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay. I would like to apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. As a Spring Break destination during the month of March, you are correct, our hotel can be a very busy and exciting place for families. I was happy to read that our team did provide Great service for you, they truly do an exceptional job. Our staff also does an exceptional job of hosting meetings and other events, as I mentioned before, the Month of March can be a bit more active.

Again, I appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with our staff to see where we can improve even more.

Thank you,

Greg Pike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I traveled over the Thanksgiving weekend with my parents (in their 70's) and aunt & uncle (in their 60's). We reserved three rooms and the hotel made sure the three rooms were all together (two connected). I was a bit concerned about staying at a hotel with a water park that weekend, but it wasn't an issue. The hotel was very quiet, and my cousin's children ended up coming over and using the water park which was a bonus (thanks to the front desk who had additional passes and releases available). The staff in the water park seemed to be quite attentive - at one point a parent was missing a child, the staff immediately dealt with the issue and the child was located safely.

Our rooms were extremely clean, and the folks that cleaned our rooms were very efficient. We ate in the hotel several times (one later evening meal in the bar area and a morning brunch) and both times our service was friendly. My parents tend to watch TV with the volume quite loud and from my room next door I wasn't able to hear their TV.

All in all a nice hotel. Thank you!

Room Tip: We were in a wing that faced away from the highway on the 4th floor - it was nice. Quiet and very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us, we truly do appreciate it. I am glad to hear that your concerns were put to rest, and that the entire family enjoyed their stay.

We look forward to serving you in the future!

Greg Pike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were visiting the waterpark for the afternoon with a group of friends. Our boys were having a great time until they decided to visit the hot tub. Upon entering the tub, all three boys felt their chests get heavy, began coughing, and felt as though they couldn't breath. The coughing was crazy and they threw up. They weren't even in there for a minute! Overwhelmed by chlorine fumes??? I called a lifeguard over to inform her of the situation. She told them to sit down, take deep breathes, and she would get them some water. She came back a while later and told us we should leave the pool area for a while and that the water was on the way. As we were waiting for the water, another guy came over to clean up the mess. He informed us that they are not recommending kids go into the hot tub right now because they have been having problems with it. (even though kids have been going in and out of the hot tub the whole time we were there) Don't you think if they are having problems that they should either close the hot tub or post a warning sign??? Instead, our swim day was cut short. In the 10 years of swimming with our boys, we have never encountered such a situation. Upon leaving the waterpark, I informed the front desk of the issue. She was aware of the problem, but didn't think it was still a problem today. She offered me two passes for another day. When I told her I had three boys, she gave me a third pass. However, the boys say they never want to go there again. We'll see...but if we do go back, I'm sure we will steer clear of the hot tub!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank NL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to inform me of the issue you encountered during your visit to the waterpark. I apologize for the incident and I hope your boys are feeling better. I have talked to my engineer to let him know of this incident and he is checking out the equipment to ensure it is functioning properly.

Thank you.

Greg Pike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk River
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Maple Grove - Arbor Lakes
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elk River
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rogers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rogers
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albertville
11.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Maple Grove - Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River

Property: Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River
Address: 9200 Quaday Ave. NE, Elk River, MN 55330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Elk River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Elk River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Wild Woods Waterpark Hotel. Home of one of the largest Indoor Water parks in Minnesota! Our full-service hotel is a new facility located minutes from Graco, Great River Energy, Albertville Premium Outlets, Lowes, Cabelas, Cargill, Siemens, Sci-med and Ramsey Industrial Park. Our guest rooms are well-outfitted for the traveling executive, including a spacious and well-lit work area, and Corporate QUIET Floor. Our on site lounge and restaurant, the Mississippi Valley Grill and Bar, is a great place to relax and enjoy dinner in a Northwoods atmosphere. In-room dining is available 7 days a week. The waterpark takes you back to the River Town of old. With three water slides, a lazy river, basketball water court and a child's play area, there is fun and variety for all ages. The waterpark is open daily in SUMMER. WATER PARK HOURS: SEPTEMBER through MAY: Mon. Closed, Tues. Closed, Wed. Closed, Thursday 4pm-9pm, Fri. 4pm-10pm, Sat. 8am-10pm, Sun. 8am-9pm. Call for availability we are open for some school vacations! The conference/ meeting area features 7 breakout rooms with multiple room combinations and up to 120 people for general sessions, parties and/ or receptions. Our constant caring team is empowered and dedicated to providing you with a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Minneapolis Nw-Elk River Hotel Elk River
Holiday Inn Otsego Mn
Otsego Water Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing