We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Elk River
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The room was nice, clean and a good size. The beds were comfortable. Kids had a good time at the waterpark. We didn't use the waterpark as much as we thought as the kids were exhausted from our travels to Valley Fair & Mall of America. Kids eat free promo is good. One complaint I have is the loud noise in the hallway in the middle of the night. 3 different times a group of people came up to the 4th floor being really loud. Once at 1:30 am, 3:00 am & 4:30 am. So needless to say I didn't get a good sleep. All in all the hotel was good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyzmartel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, we truly value the feedback. The way the showers are oprerated is a bit tricky, we have order additional signage to place in the room to help eliminate this issue. Glad to hear your stay was enjoyable!

Sincerely,

Greg Ppike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 235 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed at this Holiday Inn for two nights recently and compared to the many Holiday Inn Express locations we seem to often turn to this hotel was a very nice surprise. The rooms were nicely sized, the beds comfortable and the staff very easy to work with. The hit for the traveling grandsons was the indoor waterpark. Admission included with the room fare and a very nicely laid out arrengement of water activities. One of the biggerst challenges in operating waterparks is staffing, ( the other is water quality), and this one had a nicely sized staff of young lifeguards on duty at all times we observed. Adults should still keep close watch on their own youngsters as a safety precaution but it is nice to know that there are trained staff on duty. Food and drink service available inside the water park and we were able to make food charges direct to our room billing so did not even have to bother with a wallet. Directly across the parking lot was a resturant and catering hall. We attended a wedding reception in the hall and it was so great to have ther hotel rooms just a short walk away. This is an excellent location for any large gatherings needing lodging, meeting, dinner and or dance arrengements in a combined location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and I am happy to see that our services and staff were beyond your expectations. We constantly strive to provide a clean and safe environment for our guests to enjoy!

Thank you again, and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Sincerely,

Greg PIke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here two nights for a wedding and had a great time. We had a lot of rooms booked and the hotel was very accommodating to our large party; let us use the second floor seating area for late night get-togethers. Much better than cramming into a room and quieter for other guests, too. The waterpark was great. The kids all loved it and even the adults were using the waterslides and lazy river and jacuzzi. There was also a pool with basketball hoops in it and a small area for young children with small waterslides and fountains. Never overly crowded. Food is offered for purchase in the waterpark and there is a nice restaurant at the hotel. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a larger room with two queen beds in one room and a pull-out couch in the other. Nice big roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelfromDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

I am so pleased to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us! It sounds like the entire experience was positive and we look forward to seeing you again.

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Sincerely,

Greg Pike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night (Sunday) in July 2012. We received free upgrades as Priority Club members. The suites were spacious and well maintained. The waterpark, although small, was as fun as a Great Wolf Lodge with no lines. The most we waited at the park was for 4 people at a water slide. The cost was no more than for a regularl hotel room...so a great place to spend the night in northwest Minneapolis. Kids eat free...so can't beat that. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade if you are priority club members.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kskarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Excellent News!! Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding the hotel and waterpark. We are happy to hear that your experience was memorable and fun.

Please stop in and see again when you are in the area!

Thanks again!

Greg Pike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed one night June 30,2012, room 106, a junior suite. Room was clean, nicely furnished with a large bathroom, micro, fridge, coffee, pull out couch, seperate room with 2 queen beds, seperate sink area, desk, 2 flat screen tvs. Beds were fine. Waterpark passes are included in your room rate. The waterpark is on the smaller side but that is nice for younger kids. Nice todler play area. The 3 big waterslides are fun and faster than I was prepared for,lol. My only complaint with this whole place is the lifegaurds, they are NOT attentive. A young girl was stuck in the lazy river rapids clinging to the side, I saw it first, looked to the lifegaurds, the young kid saw it but made no movement to help, so I did, pulling her out and sending her to find her mom. Bottom line here, do not rely on them, police your own kids. Other than that this place is great, food was fantastic!! Kids 12 and under eat free which is so cool. Breakfeast buffet on Sunday morning is so good! The staff in this place is out of this world great!! The hostest and wait staff in the resturant are perfect, kind, respectull and helpful. If we are back in this area we would stay here for sure again.

Room Tip: Junior suites are nice if you have a larger group. Be sure to take advantage of kids 12 and under ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjjmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the hotel, I appreciate your feedback! I am upset to see that one our lifeguards did not immediately respond to the situation that you described. I am not sure what you are referring to as the "rapids" in the lazy river, but regardless, our lifeguard should have taken action. I will be sure to discuss this with our Water Park Supervisors. I was thrilled to hear all of your positive experiences, we constantly strive to deliver Outstanding service for all of our guests and I will share this review with the entire team!!

Thank you again, and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Greg Pike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here about a week ago for a family wedding. We arrived around noon or 1 pm and they were able to let us into our room right away. We considered ourselves lucky because the normal check in time is supposed to be 4 pm. The room was fairly large for a hotel-type room. It had 2 Queen beds, a small refrig. and a microwave. The room was nicely appointed, clean, no marks on the wall and somewhat upscale.

Although we faced the highway, it was really pretty quiet in the room. I initially heard road noise but it largely went away when I properly re-latched the window. If you are likely to want to open the window, I would recommend making sure that you get a room on the left side of the building (as you are facing it when enterring).

There were a lot of people at the hotel who had kids who were using the water park. Lots of kids. We decided not to bother using the water park as we are at the age where we prefer quiet to screaming/happy and excited children. But if you have kids or don't really care to use the water park, I would not necessarily consider that a negative.

There were a number of restaurants nearby. There was also either a Walmart or Costco about a mile away.

We were on the second floor. When we were trying to check out and move our luggage, we had a slight issue with the elevator. We would call it and when the doors opened, it was full of people with luggage and little kid in swimsuits. We went through about 4 cycles of this and then decided to press the "UP" button. We got on, went up, then went down, momentarily stopping at floors with people who were unable to get in because the elevator was full.

They provided free internet and it worked fine. There was a Cat-5 internet cable at the desk in our room to connect to wired internet, but I preferred to use the wireless internet.

The hotel has very good banquet and special event facilities. So if you are planning something like that, this may be a plus.

BTW, the room numbering is slightly confusing. I am told that they renumbered their rooms a year ago. But they haven't yet updated the room maps in the hallways, the guest book in our room or the emergency evacuation map on the unit door. But if you ignore any maps that you see and use normal logic you'll be fine.

We paid around $100 for this room. It was reserved about 6 months in advance and was supposed to be special rate. Seemed a tad high for the area. But it was a nice place.

In the late afternoon there was a woman in front of their restaurant/bar who was giving out free slices of delicious pizza. That was a nice touch.

I am hoping that you find my review helpful. If you did, let me know by clicking on the "helpful" button below.

Room Tip: There is more road noise on the side of the hotel looking at the highway. The more quiet rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BJRSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the hotel, I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us while attending the wedding! Sunday mornings can be a bit busy with everyone checking out, but I appreciate you ingenuity in getting on the elevator!

I truly do appreciate the time you took in preparing your review, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Greg Pike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed at holiday inn again for a conference for two and a half days. Room was very clean,comfortable,slept well,was able to open window for fresh air. Staff is wonderful. Had a wonderful greeting from Heidi on arrival,great big smile, great customer service,very efficient. Next morning we had breakfast,were in a hurry and Sandra who is Italian greeted us and was very efficient in getting our breakfast. Breakfast was excellent but somewhat spendy. Sandra was seen in the evening and still going strong with her great personality and energy. There was another staff member with her Julie who was also very helpful. I am sorry I do not remember the name of their manager but he did a wonderful job for all our food. There was a wonderful turkey sandwich that we had for lunch. Yum yum. Greg was the manager of the holiday inn and I believe if there was any thing to be looked at he would take care of it. Thanks again for the wonderful stay

Room Tip: Look on trp advisor to see comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveler43501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

WOW! Thank you so much for the wonderful comments! We thoroughly enjoyed having your group with us last week. I am pleased to hear that our staff was able to WOW you with their service and Smiles!! We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Thank you again,

Greg Pike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk River
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elk River
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Maple Grove - Arbor Lakes
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rogers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albertville
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rogers
11.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Minneapolis Maple Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River

Address: 9200 Quaday Ave NE, Elk River, MN 55330-6661
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Elk River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Elk River
Price Range: $100 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Wild Woods Waterpark Hotel. Home of one of the largest Indoor Water parks in Minnesota! Our full-service hotel is a new facility located minutes from Graco, Great River Energy, Albertville Premium Outlets, Lowes, Cabelas, Cargill, Siemens, Sci-med and Ramsey Industrial Park. Our guest rooms are well-outfitted for the traveling executive, including a spacious and well-lit work area, and Corporate QUIET Floor. Our on site lounge and restaurant, the Mississippi Valley Grill and Bar, is a great place to relax and enjoy dinner in a Northwoods atmosphere. In-room dining is available 7 days a week. The waterpark takes you back to the River Town of old. With three water slides, a lazy river, basketball water court and a child's play area, there is fun and variety for all ages. The waterpark is open daily in SUMMER. WATER PARK HOURS: SEPTEMBER through MAY: Mon. Closed, Tues. Closed, Wed. Closed, Thursday 4pm-9pm, Fri. 4pm-10pm, Sat. 8am-10pm, Sun. 8am-9pm. Call for availability we are open for some school vacations! The conference/ meeting area features 7 breakout rooms with multiple room combinations and up to 120 people for general sessions, parties and/ or receptions. Our constant caring team is empowered and dedicated to providing you with a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Minneapolis Nw-Elk River Hotel Elk River
Holiday Inn Otsego Mn
Otsego Water Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing